We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hale Ko'olau
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hauula
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
95
34
14
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
34
14
7
10
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 160 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Beautiful. Right on the beach. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prncessk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I really needed a break away, this what the perfect choice. Quiet, peace and tranquility together with good service and at an affordable price - I´ll be back here again!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caue00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed in the Molokai Studio for a week in Nov 2010. The trip was mostly to catch up with friends around the island and was perfect for what we had in mind. Perfect location, inbetween North Shore and Honolulu. Also very close drive if your going to any of the bases on island. Service was great, Oti Lani met us for check in and checked in with us during the week to make sure we were ok. Great value for rooms, and no charge for parking, which you won't find at any of the hotel in Honolulu. Would definitely recommend staying here, this is where I would put my friends or family up.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We recently stayed for 5 days at Hale Ko'olau in the Hale Makua ("The House Above"). Zack Oda (Cousin #2) promptly answered every question we had about the place before we came and was very friendly and quick to respond to the very few issues we had while we stayed there.

Pros:
--Check-in: When we arrived, the on-site staff was there to meet us and our check-in took only a few minutes. She showed us where everything was, gave us paddles for the kayaks, and provided us with some tips on where to eat.
--Location: Hale Ko'olau was only about a 30 minute drive from Honolulu Airport and a gorgeous drive at that. It was central to everything we wanted to do on the North Shore. 30 min drive to Waimea Bay, Waimea Valley, and Hale'iwa and maybe 45 minutes south to Kailua Beach (the BEST beach on Oahu!) Plus, our unit was RIGHT ON THE BEACH. I absolutely loved waking up and sitting in our living room to watch the sun rise. Stunning view from every window. The shoreline in front is a bit rocky, but it was fun to walk the beach (there's a good swimming beach just down the shore a bit) and our kids ended up playing in the surf in front of the unit too.
--Great service: The coffee machine in our unit didn't work but we let Zack know and it was replaced the same day with a functioning one.
--Size: Hale Makua was actually a little TOO big for our family of 4, which was a nice surprise. If we go back, we may pick one of the smaller units. We were really only there at night and found we didn't even need the full kitchen so much. It was very open and airy in the living/dining room/kitchen area.
--Rooms: Our unit had two bedrooms - one with a queen and one with a king bed. Both beds were comfy and the rooms were well-maintained. Our two bathrooms were also clean and the showers were nice.
--Washer/Dryer: There was a washing machine and dryer in the unit, which was convenient. The cost for each load was only $4 ($2 to wash, $2 to dry) which was actually pretty cheap compared to the local laundromat.
--Free Wi-fi: Helpful for us. We used the internet to research and decide what we're going to do in the area the next day. (Con: The signal strength for the wifi was bad, and even when you could connect, access to the internet was spotty at best, but we didn't mind -- we weren't there to use the internet and were rarely in the unit!)
--Extras: The hot tub located between our house and the other unit was clean and had a view of the ocean. Lots of gear for you to use while you're staying there, including boogie boards, sea kayaks, and snorkel gear.

Cons:
--Kitchen: We opened the dishwasher to run our dishes, only to find that there was egg in standing water in the bottom of the dishwasher. We ran the dishwasher with soap but without any dishes in it and that seemed to take care of it. Some of the dishes and pans were put away dirty.
--Condition of Unit/Appliances: The unit itself wasn't exactly as pictured on the website. I think the photos may be a few years old. Time, wind, rain, sun, and salt water have taken their toll on the outside of the house and much of the inside too. The couches were comfy, but had a sticky feel to them, likely due to the salt air from the windows being constantly open. Many of the windows in the Hale Makua unit did not close, which was a bit awkward when we had two days of stormy weather. A palm tree branch kept pounding into one our windows during the entire stay (it was very windy!) and woke us up a few times. We let Zack know about it, but it wasn't taken care of before we left. The TV worked, but the volume control on the set was broken (you could only turn it up, not down) and Zack wasn't able to find the remote for us. Many of the dishes/pans were put away kind of dirty, but we were able to wash them ok before using.
--No AC: Not a huge deal. The fans seem to keep air circulating just fine.
--Phone: Didn't work in our unit, but wasn't a huge deal for us since our cell phones had strong reception. We neglected to tell Zack about this while we were there. (Sorry, Zack!)

Some of the other reviews were a bit harsh on Hale Ko'olau and I suspect those people are used to very upscale, swanky hotels. Let's be clear: Hale Ko'olau is not a four star luxury resort. It is exactly as they pitch it: a nice, clean, affordable place right on the beach! If we're lucky enough to afford another vacation to Oahu, we'll definitely stay at Hale Ko'olau again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tackyspoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This is where you want to stay when you want to be out of the city. The accomadations were perfect and just as described in the website. The area was beautiful. The staff was warm and friendly. All our needs were met and we would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didiers_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews