We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 26 West”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kahuku
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estates at Turtle Bay
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a very hard review to write. All appears to be what was described so it a little difficult to complain.
We booked for 4 night but have decided after 2 we should leave.
Reasons to leave: very dark, gloomy place. Ventilation just doesn't happen. Air conditioners inadequate and extremely noisy. Balcony unusable due to extreme heat don't even think a ceiling fan would help. Window coverings don't cover. Main bathroom shower is useless, especially if you want to wash long hair. Shower rail in this bathroom falls down a lot. No windows in here, you have to use light which has another really noisy fan. The stairs to the second floor are extremely steep, yes they have rails but I felt very wary when going down. Would not recommend for elderly people or small children.
Good points: there is a second bathroom with a great shower, still no window, same noisy fan. Master bed was comfy. Kitchen had been updated. Great wifi. Great location.
To us the bad outweighs the good. I think the owners have spent money trying to do the place up, which is great. Unfortunately they should spend a little more. Overall if you want peace, quiet and like a comfortable temperature inside I would look elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank jbug64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

Unit #62 is a spacious clean and well kept facility. It is a two story one bedroom loft, end unit with lots of light and two balconies. The owners have equipped it well and thoughtfully. We read reviews of the Turtle Bay estates condos and noticed that there were good and bad units which I attribute to different management companies and different ownership. #62 East Kuilima is great and we will be back. There is more to see and do.
We enjoyed our own breakfasts of papayas, toast and coffee on our deck serenaded by birds. Some evenings we came back to the condo to grill local fish ( a real treat). We enjoyed having room for two to stretch out for a week and later while we did enjoy a room at the Sheraton Waikiki overlooking the ocean we both missed the tranquil beauty of Turtle bay and the spaciousness of our condo there.
We used #62 as base from which to explore the beaches of the North Coast and the villages of the North and east coasts of Oahu.
We usually vacation at Kona - Waikaloa on Hawaii but this was a most enjoyable change.

Room Tip: This unit has a loft bedroom with steep freestanding spiral stairs which may make it less desirable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Location great, late check in went well, ground pretty and pool nice. Condo YUCK. Stayed 081 west. Was clean at quick look but next day realized how dirty it was. Needs deepclean. Saw what looked like cockroach with 5min walkin in. One night husband and I heard crunching crawling sound right behind bed board. Checked it out could not find issus. Slept with light on and saw Brown bug on head board. Not sure bed bug or not but gross. No bites on us and we checked beds on arrival so not leaning towards bed bugs but husband not very convinced.Our best guess is gekco was eating one of whatever they are when we heard the crunching. After leaving my husband informed me he killed total of 8 cockroaches. Back home and luggage not coming in house until I know we did not bring anything back. Warm weather brings bugs naturally so I expected to see many but not in my bedroom. 081 West outdated and dirty.many spaces in widows and doors for critters to enter. Stayed in Hawaii and never had issues in other condos. Guess u get what u pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank agrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

On a recent visit to the North Shore of Oahu we stayed at Kuilima East #21 for a week. Kuilima East is in the Turtle Bay Resort, and is a great place to base your visit to the North Shore. It's a relatively short drive to all of the great surfing beaches, as well as to various tourist locations like the Polynesian Cultural Center.

The unit itself is a one bedroom with a sleeper sofa in the living room. It is a garden-style unit on the first floor overlooking the golf course. With an ample kitchen, large closet, washer & dryer and newer furniture, we found this to be a very comfortable place to stay at a reasonable price.

The condos are separate from the Turtle Bay Resort hotel, so while you can enioy the restaurants at the hotel, the hotel pool and golf do not come with the unit. Kuilima has its own pool, and there is public beach access on the grounds of the hotel, so you can enjoy the ocean as well.

The owners were very easy to work with, and check-in/check-out were a breeze. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank trnmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I, plus our two teenaged girls, stayed at Kuilima East #108 over Christmas. This is a two-bedroom, two-bath, fully-furnished unit, rented through VRBO. It was spotlessly clean, nicely furnished and had everything you could want, including beach chairs, towels and a small cooler. The condo is exactly like the pictures on VRBO. We could see the beach from the upstairs loft and also from the enclosed lanai, across the golf course. Walking to the beach along the golf cart path took about 15 minutes, the same amount of time it took to walk to the cove at nearby Turtle Bay resort.

It's a two-level unit, and the girls appreciated the space of the big loft (two double beds plus a little sofa) to spread out; they remarked on how strong the free wi-fi signal was. Our room had a very comfortable king-sized bed and air conditioner. The rest of the condo is cooled only by fans and the trade winds, but that was enough while we were there. There are two small pools and tennis courts available, and our unit even had tennis rackets and balls to borrow.

Turtle Bay is only a short drive from the shrimp trucks, two fresh fruit stands, numerous beaches and a grocery store. We ordered a cooked Christmas dinner from the local grocery store and it was fine. We had a wonderful time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank emilysmom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Wonderful stay, secluded condo, excellent and comfortable amenities..all we wished for! Clean condo when we arrived, great pool with noone else, quality tennis court for free. Trips to beaches that were only 10 minutes drive max, very safe and secure. If coming back to Hawaii, we will definitely choose The Estates at Turtle Bay again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoncaZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

September 15 - 20, 2013 - My brother, sister-in-law, sister, my husband and myself took my dad to Hawaii to visit Pearl Harbor since he is a WWII vet and served in the Navy - we stayed at 069 West rented by Estates of Turtle Bay and had a wonderful time - the condo was very comfortable, clean and neat. We really had no issues with this condo and would highly recommend it to be considered for a stay at the north shore - the view of the golf course was really pretty and we very much enjoyed having our breakfast on the lanais each morning with the birds. We would definitely stay at this condo if we ever make another visit to the North Shore of Oahu. The rental agency was very pleasant to work with and answered any questions we had prior to our arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carharwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahuku
3.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
26.3 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
25.9 mi away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,151 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
#1 of 1 in Sunset Beach
196 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tiki Moon Villas
Tiki Moon Villas
#1 of 2 in Laie
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estates at Turtle Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estates at Turtle Bay

Address: 56-565 Kamehameha Hwy, In the Kahuku Sugar Mill, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731-2202
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kahuku
Price Range: $95 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Estates At Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Estates At Turtle Bay Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing