We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh for the Pancakes!”
Review of Papa Ole's Kitchen

Papa Ole's Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Hauula
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Oh for the Pancakes!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My Hubby loves Pancakes, and Papa Ole's makes the best in the area. They are 1 inch thick, light and fluffy but tender. Try the Macadamia Nut and Banana. Servings are huge. We took half our breakfast home and had it the next day....just as good almost.
I had an omelet with home fries. Also good for 2 breakfasts.
Prices reasonable. Service good. Always recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debimlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    100
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Probably, I am too demanding(”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Based on reviews, I expected something local, simple and tasty. However, the food was not so great. Greasy burned ribs and meet with big portion of tasteless rice and macaroni salad?!? This is not a local cuisine. Rice and macaroni are not what Hawaiian food is.The food is adopted for American travelers who do not usually cook at home,so they have no idea what delicious and healthy food is. They offer big portions with rich in calories processed food. No veggies or green salads.The shims were probably the best part. I would not recommend for a people who are looking to try something authentic. But again, if all you care is to get a full stomach go for it. Sorry, I am probably very picky.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Olena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Worth the wait.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

First trip to the North Shore and the locals suggested Papa Ole's. We were not disappointed. I had the J special (ribs and shrimp) and my wife had the garlic shrimp. I'm a big eater and was very satisfied with the portion size. My wife could not finish and loved the rich flavor. There is a wait for the food but nothing too long. Price is reasonable. Looking forward to returning next year with the whole family.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravage44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So good!!!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Don't pass this up on the way to the north shore!!! The Kalbi ribs are incredible. We had a couple of other dishes there that were tasty as well. Great local food and worth the wait!

Helpful?
Thank dw920c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait.”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Whole family loved it. The ribs are simple and awesome. The garlic shrimp is delicious, but not shelled. (Bummer)

Teriyaki chicken excellent.

Order to table was almost 40 minutes….But we weren't in a hurry, or it would have been 3 stars.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AZwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Ole's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Papa Ole's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing