We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grass Skirt Grill - CLOSED

Grass Skirt Grill
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I walked in and asked the guy to recommend a meal for me... I got the fresh grilled ahi. Really good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgreene01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    84
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing BBQ Pulled Pork!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My friend and I stopped by here while visiting Haleiwa and wow! The BBQ Pork was amazing! Its a quaint little place, you can eat inside or outside and there are tons of interesting people who stroll in and out during your stay (if you eat there). The staff is very friendly and the service is prompt. The prices are very reasonable and I highly recommend!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jpratt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
274 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Cool mood, great food ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great place to eat fresh made beef or fish platters/burgers. Just a half a dozen choices with salad and fries but Johny and his crew's mood bring special taste to all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwideleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Plain, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Look for the Volkswagon Truck with the Old Surfboards in the Back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Visited this place on the recommendation of locals on the Island. Loved the feel of Halewai as you drove into town - think Retro Surf Cool! The Grass Skirt seems a fitting candidate for the 'poster child' of this vibe. Order at the counter and sit on the small front porch. The fresh catch of the day was a grilled Ahi plate - fresh, as was the salad. Coconut shrimp and burger got 2 thumbs up from our group as well. Generous portions, tasty and affordable!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Southshore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great service, and reasonable priced lunch. Had Grilled Ahi plate lunch, which was delicious - plenty of food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grass Skirt Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing