We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our part of the resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Turtle Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our part of the resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We did not stay at the hotel. We stayed in the condos just outside the hotel area. While we did not have access to all the resort amenities, we did visit the beach there a couple of times. It was a nice beach. There was a rental station there if you wanted to rent snorkel equipment. We also took advantage of Ola being right there and had drinks while watching our teens enjoy the beach. I also visited their coffee shop in the lobby each morning after my run and found it to have a great variety of breads, muffins, etc. We also took advantage of the hiking trails on the resort. The hike out to the hidden beach was beautiful. We pretty much had that beach to ourselves! The condo complex was within walking distance of the resort/beach. The resort really is pretty - great landscaping. There isn't much in the immediate area around the resort, but found it to be convenient to Haleiwa and to the Polynesian Cultural Center. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMR96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Aloha, We’re happy to read your family had a great time visiting Turtle Bay on your recent stay on the North Shore. Our 11 miles of trails can’t be beat and truly do offer endless adventure for all ages! We’re glad you found your own secret beach and that you enjoyed our coffee shop and Ola on the beach. We would love for you to stay with us at the hotel during your next trip to Oahu. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,275
    843
    321
    107
    86
See reviews for
1,245
1,697
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Although staying in the Turtle Bay condos, we attended a family wedding at the resort and I cannot express how wonderful this experience was. From the beautiful service in the Chapel to the nibbles on the grassed area with the suckling pig sliders, to the actual reception in the hotel. It was all PERFECT. The flowers, the table settings, the food, the music everything was done to perfection thanks to the wedding planner, Mona and the Event supervisor Melina. We enjoyed every moment as did the bridal party and all the guests who travelled from all parts of the world.
Well done Turtle Bay Resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyp1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Aloha, We’re thrilled your family had a wedding to remember at Turtle Bay. We know how important the big day was and we are truly honored to be a part of it. We suggest you all come to celebrate the one year anniversary with us at Turtle Bay ;) Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our stay at the Turtle Bay Resort was way too short (3 nights) but better to have experienced, than not at all. This resort is paradise personified. All the staff bend over backward to make you feel special and nothing is too much trouble. The staff work tirelessly to make sure you have everything you need and your stay with them is a memorable one. Most culinary tastes are catered for in the choice of restaurants at the resort so there's no shortage of good food with magnificent views while you dine, whether it be for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Our room (531) overlooked the ocean and one of the bays and was extremely spacious and comfortable. Our stay was purely for relaxation on this trip so we didn't venture out of the resort or too far away from the pool but a car would definitely be needed to explore the surrounding towns which we will definitely do next time - and there will be a next time. Cannot recommend Turtle Bay Resort highly enough. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Aloha, Mahalo for the perfect rating on Trip Advisor and highly is recommending us to others. Thank you for speaking so highly of our staff and location. We would be honored to serve you again someday. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon at Turtle Bay. The resort was great - lots of fun activities available on site. The rooms were cozy and kept very clean. Overall the staff service was ok. However, there were two staff members that were particularly wonderful, Violet Agustin our house keeper and Tony my massage therapist. Violet made a point to get to know us - she was incredibly kind and thoughtful. On top of the daily room tidying, Violet would configure our hand towels into the shape of doves. It was a nice spa like touch. She would also bring us fresh flowers everyday to keep in our room. So sweet. It was Violets hospitality that made us feel at home. Tony was very passionate about physical healing. During my massage we discussed a few specific ailments I struggle with due to my stationary office job. After my massage he spent extra time with me to show me some excerise moves that can help treat my trouble spots. He was genuine and informative.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeliRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Aloha, Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for spending your honeymoon with us at Turtle Bay! We’re happy to read our staff truly made your stay memorable. We would love to serve you two again someday and hope to see you soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
276 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Beautiful hotel, beautiful ocean views, great spa services, beautiful gift shops, excellent restaurants, great pools and Jacuzzis, wonderful breakfasts, nice in-room dining experience, cool fire knife dancers, nice place to go for a romantic walk, nice golf course and stable area, and miles of beach to walk on. We even saw a baby seal while we were there. Would strongly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Aloha, Thank you for staying with us Turtle Bay and highly recommending us to others on Trip Advisor. We hope you choose to give us the honor of a return visit someday. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I really can't say how great this place was. Stayed at the end of may for a 'babymoon' and everything was perfect! Nice and secluded from the tourist trap Honolulu/Waikiki, Turtle Bay is the ONLY resort on the north shore! The rooms were nice. The facilities were on point. The north shore was very pretty. We rented a car and drove the whole island (free parking at turtle). The people were friendly and the restaurants were not the 'Hawaiian expensive'. Would recommend to any traveler: surfer, family, couple, senior..
Special shout to the manager of the surf school, Michelle, and Jon, my instructor. Thanks again guys!
Jason and Rachel

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Aloha, Congratulations on your lil one on the way! We’re glad you had a great time at Turtle Bay and that you enjoyed exploring the North Shore. We will send Michelle and Jon your aloha! We hope to see you again in the future, with your little one! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spent three nights on a staycation. Had a great time. Very friendly folks at the hotel - ALWAYS saying Aloha and how is your day. Restaurants (so so), not very kid friendly. Ate most meals at the golf course restaurant. The pool and Jacuzzi were fun and really enjoyed snorkeling in the bay. We saw moral eels both times we went. You can get snorkel gear2 hrs free (per day) as part of the $33/day resort fee they charge you. Make sure you take advantage.

The room was pretty standard. Maid/Housekeeping service was excellent! My wife enjoyed a facial – the construction was not too much of a bother.

This is a good place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki.

Room Tip: All rooms have some type of ocean view. Not worth the extra cost to get an "oceanview" ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHW808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Aloha, We are always happy to have our kama’aina friends visit us! We appreciate you choosing to spend your staycation with us at Turtle Bay. We look forward to serving you again next time you need to escape town for some relaxation on the Fabled North Shore. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahuku
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,179 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Property: Turtle Bay Resort
Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731-2149
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 850 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. All rooms provide an ocean view. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 452 magnificent beach cottages, ocean villas and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, snorkeling, turtle tours, kayaking, four tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails,helicopter tours, segway tours, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. An official partner of GoPro, all guests can enjoy free GoPro rentals to capture their North Shore adventures. Ideal for weddings and romantic getaways with miles of breathtaking beaches. Swaying palms. Astonishing scenery. Turtle Bay is THE setting for your most special day. Ranked among the Hawaii's Top Ten Honeymoon Hotels, each year over 350 weddings are booked to the delight of both newlyweds and their guests. Yours could be just as amazing. AWARDS & ACCOLADES: "World's Best Resorts: Hawaii: No. 7 ranking- Travel + Leisure •"Best Family Hotel/ Resort, Hawaii" - Travel Pulse, Travvy Awards •"Better World Award"- World Centric, For Helping to Create a Better World •"Inaugural Leader in Sustainability Award"- Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Association •"Best Hotels of 2016: No. 7 in Best Hotels in Honolulu-Oahu and No. 25 in the Best Hotels in Hawaii category"- U.S. News & World Report •"Top 25 Hawaii Resort" - Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice •"Top 20 Venues in Hawaii Hotels & Resorts" - Wedding Spot Awards •"Platinum Greenleader"- Trip Advisor •"10 Beach Resort Spas For a Romantic Getaway"- USA TODAY TRAVEL •"Best Courses You Can Play" - Golfweek Magazine •"Top 100 Public Courses in the US" - Golf Digest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing