We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would go back to Hawaii for the shrimp” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giovanni's Shrimp Truck

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Best Shrimp Scampi on the North Shore since 1993
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would go back to Hawaii for the shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I got Hot and Spicy shrimps and it was delicious. It is quite hot, if you are not able to eat spicy food, dont try this. the regular garlic shrimp is equally good. Best garlic shrimp anywhere and highly recommend. For around $10 a plate, you won't break the bank.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChanH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We thank you for the great review and comment about coming back to hawaii for us... Happy that you enjoyed the experience and you are very brave to try the spicy shrimp... Hope to see you back in the future and have fun on the island...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    348
    151
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The food was GREAT !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Touring the island we came up on Giovanni's and 2 people in the Jeep hollored "we've heard of this place, lets stop and eat". So glad we did. We ordered the Shrimp Scampi, Jumbo Garlic Hot Dog and the Hot & Spicy Shrimp. It was hot, but so damn good I couldn't stop eating it. This is a must stop. All their food is very good. There are many shrimp stops along Rt.83 but don't stop anywhere but GIOVANNI'S. Thanks for a fantastic lunch ! We visited in October of 2012.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Lucky that you found us and gave us a chance... We are happy you enjoyed the experience and the food at the shrimp truck... Hope to see you back in the future and great pictures... Enjoy the island...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
309 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“The best shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were taking a trip up to the Turtle Bay, and since we had read about Giovanni's, decided to check it out. They have the best Garlic Shrimp that I have ever, ever, tasted, EVER. I mean it! I have been to a lot of fancy, expensive restaurants, and they do not even compare. This was such a pleasant surprise. You can sit down and eat at picnic tables on site. Good job Giovannis

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Best ever, ever... Wow, that makes us very happy... We thank you for giving us a chance and happy that you enjoyed the experience... Hope to see you again in the future... Take care..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great garlic shrimp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

So finger licking good. Loved that the garlic pieces were carmelized and topped the rice as well. Nice sink area to wash up after. Flies a problem but not much you can do about that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank noodle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Short and sweet review... Happy you enjoyed the shrimp truck and hope to see you back in the future.... Take care....

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lived up to its reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I normally wouldn't have eaten at any shrimp trucks but with such raving reviews, we tried Giovanni's and I have to say that the garlic shrimp was awesome. Finger licking good. Thank goodness they had a handy soap and water spicket available to clean all the garlic off my hands. The grilled corn on the cob on the grounds was also good. The shave ice on the grounds was not so good--not enough syrup. Try Matsumoto instead.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KitkatDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck and thank you for giving us a chance. I will let the other vendors on the property know aboiut your review and we hope to see you back in the future... Enjoy the island...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing