We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shaka Kayaks

Shaka Kayaks
Ranked #9 of 14 things to do in Kahuku
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Paddle through Kawela Bay in an area that in ancient times was reserved for the Ali'i or hawaiian royalty. View beautiful coral reefs, tropical fish, and WWII wreckage just 3 feet below the Peekaboo™ window on your kayak. Stop at a honu "cleaning station" and watch as some of our green sea turtles get cleaned. For adventure seekers you have the option to surf your kayaks on small 1' waves or try out the sport your guides invented: Stand Up Kayaking! Explore the secluded Kawela Beach and hike through the jungle tunnel to explore the WWII bunker at Protection Point. Swim in the calm waters of the bay or bird watch for endangered species on one of the many hiking trails through the forest. Relax and enjoy the local refreshments provided for you by your guide. Your keiki will help you search for the buried treasure with the map they find on the trip. Along the shore you can see lava tubes, small sea caves and blowholes. While kayaking, watch out for the two dozen resident sea turtles the Turtle Bay is named after. Visit the "Lost" Banyan Tree where the hit TV show Lost, Pirates of the Caribbean IV and Hunger Games 2 were filmed. Optionally you can decide to stay longer at Kawela Bay and your guide can provide you with a walking map of the 2 mile trail back to Turtle Bay Resort.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We never Kayaked before so this was a great place to learn. We enjoyed the scenery along with the short hike they took us on to see the WW II bunker. The tour guides were great. It was a fun time, however we only saw 2 sea turtles so that was a little disappointing.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    15
    4
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent turtle watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Although limited to Kawela bay, the kayak tour is excellent for watching turtles while learning to kayak or do other tricks (if you are already an experienced kayak-er). The guides are very knowledgeable and competent. I enjoyed every second of his tour.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank unhappysadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exciting and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

The Shaka guides were great, knowledgeable, and so helpful and interesting! Their instruction was comprehensive and understandable. They worked well together to make sure our experience was fun, gave us options, and shared experiences with us. The kayaks were comfortable, sturdy and steady and the safety vests fitted to us individually. Great job and great experience option for the resort guests!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank SpokaneNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
231 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“If you've gone through the beach on horseback you've done half the kayak experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We did the kayak tour near Turtle Bay Resort on one of the last days of our trip to Hawaii. While it was nice to actually see the sea turtles, kayaking through the bay was not for me. It was not physically demanding by any means, and even if that was not what you were in it for the same scenery can be viewed from a walk along the beach nearby (you stay within one bay the entire trip). During the first hour expect to be out in the ocean looking for sea turtles and possibly riding a wave on the kayak. The second hour we were probably out there for about 15-20 minutes total with the guides taking us to the banyan tree from "Lost" as well as an old World War II bunker (both of which you can see on the horse trail rides). I don't regret going and the guides, equipment and bay was excellent; however, having done this I'd probably recommend to others to save their $100 per person and do something else!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Army_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Our 2 guides Ryan and Drew showed us an excellent time. We were picked up in a van from the Turtle Bay resort lobby, and drove about 5 minuted before we reached our destination. We kayaked in a bay on the Turtle Bay property. The water was fairly calm and if you wanted to try some white water kayaking you could. We got to see some turtles on our kayak tour and one even swam right under my kayak! Ryan and Drew knew exactly where to take us to see turtles. We were provided complimentary water bottles, and snacks on our trail walk where we learned about some native hawaiian plants, and saw a WWII bunker. Ryan also offered some advice where we could go to see turtles on a beach that was right down the street from turtle bay resort. I felt that it was a lot of money at $100 per person but it was some of the most fun we had on our vacation. This is a must do!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank malismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaka Kayaks also viewed

 

Been to Shaka Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing