We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hale Ko'olau
Nearby Hotels
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore(Laie)(Great Value!)
$299
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$374
$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii(Kaneohe)(Great Value!)
$224
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $255/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$285
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$299
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$249
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $311/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$167
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)
$248
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
95
34
14
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
34
14
7
11
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 161 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

When we arrived all the windows were open which was nice with the exception to the cigarette smoke that was flowing into the windows for the renters in the unit below. While they can't smoke in the unit nothing stopped them from smoking right under our balcony. We asked them to move which gratefully they did but we could still smell the smoke.
Next it was the ants on the kitchen counter before we realized there was no air conditioning and the traffic noise from the highway was intolerable. While it was was too hot to sleep with the windows closed we had to close them for quiet. Last but not least was the shower (they don't provide any soap) then we had to wash all the ants down before you could step into the shower... Unless you want very very rustic for a high price find something else

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DMA650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, General Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

We would like to express our gratitude and thanks to these guests for choosing to stay with us, and also for leaving valuable feedback. It is only with guests' input that we can continue to keep our rentals up-to-standard for our future and return guests.

We also would like to take a moment to respond to some of the issues they had during their three night stay with us.

Upon arrival, we like to open the windows and play soft music so our guests feel truly welcomed and experience the famous Hawaiian breezes. We understand that cigarette smoke is a disturbance and are glad they were able to speak with the neighbors below to smoke elsewhere. We are also available to mediate such instances and guests know upon booking with us that smoking in any rental is STRICTLY prohibited and cause for immediate dismissal from the property.

As we live on an island, we live with the bugs, not the other way around. We have Terminix employed on a monthly basis for pest control, but controlling Mother Nature is a difficult task to do. Had the guests notified us, our full-time maintenance person could have come and sprayed poison to prevent this from happening again. Being right on the ocean and with such a hot, sunny summer, it may happen from time to time.

As there really is only one road around the North Shore, most homes sit close to the road. Luckily, this house sits about 100 feet from the road, as we have some that sit much closer. What I find funny is that they didn't know the rental was not air-conditioned, as we specify on our website if a rental is air-conditioned. This rental is only one of two on our property not air-conditioned, and we have families in these rentals year-round, without any complaints about road noise. We understand that some people can be sensitive and not used to noise at night, however, the road at night is VERY QUIET compared to the daytime hours and the rest of Oahu. Our previous guests can agree with us, as we do not receive noise complaints at all.

Lastly, we do not provide soap as we have had problems with guests in the past and allergies. We were told by professionals to stop the use of providing free soap as it may become a liability for us in the future with future guests. Unfortunately, we live in this kind of society today.

I must strongly disagree with the guest's assessment of high prices, though. I have stayed throughout the island and have found that a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom, direct beachfront suite anywhere in Waikiki, Honolulu or even out at Ko 'Olina and other beaches in the world will run you thousands a night. Our rates run in the two hundred dollar a night range. I urge this guest to please compare and confirm your statements before writing something that is misleading, unfair, and most of all, false.

Mahalo nui loa and pleasant journeys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a one week stay in the studio apartment. The studio had a small kitchen, bathroom, queen sized bed and patio access. The staff was extremely accommodating, as our stove was visibly broken and an appointment was being made to replace it. We didn't realize that the burner itself was the only part that didn't work- the stove was fine, however prior to realizing this, we were given two sets of snorkels free of charge to be used during our stay as well as two nights in a different suite on site so that we could use the kitchen. The air conditioning in our room worked very well which was important to us and we really enjoyed getting up each morning and taking our coffees out to watch the sunrise from the beautiful beach. My husband made a few meals on the charcoal barbecue which was fine as well. With regards to the kitchen, just come a little bit prepared in terms of bringing some items from home if you plan on doing some cooking (we brought salt/pepper, seasonings, vegetable oil, etc). Also, I think it's quite common, but we had several ants, primarily in the bathroom/kitchen areas. One of the hot tubs was not working, but I think there are three hot tubs on site which are available for everyone's use and so we ventured to the tub which overlooks the ocean which was the perfect temperature. As others have mentioned, the parking space can be tight, but this didn't pose a big problem for us. While we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation here, we did a bit more driving than we had anticipated. Prior to reserving a place, we would recommend that you plan ahead in terms of identifying all of the activities that you want to do on the island to ensure that this is the right location for you, as we found ourselves driving on average 1-2 hours each day (we visited Shark's Cove, Electric Beach, Sunset Beach, Turtle Beach, Kailua, Haunauma Bay, Haleiwa, and Dole while we were staying here and then spent the last two nights of our trip in Waikiki). All in all, we had a great stay at hale Ko'olau.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucyc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Well sadly our Hawaiian holiday has ended and I would like to leave some feedback.
The Balcony over Hauula was a tad disappointing. The Wi-Fi which was promised might have worked 3 days out of 9. Internet is important as a lot of people do business and important e-mails. The answer was "the guy was supposed to have come 3 days ago to fix it"
The apartment could be best described as " under maintained" The potlights, bathroom fixtures and fans are extremely rusty and gross.The bathroom has no exhaust fan. The drywall had holes poorly patched and painted a different color and two walls were soaking wet with I'm sure a ton of mould in them.
My fan in the master was wobbling to the point it could not be used and my air conditioner self destructed with water pouring in the room.
The parking is an accident waiting to happen as its extremely tight and dangerous entering the highway.
The bulb in the microwave was dead and we advised them and it was never replaced. The ice maker in the fridge did not work. There is no dish washer.
The covers for the hot tubs are completely worn out and destroyed, and actually useless at keeping the heat in FYI.
Its cheap not to have propane or Nat gas BBQ's and have to ask the guests to go buy charcoal and lighter fluid.

A major complaint of mine was the cheap $ 5 Walmart furniture on the "Balcony" Its such a beautiful space, why skimp on cheap dirty plastic furniture with no cushions?
FYI , in February the wind was absolutely howling night and day making the Lanai almost unusable. Not their fault, but you should know this before.

The staff were friendly and helpful and did attend to most issues promptly, however we won't be back.
I am a landlord too and some of these issues I would not tolerate. Charge a little bit more and renovate !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Toe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, General Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

We would like to personally thank these guests for staying with us, and for taking the time to leave us some feedback.

We would also like to take the time to respond to some of their feedback and complaints, and also clear up some issues we have with their review.

The WiFi was difficult during the stay of these guests as we were actually upgrading our entire system to a brand-new and completely revised WiFi high-speed internet system. The system will actually encompass spots that never received access before, like in spaces of rentals that are very far from the access point. With our new access points and antennas, we have walked to the corners of our entire property and have been able to access internet, and even chat via Skype. Our guests staying with us now are very much enjoying the new system. We apologize to these guests, as I was unaware they were having issues accessing the internet, as I would have given them the access to our office internet router, which is separate from the property's internet system. As they were staying right next to our office, they would have been able to use our office internet with no problem whatsoever.

The family staying with us now in the same suite loves the fans and have no issues with them, as they also have four children staying there as well who need to sleep. The air-conditioning leaked once due to a bent drain pipe that was repaired and never leaked again during their stay, and has not since. We are actually in the process of renovating the entire suite, but can only do it in-between guests at this time. The gentleman did not mention that we had just finished painting one room and the ceiling a couple of days before their arrival. We are also in the process of replacing the bathroom fixtures and repainting the entire suite as well, to avoid these types of complaints.

The drywall the guest mentioned was indeed wet, as we needed to do some work in the wall and literally patched up the hole and painted it an hour before their arrival, so there wasn't a huge hole there upon their arrival. I find it completely misleading and inconsiderate, especially as a landlord him/herself, to claim there is tons of mold in the wall without even asking us what had happened there.

We will be addressing the fan issue as soon as our current guests leave to see if there is a problem, but like I stated above, no complaints from our current guests there now.

We have been renting our property for 11 years now, and never ONCE have we had an accident there. The driveway may not be the biggest but it is certainly accessible and ample enough to fit a large SUV there, as guests have had in the past. We do not comment on the driving skills of our guests.

We will be replacing the microwave over the stove as well due to the light bulb not working. Unfortunately, it will cost more for us to replace the bulb in the digital read-out than to replace it with a brand-new microwave altogether.

The ice maker is not connected to water, and there is no dishwasher, this is correct. However, we do not advertise anywhere that this particular suite comes with an icemaker or dishwasher.

The family staying with us now, including their four children, love our hot tubs and actually have been using it every night after their activities of the day. The temperature has been at 102 degrees Fahrenheit every night when they arrive home. Not sure about the "heat" comment. We also have three other hot tubs on our property, two of which received brand-new hot tub covers last year, and they also heat up to 102 as well.

Unfortunately, we do not have access to Natural gas or propane gas lines as they are not available to the North Shore of the island. The only way to have these available is to have a metal tank sitting outside your home, and due to the constant sea spray we receive being right on the ocean, metal rusts in a matter of months. Due to this circumstance and the liability it would cause should a leak occur, we have opted to have stone BBQ areas throughout the property for our guests to use, so they may have a chance to BBQ, even if it is with charcoal.

To be honest, the "$5 Walmart furniture" he is referring to are two $38 chaise lounges, four $15 plastic chairs, and a $35 plastic table from Home Depot. As I stated before, we cannot use metal furniture on the lanai due to the sea spray, and we do not provide outdoor cushions as we have tried this in the past with all of our cushions being destroyed due to guests forgetting them outside and leaving them there when they leave for the day. As we do not enter the suites without a maintenance issue, it is very hard to monitor the location of the pillows and to make sure they are kept inside when guests are gone or during rain showers.

The wind has been howling all over the island, including in Honolulu where some of our employees live. In fact, they stated the wind was worse in Honolulu than in Hauula and this has been the strangest weather we all have seen.

In all honesty, we had a difficult time with these guests. We are a self-catering vacation rental, and want our guests to feel like they are home away from home without the bother of thousands of people or cleaning maids bothering you when you do not want to be bothered. After their first night, a woman staying in this party came to our on-site office and dropped her linens and asked that we change her bed linens for her. When we explained to her our self-catering position, and that we provide coin-operated washers and dryers for her to clean her linens should she want to, she picked up her linens and stormed out. She proceeded to come in on a daily basis with a problem, which we would try to respond to immediately as referenced by the review.

We do our very best to bend over backwards for our guests and to ensure they enjoy their stay with us, but there are some guests that just can't be pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The view from the living room and outside deck beat any fancy touristy Waikiki/Honolulu hotels. If you want to get away from the crowd and tourists, stay here. We stayed at Pukana La "Sunrise"--very appropriate name for this duplex rental. Not fancy by any means, but rustic and down to earth. Close to Polynesian Cultural Center, Kualoa Ranch, and Turtle Bay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Sitting out on the oceanside terrace with a glass of wine in our hands and the waves crashing into the rocks just below our feet, I had a good laugh with a couple of other guests at how much you can learn from bad reviews about a place--how much you can learn about why the place is perfect for you, that is. In response to the comment "never stay in a place that's not nicer than your house," while our place in Boston is certainly appointed better, and has nicer decorations and furniture, I'd be pretty disappointed if a VACATION RENTAL was nicer on the inside than a house I'd spent 10 years outfitting for our private use. (That said, I'd also be disappointed if the more garishly appointed luxury hotels on Waikiki looked better to me than my own home, as well.) And however nice I make my own home, engineering that Pacific ocean 20 feet from the door effect would be pretty tricky. To the complaints about critters getting inside--have these folks ever been to a tropical climate? I lived in Florida, and despite all the necessary and frequent visits from every sort of exterminator under the sun, it was never enough to completely stem the tide of red ants, lizards, and scorpions into our house. We didn't see one invader into our rental, bug or otherwise--a minor miracle in these surroundings. The beach wasn't good enough? Wow. Which one? The one directly behind the house, where my husband and I enjoyed sunrise walks every day? Or the 30 some beaches within a 20 minute car ride either way? From our perspective, the Hale Ko-olau--and the Pukana La, which was our unit--was exactly as advertised. And the never-ending view was even better than we could have expected. We saw Oti a lot, and she was warm, funny, and generous. If we're ever back to Oahu, the only change we'll make it to plan to stay here longer than we did. At 5 days, we didn't get to cover half of what we wanted on the north shore--2 weeks, and we might have been satisfied. Thank you to the Hale Ko-olau for offering affordable accomodations with such a spectacular view. We couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: We loved the Pukana La. The view from the front windows was definitely worth the extra price.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MelandMikeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, General Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Mahalo nui loa for your fantastic review, and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We appreciate when our guests leave us comments and loved reading your review. It made us chuckle and smile.

Thank you very much and we look forward to your 2-week trip on your next visit to the islands!

Mahalo nui loa a hui hou! Take care,
Hale Ko'olau Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews