We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good but would have never found it...”

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Best Shrimp Scampi on the North Shore since 1993
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Really good but would have never found it...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Ate here while on a island tour. The food was great and the garlic made the the shrimp scampi very tasty. I don't eat shrimp very often but this was very good and I highly recommend it but it is a little off the beaten path. I would have never found it on my own.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erldprl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank god for the tours.... Thank you for the great review and happy you enjoyed the experience... I feel the best places to go are off the beaten path... Glad you found us and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    352
    152
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

So many to choose from along the strip but this was great. Prawns were delicious and a great big sink with soap to wash your hands afterwards! Other options close by for those who don't eat prawns as well!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NgaireDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for giving us a chance and happy you enjoyed it... We where the original on the island and will continue to make us different then the others on the island.. Enjoy your trip and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I know this place has a lot of good reviews but we thought it was just average compared to Macky's Shrimp truck. The food is just okay could be better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NancyMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for the honest review and would love to get some new ideas if you don't mind? What are some things we could do to improve the facility, shrimp and experience at the shrimp truck? Talk to you soon...

I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience at the shrimp truck... I will forward your review to the owner and hope you give us another chance in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
679 reviews
488 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Go to the original in Haleiwa”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

They have the same great food here, but the location is disgusting! Tons of flies EVERYWHERE, supported by a semi-stagnet stream out back, and tons of garbage, look inside the white van, it's where they put all the trash bags. Add in the mud and dirt of the area, and it's a mess. Their other location has a huge covered pavilion and hand wash sinks, better parking, and less mess.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience at the shrimp truck... I will forward your review to the owner and hope you give us another chance in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Over hyped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We made a special trip up north to eat this as I had heard how great it was. When we got there and ordered we were told it would be an hour wait for our food. Ok, so it must be awesome right? Not really, no. I mean it was good, but it was by no means worth a drive and an hour wait on top of that. If you are driving by and are hungry and don't mind a wait, then it's fine. Or if you just want to be able to say you've eaten Giovanni's shrimp truck, ok. Otherwise I'd give it a pass.

Helpful?
Thank TxMama414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the wait and are working on a much larger truck for the future... If the wait time was cut down to 20 minutes, would you have felt differently about the experience? Look forward to hearing back from you..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
info@giovannisshrimptruck.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing