We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps we expected something else?”

Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp Truck
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Western Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perhaps we expected something else?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We did a day trip driving around stopping at various places to try food stalls as we dont have stalls / vans like this at home.

we were a bit disappointed with what we received at Fumi's just the garlic shrimp with some very plain rice, but it is highly possible that coming from Australia we just have a higher expectation of our prawn dishes for this price? it is still an experience for us to stop off at a food van on the side of the road, and thats why we did it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pip1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    192
    39
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Dry shrimp at a high price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Stopped off today at Kumi's truck and were tempted by favourable reports. We ordered the coconut shrimp: 5 shrimp arrived in a take outbox, accompanied by 2 ice cream scoops of stodgy, plain white rice. The shrimp were dry and the meal overall lacked freshness and flavour. I would not recommend. Price: $13 cash.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ginette_H155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
185 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Huge selection of delicious shrimp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

One of the many shrimp shacks in Kahuku, the closest to the Turtle Bay Resort. If you don’t want to eat in a fancy restaurant and don’t mind going basic this is the place for fresh and tasty shrimp at a good price ($13 for a generous portion with rice). In another shop (behind the eating area) you can buy fresh coconuts, they are superb!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robicsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
308 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

A variety of shrimp dishes...most of which our party of 5 tried in 2 trips to the truck....all of which tasted great....$12 a dish...cash only. Highly recommend going there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randomMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fumi shrimp”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a lunch plate as part of our round island small bus tour. Our bus driver pre ordered so there was no wait.
US$12 per plate, I had coconut fried shrimp- very tasty and fresh.
Shady eating area, clean toilets provided.
Worth a visit on your way to the North Shore.
Cash only.

Helpful?
Thank Jojojetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing