We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent bbq”

UNCLE Bobo's Smoked BBQ
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Kaaawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $19
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Hinckley Il
1 review
“excellent bbq”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here while on vacation. I got the brisket sandwich which was very good. My wife got taco bowl which was good my son got the ban sandwich which was also good. We usually don't eat early in the evening and almost got here too late since they close at 6.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a small restaurant that serves BBQ and was recommended to us by friends who visited Hawaii. Small but the ocean is across the street so you can sit and have a beautiful view while you eat. The BBQ ribs and brisket were outstanding and even after we were both full it was hard to stop eating. Highly recommend. Fresh bread, wonderful light BBQ sauce that does not over power the very tender ribs and brisket.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparky21Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great local food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

this is a small local place across from the beach. lots of barbecue, shave ice, burgers etc. the sign clearly states that this is not a fast food place, that everything is made to order . the food was very good, but you must be patient for this place, which was fine with us and most of the other customers. One individual had a problem with the waiting time and provided some unexpected entertainment by throwing the food at the young man behind the counter. The police were called, and it made for an interesting visit. We were told by others who frequent this place regularly that they had never witnessed this before, so I guess this was an unusual thing. So if you are looking for fast food, seek out Mcdonalds. if you are looking for good food, great burgers made from local grass fed beef, this is your place, but you must be patient. This is Hawaii, after all, and you're supposed to hang loose!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aerofig52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“If you are hungry, look no further.”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

In the small town of Kaaawa (Jurassic Park) sandwiched between a gas station, Seven Eleven and the local Post Office lies UNCLE Bobo's Smoked BBQ. The chef is the owner. It tells. The food is really good and don't forget the delicious espresso or cappuccino afterwards, it is worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This isn't fast food--and that's as it should be on this part of the Island!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Uncle Bobo's is a regular stop whenever I can make a windward side cruise part of my Oahu visits.
The food is great, and the vibe is even better. Just a great place to relax while Bobo and his lovely bride Keiko prepare your meal with Aloha (keep in mind, good fresh food isn't served in an instant--they're concentrating on making a good plate, not a hasty one).

Can't wait to make it back to check out the updated menu!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surfhawaii69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UNCLE Bobo's Smoked BBQ also viewed

 

Been to UNCLE Bobo's Smoked BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing