We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing!”
Review of Hale Ko'olau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hauula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Ko'olau
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 days at the wonderful Hale Ko'olau - in the Lanikeha one bedroom unit! And we loved every moment! We were steps from the ocean and spent every early morning on the deck watching the sun rise - beautiful! The unit itself is exactly as pictured on the website (other than new futons in the living room). Kitchen was just fine for breakfasts and our take home dinners from nearby, Papa Ole (fantastic plate meals there - and we loved the peanut butter rolls). Love the North Shore and Windward side of Oahu - for the relaxed vibe. All in all, a wonderfully fantastic vacation - and definitely recommend Hale Ko'olau!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Aloha & mahalo for your kind review. We're happy you enjoyed our Lanikeha (Legendary Part of Heaven) 1 bedroom and found it to be as pictured online. I've personally taken all the photos online myself with a standard digital camera over the years and none of them are photo shopped...what you see is what you get. Thank you so much for pointing this out to anyone reading reviews and concerned about misleading photos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 160 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

We took our daughter to College on the island and stayed 8 days. We absolutely loved it here. The pictures don't do it justice. You are literally 20-30 feet from the ocean and the sunrise was beautiful. The location was so convenient and the home was spacious and clean. We were very pleased with the owners and felt like they worked with us to make it affordable. We will never forget our trip. We hope to return again when our daughter is done and this will be the place we call first. Thanks Cousin 1, 2, and whoever!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agentBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Aloha & mahalo nui loa for your kind review. We're so happy we could help your family have a memorable and affordable beachfront vacation together, especially a momentous time in your life. Guests like you are the reason why we exist. Remember that when you return for Graduation Day you'll be entitled to a 10% repeat guest discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My second home and family! Truly paradise. Just like Hawaii should be. It's been our vacation for the last seven years. We have recommended Hale Ko'olau to family and friends over the years. Never once did we have any concerns. We can't wait for our next visit and in the future hopefully twice a year.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cvandyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your thoughtful review. We're honored that you consider Hale Koolau as a second home. One of our core business values is the Hawaiian concept of "Ohana". Ohana means family in Hawaiian but isn't limited only to blood relations. At Hale Koolau we make it a point to treat all our guests as Ohana so that they can enjoy a truly unique and special holiday in Hawaii and preserve our cultural tradition of showing aloha for all who visit our islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our group of 8 stayed here in April. We Loved staying here and can't wait to go back! House was perfect and the price was perfect! The staff was great and very helpful. Looking forward to booking our next trip to Hale Ko'olau! Mahalo!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amritchhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Mahalo for your kind review. We're thrilled that you appreciated our property and the price. We really do try to keep our direct beachfront property as affordable as possible and family-friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had the most amazing time. Thank you all so much for all you did. The rooms were so clean and the staff were amazing. The property is on the beach and you over look the water. The management really take pride in all they do. Thanks again for an amazing time in Hawaii. We will be back to see you all again soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happylife1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Aloha & mahalo for your kind review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our property. On behalf of all our staff I thank you for recognizing the effort we put into caring for our guests. Everyone who works at Hale Koolau is from our part of the island and we truly do enjoy sharing our local knowledge and Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Molokai Studio on our Honeymoon in August and are so happy that we chose this place! I spent a lot of time looking at hotels, condos and apartments online and went with Hale Ko'olau because of their location, their BBB rating and the great reviews that I read. I know that it doesn't take much for people to write a bad review, but takes a lot for people to really write a good review on something, so I was happy to see that most of the reviews were glowing. The photos and descriptions of the Studio Apartment were very accurate and realistic so we were happy when we showed up after many many hours of traveling and saw our new home for the next 10 days! It was very clean, there was Air Conditioning as well as a fan and there was even a security box (although I don't think it's necessary). The location was perfectly between The North Shore and Waikiki and just 100 feet from the water as promised! They offer the option to rent various things life snorkeling equipment, surf boards, etc. at a very reasonable price, which we did a couple times. They were friendly, honest and very pleasant to work with. I would highly recommend them to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Aloha & Mahalo for your generous review. I have to admit it really touched my heart. Thank you for recognizing the value of what we provide on an island which is extremely expensive. We know we're not perfect, but we really do try hard to offer affordable beachfront accommodations and beach equipment rentals for our guests. Its easy to be distressed at times by negative reviews or unrealistic expectations, but guests like you make it all worth while. Again, mahalo nui loa from your Hale Koolau O'hana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The website photos make these beach house units out to be better than they are. Their photographer and website designer should be congratulated for gilding the liley! When you arrive it is nigh on impossible to find the place because there is no signage and then the parking is impossibily tight. The unit we stayed in was clean yet was definitely tired. Everything seems well worn and the new flat screen TV's are the cheapest VIZIO kind.
The staff was wonderful. Very helpful but methinks the owners likes to nickel and dime guests with add on charges for security box use etc.
The saving grace to this place is the direct to ocean location. The waves were lapping up on to our patio right onto our aging discoloured patio chairs!
The local restaurants are again wonderful and we found the service awesome everywhere. Watch out for the drunks that lie in wait for you outside of the local market mall stores 5 miniutes North. They start their work after dusk.
We had a wonderful time. Would we come back? No.

Room Tip: book an ocean view unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank canadian175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We thank this guest for leaving review, however we really do take some exception to the claim that our photos are in any way misleading. I personally took all those photos with a standard digital camera (not professional). Read other reviews and see that other guests always state that they are pleasantly surprised that our property is exactly as depicted online.
Our houses are only 10 feet from the ocean. There is a lot of salt air and it destroys electronics quickly. I'm sorry we don't put the most expensive televisions possible in our rentals (because they don't last with the salt air) but if you are planning a trip to Hawaii beach house and a television is that critical to you then perhaps you shouldn't stay at our property.
One of our 2 bedrooms with full kitchen and a/c directly on the beach which accommodates up to 4 guests is roughly the same price as standard size ocean-view hotel room on Oahu for double occupancy. We do provide parking and internet for free...something the hotels don't do...so I don't understand the claim that we "nickle & dime" our guests either. All our prices are clearly stated on our website and in our online booking system...there are no secrets or hidden fees here. As an added courtesy to our guests we also maintain a large stock of high-quality beach equipment for rent at nominal daily fees...much less than you would pay from any beach vendor. In a way we actually subsidize that equipment.
Again, I do thank this guest for leaving a review, however I think it grossly misrepresents the incredible value and service we provide at Hale Koolau.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hauula
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,218 reviews
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
#1 of 1 in Sunset Beach
197 reviews
Tiki Moon Villas
#1 of 2 in Laie
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ko'olau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ko'olau

Address: 54-223 Kamehameha Hwy, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717-9522
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Hauula
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Hauula
Price Range: $99 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Ko'olau Hawaii Vacation Rentals on the North Shore of Oahu is a family owned & operated business rated "excellent" on TripAdvisor and ranked the #1 specialty lodging in our area. Our oceanfront & beachfront vacation rental homes are located next door to one another in Honolulu, Hawaii in the small fishing town of Hauula on Oahu's North Shore near the Polynesian Cultural Center, Turtle Bay, Sacred Falls, Sunset Beach, Pipeline, Kualoa Ranch and many other wonderful Oahu attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Ko`Olau Hotel Hauula
Hale Ko'Olau Hauula, Hawaii - Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing