We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Turtle Bay Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kahuku
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turtle Bay Condos
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We really, really wanted to stay at Turtle Bay Resort, couldn't/wouldn't afford it. So we got the next best thing by staying at the condos right next to it. First, I'll say the setting is dramatic and beautiful. The North Shore is stunning in it's beauty. We came in Feb when it was pretty windy, and made for watching the huge waves on the north shore mesmerizing.

The condo itself was adequate--one bedroom (the bed was surprisingly comfortable and supportive)--with a living and kitchen area--but not luxurious. It worked out pretty good for our family as it was quite a bit bigger than the resort room would have been, and I liked the idea of cooking meals without having to go out to eat every night (there are not many restaurants in Laie).

We spent a lot of time walking around the grounds, turtle bay resort, and rented bikes at the resort shopt and rode up and down the many miles of paths along the shore. We found a jut and watched the sunset over the waves, very nice and romantic. The resort has a stunning golf course that although we don't golf, loved to walk and enjoyed the scenery.

The one downer about the condos is that we felt like we had to scrimp on electricity and water, and still got charged for electricity overage. However, the cost savings of staying here over the resort was over $100 per day difference which is waaaayyyy more worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank showlowdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 83 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We found a well priced rental here for our visit to the North Shore. Turtle bay is easy to find and secure (which becomes important on the North Shore). It is about fifteen minutes from the Polynesian Cultural Center in one direction and thirty minutes from Haleiwa in the other direction. The condo's have a pool, but no spa (though I won't tell if you sneak into the resort's pol/spa). The walk down to the resort (and its two beaches) is five minutes. I am sure the condos vary, but ours was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Beautiful location, condo is dated. The fridge was clean on the inside but unsightly on the outside with a very rusty door. Came in late one night to find that the cockroaches had taken over. I killed 3 then reported the next day and maintenance came in and sprayed. Left all the lights on for the rest of the stay.

Will not return ever!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Family of six stayed in this unit that has two bedrooms and a loft. It is nicely decorated with all the needs of home (new appliances, washer-dryer, dishes, etc.) and a great location. Pool right outside the front door, gated parking with a numbered spot in front of the condo and the back door opens onto the third fairway of the Fazio golf course. Access to all hotel amenities and restaurants at the Resort. Shrimp trucks, Brigham Young University, Polynesian Cultural Centre and local faire heading north toward Laie (10 minute drive) and the best beaches (Sunset, Banzai, Pipeline, Shark's Cove for diving, Waimea Bay, etc) on Oahu less than 10 minutes heading south the other way. Surf town Haleiwa and the Dole Plantation within 15 minutes on the way to Waikiki which is no more than 45 minutes away in traffic. The owner was great to deal with, excellent communication. Would rent this unit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

in January 2012, we stayed in the Ocean Villas right on the beach, next to the hotel. These are the primo location for the resort! There was a pool for our use just 20 steps from our first floor condo and the beach was just another 75 yards. The beach in front of our condos was never crowded and we even saw whales in the distance one day.

Our condo accommodations were great, it was a 3 bedroom/2 bath with good kitchen and living space. Every morning we ate breakfast on the patio listening to the waves and seeing the beach. We came back to the condo each night and cooked dinner and saved a lot of money on food with doing two meals at the condo.

The Turtle Bay resort was immaculately kept and looked beautiful. We were able to go onto the resort's trails for running and walking. We made our way to the banyan tree that was used in Lost, which was really cool. There are also some more private beach areas over on the west side of the resort. You'll want to catch a sunset from the west side of the resort.

Be aware that the main 2 lane road around the beach areas gets VERY crowded and slows down considerably on the weekends, allow for 30-60 extra minutes to get through.

Room Tip: The first floor was great since we could walk right out to the pool or beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank akate22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing place! Love the condo, was set up with everything we needed when we arrived. The beach is nearby, and beautiful. Three air conditioners make every room comfortable. Don't want to leave, will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed a week in mid September in an east ground level condo. The views are outstanding of the golf course. We arrived at 6pm after a nearly 3 hour drive from Honolulu via wahiawa. No one told us the bridge the was closed. Imagine la's 405 traffic narrowed down to one lane in rush hour for mile after mile. Even with police at the few major intersections traffic overwhelmed any effort they might have attempted. Checking into the condo after hours was a breeze. The rental agency had everything handled. The condo's grounds are beautifully maintained. A car was parked in our unit's space the first three days we were there. We parked in a spot that was actually closer to our unit. Greeting us day three was a notice on our car we would be booted, shot, or experimented on if the car was kept in the unauthorized spot. Lucky us, the one taking our spot magically vanished and from then on we parked legally. Beach access was either a short drive or 10 minute walk up to the hotel. There was ample beach parking and especially handicap spaces. The beach was never crowded and was totally relaxing. Food land, the supermarket, was almost equally distant easr or west down Kamehameha. Prices are 2 to 5times higher than on the mainland. Get their shopper membership to save s little. Do not by fruits from the local road stands. They are not cheaper and we wound up with bugs in the fruit we bought.

The condo was OK and had bare essentials. Almost everything except the bedroom needed updating. The screen door on the lanai was broken. The air conditioner was at floor level in the living room, a poor location for any AC uit. Worse, it was terribly under powered. thank goodness for the ceiling fans and it cooled off after secveral days.internet was flawless and there was a nice sized flat TV. However the cable only delivered non hi def video.

The fridge started making a buzzing noise every few minutes prior to our departure. We awoke the last morning to a flood from it in the kitchen and hallway. Shut the water valve to it and cleaned all up. We left and returned the keys to the rental office. I had to wait while the lady behind the counter finallay asked the person on her personal call to hold. I told her about the flood and as non caring as she could be she said, "oh, the refrigerator." No thank you for cleaning up, shutting the water off or sorry. no asking if we even enjoyed our stay which we did.no aloha from this person and the only non friendly person we met.

With modernizing the condo could have been really nice.

It's location could not be beat to sunset and the other beaches.





Stayed: September 2012
3  Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahuku
3.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
25.9 mi away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
26.3 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,151 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
#1 of 1 in Sunset Beach
196 reviews
16.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Condos

Address: 56-565 Kamehameha Hwy, Kahuku, Oahu, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kahuku
Price Range: $134 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Condos Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing