We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Vacation”
Review of Hale Ko'olau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hauula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Ko'olau
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family rented the Hale Ko'olani Lanai in June and had an absolutely wonderful experience! To begin, I cannot even describe how incredibly gorgeous the views were. We spent most nights outside grilling and in the hot tub just soaking in all the beauty. The rooms were also very nice, and we have no complaints on them whatsoever. There were a few quirks, but nothing that was big enough to affect our trip. The staff were wonderful and were very accommodating. we actually had issues with the lights and had to have an electrician come fix the issue, but they were kind enough to comp us some of our fees for our inconvenience.

We rented a lot of their equipment for snorkeling, bogie boards, etc and the price to rent was very reasonable and the equipment was really nice!

I would say that if you are wanting to be close to tourist sites in Waikiki/Honolulu area, you might consider somewhere closer as it is not a short trip. We stayed here with the intention of being on the quieter side of the island and it couldn't have been more perfect. We have so many wonderful memories that the Hale Ko'olau helped create and we hope to return again someday. Thank you for such a great experience!!

Room Tip: If you cannot pick between the Tranquil Sea or the Balcony over Hau'ula, I would recommend the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Aloha Chelsea & Mahalo for your kind words. I also want to thank you for your patience and understanding with the unforeseeable electrical issues. With our full time maintenance manager (Jeff) we do try to stay on top of things and anticipate, however there will always be some things that just pop up out of nowhere and we truly do appreciate guests who can understand this fact of life and work with us. For those reading this response, what happened is that one of the circuit breaker contacts partially corroded due to the fact that the house sits only 10 feet from the surf (salt air) and had to be replaced. We did it as quickly as we could determine the problem and purchase a replacement.
I also want to take this time to let anyone reading the review & response consider the point Chelsea made about the distance to Waikiki/Honolulu. If you want to spend more time on that side of the island then we do not recommend Hale Koolau. What we offer is a different location/feel on the farthest point away from those areas. The low density of Hau'ula where the tallest building is a church steeple is exactly what we love about our side of the island and we want guests who will appreciate it the same as we do. Again, mahalo to Chelsea for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family stayed at Pakuna La and really loved the open space and views right from the kitchen and living room. We are used to the heat and so we didn't feel the need for the a/c although other people around the place were using theirs, the tradewinds are great there, we felt the breeze was enough and wanted to feel the ocean air (we are from the desert). The location is wonderful and the town has everything you may need. We really enjoyed North Shore Tacos and Papa Olie's was yummy too. The parking was a little tight and we almost always missed our entrance the first couple of days but we figured it out and made due. It really was nice to enjoy the beach and views right when you wake up and before you go to bed. I would highly recommend this place and hope to go back again some day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Aloha Robin,

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the Pukana La and the tropical beauty of Hauula and the North Shore. Mahalo nui loa for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Khu Kai Sea Spray Cottage in April 2013.
What a beautiful place! If you want the "true" Hawaiian experience, check out and stay at one of the Halekoolau.com properties. They offer a number of different size/types of ocean front properties. The Management is very attentive to all your needs. The price is right! The scenery unmatched. This side of Oahu is away from the hustle of Waikiki and we truly feel helps the people and economy - that reside on this beautiful part of the island. So if you are thinking of Hawaii for your next vacation, we highly recommend Halekoolau properties. You will not be disappointed. Life Is Short - Go To Hawaii!!!
Janet & Tony Balchunas

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, General Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Aloha & Mahalo for your kind words! Also, mahalo for recognizing the value in what we provide as an alternative accommodation to the resorts and hotels. True beachfront real estate in Hawaii is expensive...not just the taxes but also the maintenance. We do our best to keep our properties as affordable and family-friendly as possible. Its also important for potential future guests to know that we do have active management available each day from the booking process, during the stay, and afterwards. We think this is a critical difference for Hale Ko'olau...that our guests have friendly people to talk with and handle any of their concerns during their stay. We have a full-time on-site manager (to give you the local insight on where to go and what to do), a full time housekeeping manager (always available if there are any concerns about cleanliness), and a full time maintenance manager (if anything breaks). Considering all this we think we provide an amazing value. We know we are not perfect, but we do try hard. Mahalo again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Nani Kai Hale and the home was absolutely gorgeous. The kitchen was stocked with everything that we needed to prepare our meals. It was even stocked with a crockpot. The hottub was awesome in the evenings as you enjoyed the cool tradewinds. The staff was so helpful and made sure that our every need was met. I will definitely recommend this property to all of my friends and family looking to stay out of Waikiki.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristeenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, General Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your kind words. Our family and staff really do try to go the extra mile in providing affordable oceanfront accommodations with small-town Aloha spirit. Anyone reading this review and, of course, some of our stinkers, should note that each of our properties are different and provide varying degrees of amenities, privacy, and luxury. Of course, they are also priced accordingly and we have everything from super-budget studios to this luxury beach house. Please be sure to visit our direct website and carefully review each property description to determine which one would be best for your needs. We are always available to answer questions and assist you before, during, and after your stay...just ask!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Awesome service, friendly staff. Ocean front, beautiful property. Just what we needed for a relaxing vacation. We were greeted as soon as we got there, we felt welcome from the time we got there, until we left. We used the hot tubs and beach chairs. We enjoyed just sitting on the beach and winding down after site seeing and roaming the island. We would def return here when we return!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aly071208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, General Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Aloha and mahalo nui loa for your kind words. We're happy that you felt welcome as we really do try to create a unique atmosphere where you can feel that you are in your home away from home. Please remember that as a past guest you'll be entitled to an additional 10% discount on any future stays with us. Once again, mahalo nui loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We loved our stay. We are a family of 5. Dave went out of his way to make sure we had accomodations with them for the full 2 weeks. I left booking late, so we had to move a couple of times within their rentals. Otilani was very helpful too. We rented snorkeling gear from the office and it was great quality. On one of the sunny days at the beach we rented a brand new beach umbrella... also fabulous! The units were clean and well cared for and equipped with everything we needed to make the most of our stay.

The weather was pretty crappy for most of our stay, so we did experience some leaks in skylights and some windows. Easy to deal with.. put a pot underneath. :) This was our biggest disappointment with Oahu.. the weather. But, apparently it was unusual for that time of the year. Mar 14-29.

The only other disappointment was the beach right outside the units. We had hoped that it was swimmable, but it really isnt. It is all reef. It is possible to go out at high tide, but don't put your feet down you could very well step on an urchin. One of our daughter's did. A walk further down the beach takes you to a beach that is swimmable.

Pounders beach was our favourite in the area. A few minutes drive north to Laie Beach - absolutely gorgeous! The waves were still huge at the time, so we spent some days at Waimea beach just watching the surf. (and the lifeguards pulling the tourists out that didn't heed their warnings)

It was a good holiday, but due to the weather, not great. Apparently Maui would have been a better choice. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPerky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, General Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Aloha & mahalo for your review.

We're happy we were able to accommodate your group and that you were satisfied with our hospitality. The skylights mentioned are scheduled to be removed and closed this May/June...so no more leaks. We thought they were a nice touch when we installed them years ago, but no matter what we do they always leak! Auwe!

Also, we will be installing all new seating throughout our rentals this May/June with 8" quality mattresses for comfortable bed conversions as well as making other general upgrades. We invested more than USD$750,000.00 in upgrades in 2007 just before the recession and, unfortunately, we really had to wait until now to have the money to make further improvements. Houses only 10-15 feet from the ocean demand a lot of money for maintenance and upkeep and we also have 3 full time employees and many part time employees, etc., etc. to pay for. All of this combined means we'll probably have a rate increase by the end of summer, unfortunately, but we hope that our rentals will continue to be a special, affordable, family-friendly destination on the North Shore.

Finally, I'd like to point out that our direct website has an extensive FAQ section which covers all questions about our rentals, including the beach, weather, floor plans, etc. We encourage anyone considering our property to visit our direct website to learn more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If 'location, location, location' were everything then this place has it! It's literally just a few simple steps from the water, in fact I felt as if we were sleeping on a house boat the first night. The customer service we experienced both online and over the phone when making the reservation as well as at check in was fantastic and we have no complaints about the costumer service we were provided, they were very warm and hospitable people.

However sadly there were a few disappointments that would have us looking else were next time we visit Oahu. We booked here because the space looked great & ample enough to hold our party of four, the location near perfect (and on the water!) but that together with the costumer service was the end of the warm and fuzzy feelings toward Hale Ko'olau.

We stayed in the Ko'olani Kai or 'tranquil sea' rental for 3 nights just 2 short weeks ago. The place looks much nicer when viewed on my laptop then with our own eyes in person. We have stayed in MANY rental homes in the US and have been generally pleased although some quirks are to be expected with a home rental. We felt as if the furniture specifically in this rental had been switched or terribly warn since the pictures to advertise the rental were taken. We are talking lumpy, old couches covered in a slip-cover, I would have cringed to see the fold away bed inside of it. A considerably warn kitchen table that was very slanted and askew with 3 random, warn kitchen chairs. I understand things may need to occasionally changed out but I would think that replacing it with something equal to or greater than the customer is expecting would be in keeping with good business practice.

I also recognize that with the proximity to the ocean the property will show some wear and tear but we were unable to open most of the windows because of rust that had rendered the hinges un-operable or with missing handles.
So much for the lovely ocean breezes, wall switches randomly placed that seem to operate nothing, curtains that were mismatched and didn't completely close enough for privacy (good thing I travel with safety pins), broken lamp shades that you didn't dare touch or they would fall apart completely. It just wasn't the kind of place you felt was clean enough that you could get really comfortable in. As I like to say, it's a 'keep your flip-flops on' type of place. So sad because we really wanted to love our stay here. There are more 'picturesque' beaches down the road toward Haleiwa. As one reviewer mentioned, 'stay somewhere nicer than your home', well I don't know what this says about your home, but I couldn't agree more. And thankfully with the view out to the window to the beach aside, it's nice to be back home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FiveLthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, General Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your review. As with all of our reviews, whether good, bad, or ugly, we do appreciate your valuable feedback.

For potential guests reading this I want you to know that we do have what we call our "Clean Guarantee". This is a detailed cleaning check-list which covers all aspects of the rentals and is reviewed by our full-time housekeeping Manager. During arrival our guests are presented with this document and asked to review it before accepting possession of the homes. If there is anything on the list which was not cleaned to your satisfaction then all you have to do is point it out and we'll clean it to your satisfaction...guaranteed.

These guests say they've stayed in many rental homes,but I'm not sure how many they've stayed in only 10 feet from the surf on a tropical island. There will always, no matter how much we do, be some rust, some moistness, etc. in a beachfront home. In 2007 we invested more than USD$750,000.00 in expansive upgrades to all our properties...including new windows, kitchens, travertine stone floors, granite countertops, apppliances, pillow-top beds, mini-split A/Cs, sofas, etc. Of course, being on the ocean takes its toll.

I agree that our sofas are at the end of their useful life. This is partly why we only charged these guests $212/night for a party of 4 in a direct beachfront home. The average hotel rate on O'ahu right now is $250/night for double occupancy which doesn't include parking or a kitchen. So things really do need to be balanced. That being said, we have budgeted and will install brand new maximum quality seating in all our rentals in May/June this year. The new seating will have quality, 8" mattresses so they can convert into comfortable beds. All rentals will be touched up with new paint and linens as well. Of course, with these improvements we'll also, unfortunately, have to increase our rates to cover the costs.

Finally, anyone reading this guests reviews of Hale Ko'olau should also read their other reviews of local North Shore locations. It seems they were not happy/satisfied with any of our most popular locals, eating establishments, etc. Perhaps the North Shore of O'ahu isn't for them?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hauula
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,226 reviews
Tiki Moon Villas
#1 of 2 in Laie
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ko'olau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ko'olau

Address: 54-223 Kamehameha Hwy, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717-9522
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Hauula
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Hauula
Price Range: $99 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Ko'olau Hawaii Vacation Rentals on the North Shore of Oahu is a family owned & operated business rated "excellent" on TripAdvisor and ranked the #1 specialty lodging in our area. Our oceanfront & beachfront vacation rental homes are located next door to one another in Honolulu, Hawaii in the small fishing town of Hauula on Oahu's North Shore near the Polynesian Cultural Center, Turtle Bay, Sacred Falls, Sunset Beach, Pipeline, Kualoa Ranch and many other wonderful Oahu attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Ko`Olau Hotel Hauula
Hale Ko'Olau Hauula, Hawaii - Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing