We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beautiful Honu”
Review of Turtle Bay Beach

Turtle Bay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Private Circle Island Tour of Oahu
More Info
$302.99*
and up
60-minute Oahu Helicopter Tour: Ali'i Sacred Falls
More Info
$460.00*
and up
Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor and North Shore Tour from Maui
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Gabriel, California
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“The Beautiful Honu”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

How fun to view the Hawaiian Green Sea Turtle up close basking on the beach. This bay is home for about 38 Green Sea Turtles. Nearly depleted during the 1960"s, the population is now on the road to recovery thanks to NOAA Fisheries, Hawaii Tourism Authority and many dedicated volunteers of malama na honu. The volunteers we met on the beach were very friendly and eager to tell their story and their group's work to protect this beautiful species. We did not swim here but will try a dip next year.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hmmbirdpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    227
    75
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Nice beach and saw a sea turtle on the beach!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

went in the afternoon - evening and managed to see a sea turtle landed on the beach. There was a volunteer there to answer questions about the sea turtles and enforce a boundary around the sea turtles to prevent people from endangering them for the sake of a photograph or a memory. You'll probably never get this close to a sea turtle! I was a bit disappointed that at the time I went, there was only one.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agent226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevile
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful! If interested in trying to surf Turtle Bay is the place togo”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I enjoyed watching the people surf and I enjoyed swimming in the Bay, the water was wonderful . The Beach was beautiful the sand so deep it was difficult to walk but a lovely place to walk and explore all that there was to see

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PamelaOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for Kids to swim!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Protected cove with calm waters - our 4 year did very well here in the water. Not too crowded when we went. Clean beach - very family friendly!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tryan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“turtle bay beach”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

nice calm beach but gets crowded. worth it to get there early because the locals go there too. lots of snorkeling.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kuma808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Bay Beach also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing