We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp Truck
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I tried shrimp at three different shrimp trucks on the N Shore. Fumis may be tied in my book with Mackys. I found it to be a lot cleaner and tastier than another competitor down the road, which I won't name, that is known as one of the best. I thought the sauce for the spicy garlic was heavenly. They also have a larger menu than the others, including coconut shrimp.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steveswanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    201
    39
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome shrimp at awesome prices”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've tried the other shrimp places. But this place was the best, cleanest and the prices for their food was almost half of the other places. Also they had a bigger selection of food choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
363 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“We've tried them all but Fumi's is the best!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We live to come to Hawaii to eat on the North shore and we consider Fumi's the best shrimp on Oahu. Our favorites are the coconut shrimp and garlic shrimp platters. Freakin' awesome!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mickey2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Shrimp Truck Experience”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

On our last trip to Oahu, we experienced Giovanni's as recommended by world travel acclaim and were totally disappointed. The food was overcooked and very pricey! Last evening we decided to give the Shrimp Truck experience another try, but were tossed between Romey's and Fumi's as they raise their own shrimp and have solid reviews. It was basically a flip of the coin, Fumi's won and we were very pleased. The food was flavorful, the servings were large, hot and freshly prepared in a timely manner. I had the Spicey Garlic Shrimp #8 and Cindy had the Butter Garlic Shrimp #2(the two most popular dishes on the menu) with a side of Kahuku Corn. The meal was outstanding and filling, although next time I would pass on the corn as it does not even compare to the "sweet corn" from home. We vote Fumi's #1 Shrimp Truck on the island!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachbums57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I've died and gone to butter-garlic-shrimp heaven!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Fumi's has two locations, about half-a-block apart in front of the shrimp ponds - one truck, one shack. The menus are the same, and the shrimp is astounding - huge, numerous, cooked exactly long enough, and dripping in garlic and butter. Oh, rice and mac salad too, of course. We had an order each - and then had another order made up to go, each. Maybe next time we'll try one of the other dozen flavours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Fumi's Kahuku Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing