We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Plate Lunches”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grass Skirt Grill - CLOSED

Grass Skirt Grill
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Seating, Takeout
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Plate Lunches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Soooooo good. Go here. Fresh, amazing fish. The pork was fantastic. Delicious fresh food, probably the best meal we had on the island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank STMRobynMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    84
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious food in Halewia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I were recommended this restaurant by a local and we weren't disappointed! I had the seared ahi plate and my husband had the kalua pork plate (around $15 a plate). The owner was incredibly friendly and the service was quick. The seating is pretty limited but there are gorgeous views of the mountains at the outside tables. The portions are large and the food is tasty. Definitely worth a stop if you are in Halewia!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust_Lady31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal food and value in Halewia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We ate lunch here twice on our 1 week trip to Oahu after morning swims with turtles up the road. Food is great and reasonably priced. Get the Plantation Iced Tea for your beverage- it's delecious :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We love the fish burgers and the fish plates and have never tried anything else on the menu. Get the fresh fish. They put some kind of mayonnaise based sauce on it that's totally delicious. The portion of fish is like a small note pad. 3x4?? So much food. Absolutely get fries with it, or the garlic fries.

There are a few tables inside and maybe 4 tables outside. There's not a lot of seating. Because of that, we always eat a little later to avoid the crowd. Unfortunately, because of that, the fresh fish choices are more limiting. They don't care if you come in dripping wet from snorkeling. Love it.

There's parking in the back and there is a bathroom in the back. It's a BASIC bathroom. Ask the staff for access.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BettyKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Great small place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Good food. Small place but not much room. If all you want is food then this is a great place!! Just like most places on this island don't judge the food by the looks of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thebodyshopboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grass Skirt Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing