We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pulehu ribs-- skip the mac salad”
Review of Papa Ole's Kitchen

Papa Ole's Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Hauula
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pulehu ribs-- skip the mac salad”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Their Pulehu ribs are delicious-- smoky and salty (not sweet). Don't get the mac salad-- it's gross.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ago2girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    100
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Papa Ole's = Good Food”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

On the way to the North Shore, I googled - "best local restaurant" and Papa Ole's came up. I'm always up for an adventure and it was on the way, so we decided to give it a try. Passing a few beach side rustic restaurants, I thought...cool, it's gonna be one of those with the straw roof and quirky colors and when our GPS said "you have reached your destination", we were at a Strip Mall with a Dominoes and a UPS store...and Papa Ole's. Was a bit disappointed of the location but the food more than made up for it. For a very reasonable price, you get a ton of yummy hawaiian food, lots of meat, lots of rice, very flavorful. No wonder the "locals" love it. Papa Ole's is a great little joint!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSetGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GO!!!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Best place on this side of the island. Family owned...great prices.
Get the macadaminan nut pancakes and plan a good walking day afterwards! Best thing I have ever tasted.
Try their Cheeseburgers too. You will not be disappointed.
Everything is very good and they are very nice people.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Eat where the locals eat”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This no frills locale offers friendly service, outside dining on picnic tables, reasonable prices and huge quantities of good food. It's where the locals go to eat. What further proof is needed

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patricia452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If I lived nearby, I'd eat here every day!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Was returning to Waikiki from the Polynesian Cultural Center and this was the first restaurant we saw. Lucky us!! Ordered the combination rib platter (two local versions of grilled beef short ribs with rice and macaroni salad). Fabulous!! We saw the food being served to others and the large portion sizes so we decided to split an order. Even though we were hungry, one order was just the right amount. Some locals sat with us at our picnic table and were very friendly. Awesome food. Large portions. Great price. Wish I could go again tomorrow!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryCasebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Ole's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Papa Ole's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing