We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little north shore place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grass Skirt Grill - CLOSED

Grass Skirt Grill
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Seating, Takeout
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little north shore place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Pros far outweigh cons: fresh seafood, excellently prepared;relatively reasonable pricing;unique atmosphere;friendly service;cons:no alcohol sold on site, bathroom is this side of an atrocity;limited seating.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AZWahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    84
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We had the Terikay chicken burger, the fish salad, burgers, garlic fries. It was all delicious
And big portions. We will be back

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank abuelita68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bring Cash, no credit cards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Im not a chicken fan, but they make excellent Teriyaki chicken. Now the price is a bit much, at 8.99 a plate...BUT....for the price you get 4 big pieces of chicken, two scopes of rice, and a good portion salad, which has an amazing dressing. I did not have a chance to try the ahi, due to shortages, but i imagine it has to be as good as their chicken. Overall, good food for the amount you pay and it taste great. Make sure you bring cash, no credit card or Debt.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fresh food, traditional plate lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We shared the fish lunch plate here which was very good. I disliked the plantation tea, but that's probably just me. I'm a southern girl who loves sweet tea and the added pineapple didn't seem to pair well. As for the lunch, the fish was good and the the salad greens were very fresh. They are super busy for lunch and service can be slow, but that's expected when the volume of people the quality of food....no complaint here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KSaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Grass Skirt Grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Our visit to diminutive Grass Skirt Grill is definitely in contention for best meal we've had in Hawaii ever (and there have been numerous meals on Oahu, Maui, Hawai'i and Kauai.) Fresh, lovely food and big servings aplenty. I had the pulled pork plate lunch and it was completely delicious. My partner had the burger and made noises that indicated it was also pretty delicious. They only take cash but if you're in Haleiwa, you want to eat here. It's the business.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grass Skirt Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing