We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“north shore comfort”
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Went to Turtle Bay with apprehension about Resort life, and found the experience enjoyable Food was O.K., but overpriced, except OLA' restaurant which was Great. The grounds are impeccable, rooms comfortable… The only negative was the ongoing construction going on during the day….Worth every penny.. the grounds are breathtaking

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breezy5569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Aloha, Mahalo for staying with us at Turtle Bay. We’re happy to read you had a comfortable stay with us. We would love to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,797 - 3,803 of 4,364 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Oahu North Shore is gorgeous, no question about it. I am sure if I had visited Turtle Bay a few months earlier, I would have liked it more. First of all, this is not a cheap resort. Unfortunately, when we visited the hotel, it was undergoing major renovation, something that was never conveyed when we booked the rooms nor evident on their website. I am not talking about minor cosmetic repairs, but major renovation - re-routing of the entrance, boarding up beach access, detour signs by the pool, diverting valet parking, floor shattering ponding after 8am, limited hot water at night, etc. To make matters worst, most reservation, like ours, required a 14 days prepayment, thus by the time we arrived and discovered the plastic sheet covering the resort, it was too late to cancel. To make matters worst, parking was atrocious...basically you park at the local beach access parking lot. They made absolutely no attempt at apologizing for the fact that part of the resort was under an ugly tarp. Not even a complimentary drink.

Without these major problem, its a pretty nice hotel to visit. The scenery beyond the plastic construction drapes, was gorgeous. The room was quite nice (ours was already renovated) with a nice lanai. Most of the staff are quite nice; unfortunately, none of them seem to want to do anything extra.

Overall, just average resort. Good location and view, that's about it, but the service and amenities does not justify the steep price. Personally, I would skip this place and stay somewhere else for the money.

Room Tip: Call ahead and make sure the construction is done... If not, ask for room on the wing away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ppts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Aloha, Mahalo for staying with us at Turtle Bay and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We apologize for our current renovations putting a damper on your recent visit. We keep our upcoming and current guests informed on our website and with guest newsletters. Currently we are enhancing the landscape around the pool area and doing so in sections to not affect our guests. The pool is remaining open. Every Thursday 4:30-6p during the enhancements we have a reception at the pool where guests are welcome to enjoy complimentary drinks and appetizers while talking story with managers. We look forward to the launch of our new and improved resort this fall and hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very nice upward market accommodation on Oahu's North Shore. If you like to take it a bit upscale and commercial while getting away from overly commercial and busy Waikiki, this is the place to go. Beautiful beaches and the Pa'akai restaurant was very nice although for those not on a budget and want to catch up on the conversation with patience. Their Poke was fantastic. Mixed and served right at the table. I can't speak of the other restaurants or bars as we went local for that. Surf shop clothing was on par if not cheaper than other local shops and what you'd expect from a hotel and especially Waikiki. Lifts/elevators are fast and always available. Although our 6th floor ocean view overlooked another part of the hotel they put coloured stone on the roof quite tastefully so it wasn't such an eyesore or interfere with the view. The gymnasium is one of the best I have ever encountered at any resort in the world! The resort doesn't market this well enough and should be shouting out how good this gym is.

The only negs were the total lack of storage in the room for luggage or clothing. The next is the shared parking lot which is open to anybody with no preference to actual guests. Unless you use valet, you must fend for yourself amongst other visiting beach goers which is pretty full during busy weekends. I found myself parking quite far away from the actual hotel. I don't know how good security is but I wouldn't risk leaving anything in the car with the assortment of various people coming and going and in one case lingering.

The MAJOR issue I see people having which prevented me from giving this resort a 4 star is the $150 per PER NIGHT deposit/holding fee on your credit/debit card. I had no major issue but this is not emphasised on any website and I can only imagine the grip it would hold on anyone staying for more than a few nights. I can only imagine it would cripple those on a tight budget with all kinds of activities planned OUTSIDE of the resort. The last time we were here we stayed at the Trump Intl Waikiki for over $900 a night and didn't encounter this harsh grip and were free to go shopping and explore to our hearts content. I can only imagine this is a way to keep guests at the resort for activities and meals. Unfortunately because of this I can't recommend this resort and feel it is my duty for the unaware as this is not publicised enough.

Outside of the negatives listed above, this is a fantastic resort.

Room Tip: Bring a separate credit card for incidental holding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Radwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Aloha, We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We agree our fitness center is amazing and we will take your advice to brag about it more. The credit card pre-authorization you mentioned is not mandatory and was set up to help our guests, not hinder them. It’s basically to give guests the option to charge items to their room. Guests are welcome to pay for their stay when they check-In and choose to be on a cash basis, therefore not having a hold on their credit card. The credit card hold is $150 a day. If our guests charge less to their room, they are not charged the full $150. All of this information is given to our guests while they are checking in. We apologize if our front desk agent didn’t make the options clear to you. We will ensure all of our agents are explaining the policy correctly so our guests can make the decision that is best for them. We hope to have the honor of serving you again someday. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Turtle Bay and had a magnificent run on the grounds once the weather cleared up (it rained the day we arrived). We also enjoyed snorkeling in the small cove on the property. The dining choices were not thrilling, and there aren't many choices nearby, so we were stuck eating in the nightclub, which had a few interesting dishes on the menu but the food was ultimately a little bland and a little greasy. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was very lovely. Until the next morning when right outside our window some men were working on the roof and could look straight into our room. It seems like htey could have started their repairs after check-out time?

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pcmasuedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Aloha, Thank you for staying with us on the Fabled North Shore. We wish we could control the weather the day you checked-in, but we’re glad you had the chance to enjoy the outdoors during the rest of your stay. We would be honored to serve you again in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in a newly-renovated room, which was beautifully decorated and felt modern and serene. Everything felt very clean - showers are spacious and the set-up (dual shower heads) is thoroughly enjoyable. Property has a few dining options, and the pool and beach are easily accessible. The balcony was nice for ocean views and sunset. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Aloha, Thank you for the great review of Turtle Bay! We’re thrilled you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our pool area and beautiful property. Mahalo for recommending us to others and please visit us again someday. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Booked an epic front beach room not so epic got a side view. When I booked I ask if there going to be construction they said no but there is on the pool area and the relaxing area it looks like if no Gardner has been there in months very sad. I came back thinking this resort would be beautiful and relaxing, but not coming back stay at Waikiki next time. Registration people not helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank vio862002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Aloha, We apologize about your disappointing experience here at Turtle Bay. We are currently working to enhance our pool area. We have informed all of our upcoming guests by email about the renovations as well as educated our employees about the project so they can assist our guests and answer any questions or concerns. Rest assured we will speak with the front desk management to ensure all team members are aware of the current situation at the pool area and informing our guests accordingly. We are sorry if you did not receive the email from us about the enhancements, which was sent before your arrival. The project is being done in phases to affect our guests as little as possible and the pool is remaining open during the whole project. We hope you had the chance to come to our Thursday managers’ reception at the pool bar where we are serving free drinks and appetizers to our guests during the pool enhancement project. Again, please accept my apologies for not delivering a quality product and service we are known for. We hope to make it up to you on your next trip to Oahu. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the resort for 5 nights. I was excited to stay at this resort. I was looking for laid back and restful sunning.

There are no signs saying the resort is up ahead. We almost missed the entrance. Check in was easy enough and were told where to park. We booked the beach cottage and the parking lot is not convenient to our building. We had to move our own luggage to the room and our building was at the top of an incline. I wasn’t happy that I’m paying all this money and have to transport my own luggage. The room was very big. It included a desk and chair, a sink with coffee maker (no tea) and a small fridge. Most days we received bottled water. The bathroom was huge. The toilet was in it’s own room with a door. The glass enclosed shower was separate from the soaking tub. The blackout curtains were a plus.

We met our beach concierge Dennis. He was helpful and knowledgeable. To move around the grounds all we had to do was call him and a golf cart would arrive and take us wherever we wanted to go.

The views of the ocean are obstructed by the trees, but it was still a nice view. You cannot enter the water from these building. The ocean floor is covered by rock and slime.

We had breakfast twice and one dinner at the Kula Grill. The buffet breakfast is $25 pp and ends immediately at 11:00 am. Both breakfast and dinner was good. The wait staff was kind and considerate. We had lunch at the Hang 10 and my fish sandwich was good.

It’s about a 20 min drive into Haleiwa.

The beach and ocean is open to the public, so on the weekends it’s crazy full. We found the best time to hit the beach is around 1:30 - 2:00 pm. Most people were gone and we could find a palapa.

Overall I felt this resort was just ok. There is a $32 resort fee.

Room Tip: The resort stops serrving breakfast at 11:00 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Aloha, Mahalo for staying with us at Turtle Bay and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We apologize that your stay at Turtle Bay was “just ok.” We have 5 miles of coastline to explore, including secret beaches and more. We invite you to fully enjoy our resort and all we offer including horseback riding, surfing, Segway tours, helicopter tours and more. We hope to wow you on your next stay and live up to your expectations. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahuku
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
427 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731-2149
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range: $333 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 850 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. All rooms provide an ocean view. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 452 magnificent beach cottages, ocean villas and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, snorkeling, turtle tours, kayaking, four tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails,helicopter tours, segway tours, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. An official partner of GoPro, all guests can enjoy free GoPro rentals to capture their North Shore adventures. Ideal for weddings and romantic getaways with miles of breathtaking beaches. Swaying palms. Astonishing scenery. Turtle Bay is THE setting for your most special day. Ranked among the Hawaii's Top Ten Honeymoon Hotels, each year over 350 weddings are booked to the delight of both newlyweds and their guests. Yours could be just as amazing. AWARDS & ACCOLADES: "World's Best Resorts: Hawaii: No. 7 ranking- Travel + Leisure •"Best Family Hotel/ Resort, Hawaii" - Travel Pulse, Travvy Awards •"Better World Award"- World Centric, For Helping to Create a Better World •"Inaugural Leader in Sustainability Award"- Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Association •"Best Hotels of 2016: No. 7 in Best Hotels in Honolulu-Oahu and No. 25 in the Best Hotels in Hawaii category"- U.S. News & World Report •"Top 25 Hawaii Resort" - Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice •"Top 20 Venues in Hawaii Hotels & Resorts" - Wedding Spot Awards •"Platinum Greenleader"- Trip Advisor •"10 Beach Resort Spas For a Romantic Getaway"- USA TODAY TRAVEL •"Best Courses You Can Play" - Golfweek Magazine •"Top 100 Public Courses in the US" - Golf Digest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing