We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Turtle Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

What a great place!! The hotel is beautiful with newly renovated rooms. While I was traveling alone, I never felt alone. The hotel staff is so friendly and warm that they immediately make you feel like a friend instead of a guest/customer and this starts with the front desk reception to the always smiling housekeeping staff and everyone inbetween. I had the pleasure of participating in a lot of the activities offered to include one of the most beautiful golf courses I have ever played, a breathtaking helicopter tour of the north shore, sunset horseback ride on the gorgeous and vast property that the hotel sits on as well as a very relaxing service experience in the spa. The only negative is that there is some construction taking place at the resort, so some of the walkways were blocked, a bit of noise during the spa service and the unpleasant sight of scaffolding outside the fitness center and pool area. The dining options are amazing, I enjoyed the fine dining experience in Pa'akai where the 5 course tasting menu paired with wines is to die for! Kula Grille had a more casual dining experience, but the food quality was always amazing and the staff made it very enjoyable especially Redmond, Will and Anya, true service superstars! The lobby lounge was a nice option for lunch with fresh pre-made salads and sandwiches. Last but not least are Hang Ten and Surfer the Bar. Both of these places had amazing entertainment from local fire and hula shows to live music and karaoke. The food is of good quality for such a relaxed atmosphere, but again what made each visit special was the staff. Eddie and Dennis at Hang Ten have been working at the resort for over 30 years!!! They had so much local knowledge, were friendly and made for a fun atmosphere, didn't hurt that I was sitting 20 feet from some of the most amazing waves and water on the planet. I spent the majority of my evenings in Surfer the Bar. Again Scott, Dan, Jon and Vinnie made each visit special and very personal. After the first visit they remembered my name and called me by it each return visit, made me feel very special and appreciated. Surfer's entertainment was varied and awesome each night, I have done a lot of traveling but would consider this bar one of my favorite places to frequent. Overall my stay was amazing! It was sad when I had to say goodbye to all my new found friends and head back to reality. This is definitely a place I will return to time and time again.

Room Tip: I believe just about all the rooms have an ocean view, I was on the 5th floor and had an amazing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveumeanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Aloha, It brought a smile to our faces to read Turtle Bay was the trip of your lifetime. We’re thrilled our friendly staff made you feel like you were at home and we don’t blame you for being sad when it was time to leave. Mahalo for the perfect rating on Trip Advisor and we look forward to spending more time with you in the future! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,272
    841
    320
    107
    86
See reviews for
1,243
1,693
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Turtle Bay last week. We were kindly greeted and shown to the lobby. Upon check in, Diane at the front desk was able to accommodate all of our needs and went out of her way to make us comfortable. Our stay was incredible and we loved the staff, room, location and ammenities. Turtle Bay showed us what "Aloha spirit" truly is. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AplusSuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Aloha, Mahalo for staying with us at Turtle Bay. We’re delighted that our staff and hotel exceeded all of your expectations and you plan on visiting us again. We look forward to serving you in the future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Aloha Spirit is alive at TBR!

Renovations to the rooms are impressive . Staff are very polite and helpful.

Food is excellent and a wide variety of fun activities .

Special shout out to Spencer at the lagoon. He helped us with chairs and towels..He was gracious , patient and kind. Spencer demonstrates the type of Aloha spirit that is hard to find. We were fortunate to meet several resort team members that appreciated their jobs and made us feel special.

Great job we will be back soon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kamanu575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Aloha, Thank you for speaking so highly of our staff, especially our rec. officer Spencer. We will be sure to pass on your kind review to him and commend him for his great aloha spirit. It’s nice to know our friendly staff made you feel special and that you enjoyed your time visiting Turtle Bay. We would love to serve you again in the future and hope to see you soon! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

From the time we drove up till the time we left was perfect! Valet guys were awesome front desk amazing room was perfect food was delicious! There was a surf break right next to the resorts that was perfect for our boys!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Positivepamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Aloha, We’re thrilled your family had a fantastic stay with us on the Fabled North Shore. We look forward to serving you again someday. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We had multiple issues with three different rooms during our 7 day stay, hotel staff not trained on handling basic issues. They upgraded our room eventually bit expanded time and effort getting multiple issues resolved. Ground at North shore are beautiful, but can't ever imagine staying at Turtle Bay Resort again. I feel they owe us much more for our lost time with the multiple hotel condition issues we experienced, and these were all in there newly renovated Epic rooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Aloha, Although you enjoyed Turtle Bay’s beautiful location, we are sorry to read our service did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate you staying with us and would like to make it up to you should you chose to give us the honor of a return visit someday. Please give us more details on your stay. You can email them to social@turtlebayresort.com. We look forward to hearing from you. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We took a family stay-cation (two days) at the Fabled North shore "Turtle Bay Resort." Before booking the hotel I researched the website thoroughly, but when we got there the hotel room was not as nice as they had advertised.

We dinned at five of their seven restaurants. They were all pricey and when you pay for a plate that ranges $20 - $60 you would expect a delicious meal. Sadly we did not care for any of the food we ate there. However I must say, Ola Restaurant was by far the worst. The food was way too salty on one of the plates, the other was way too bland, and I had to return one of the appetizers as the veggies tasted rancid.

After our meal we went back to the hotel room feeling nauseous, I needed to lay in bed for an hour to recuperate. We then went down to the Surfer Bar located in the hotel lobby and lets just say I had two drinks there, and went back up to the room.

On our last day at the Resort we ate our last meal (breakfast) at the Kula Grill. The breakfast buffet was hefty but was the best meal we had since our arrival. We thought it was a fitting meal as we did not want to leave the Resort feeling unsatisfied.

Well as soon as we got home my husband started to feel nauseous and in no time he started to vomit out his meal. Shortly after that my daughter started complaining about stomach pains. We checked out at 11:00 a.m. today and my husband and daughter are still fighting off food poisoning. My husband has the chills, nausea, vomiting and upset stomach and now has to miss work. My daughter has sever stomach pains and has been crying and also has to miss school.

I'm trying to report this incident to food safety.gov but their website seems to be down at the moment.

We have never encountered an experience like this. We spent a lot of money at the resort, and left with a dissatisfied experience along with food poisoning and a miss day of work.

That will be the first and last time we will ever stay at the Fabled Turtle Bay Resort.

Room Tip: I bet you would get the most bang for your buck if you were to rent the beach cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Aloha, Thank you for spending your staycation with us at Turtle Bay. Our chef personally contacted you and has made arrangements for your family to visit us again. Please give us a call if you have any additional information you may have to share. We look forward to serving you again the near future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

First and foremost we had a fantastic time/ experience at Turtle Bay. Like many of our friends, my family and I have been to many winter get away resorts from the Bahamas to New Zealand, Cook Islands to the Med. and every island in Hawaii except Molokai. Many of these places excelled in some areas but lacked in others. My family agrees that Turtle Bay covered off more bases than any other resort we have stayed at. First and foremost the location is fantastic. The walks on the beach in either direction form the resort are extraordinary but the best for us was Kahuku point and beyond to the Ranch. Unlike many Hawaii resorts, Turtle Bay is on the windward side of the island but without all the rainy days often associated with a windward location. The vistas are dramatic and natural without any other developments obstructing the feeling of being in a very special place.
Our room was nicely located looking back at surfers bay and the undeveloped shoreline. The hotel staff from the front desk to the cleaning people were friendly and helpful. The sense was that people enjoyed working at the resort and that they were proud of their work place. Case in point our housekeeper Della was enjoying her 35th year at Turtle Bay.
The resort is particularly suited to those who enjoy being active with a multitude of things to do including surfing, SUPing, and every other imaginable water activity. I particularly enjoyed the tennis with excellent coaching from Diego Miranda, Turtle Bay's head tennis pro and the stand up paddle board and surfing instruction with Spencer and DJ. However if you feel like doing nothing but enjoying the view and reading a book there are countless places close by to stretch out and enjoy the view and tropical breezes.
The assistance we received from manager - Aaron & concierge Aimee was very helpful in helping us sort out all the things to do- scenic drives, cultural hikes, watching surf competitions at Pipeline,
The food is excellent in each of the resorts restaurants which in my experience is unusual especially at a resort the size of Turtle Bay. The only caveat is that the restaurants are pricey so be prepared.
The hotel itself has undergone what appears to be a fairly major updating from it's 70's origins and every hotel room and suite seems to enjoy an ocean view.
Some lesser expensive dining opportunities would be welcome with perhaps more suites with available mini kitchens would be particularly appreciated for families.
We enjoyed a memorable vacation at Turtle Bay and we are very much looking forward to returning in the not too distant future.
Stewart B.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5731StewartB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It’s an honor for your family to think so highly of our resort, as well as our staff. We will be sure to share your review with all of our employees you mentioned by name and commend them for their great service. We look forward to serving you all again and hope to see you soon! Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahuku
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,177 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Property: Turtle Bay Resort
Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731-2149
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 850 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. All rooms provide an ocean view. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 452 magnificent beach cottages, ocean villas and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, snorkeling, turtle tours, kayaking, four tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails,helicopter tours, segway tours, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. An official partner of GoPro, all guests can enjoy free GoPro rentals to capture their North Shore adventures. Ideal for weddings and romantic getaways with miles of breathtaking beaches. Swaying palms. Astonishing scenery. Turtle Bay is THE setting for your most special day. Ranked among the Hawaii's Top Ten Honeymoon Hotels, each year over 350 weddings are booked to the delight of both newlyweds and their guests. Yours could be just as amazing. AWARDS & ACCOLADES: "World's Best Resorts: Hawaii: No. 7 ranking- Travel + Leisure •"Best Family Hotel/ Resort, Hawaii" - Travel Pulse, Travvy Awards •"Better World Award"- World Centric, For Helping to Create a Better World •"Inaugural Leader in Sustainability Award"- Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Association •"Best Hotels of 2016: No. 7 in Best Hotels in Honolulu-Oahu and No. 25 in the Best Hotels in Hawaii category"- U.S. News & World Report •"Top 25 Hawaii Resort" - Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice •"Top 20 Venues in Hawaii Hotels & Resorts" - Wedding Spot Awards •"Platinum Greenleader"- Trip Advisor •"10 Beach Resort Spas For a Romantic Getaway"- USA TODAY TRAVEL •"Best Courses You Can Play" - Golfweek Magazine •"Top 100 Public Courses in the US" - Golf Digest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing