We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 lunch stop in Haleiwa!”
Review of Grass Skirt Grill - CLOSED

Grass Skirt Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“#1 lunch stop in Haleiwa!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We are repeat visitors of the Grass Skirt Grill, usually multiple times! It has become a guilty pleasure, recently because of a recommendation of the Teriyaki Cheese Fries, not sure how we missed those our first time there, but wow! They have excellent food, fun little environment with some history. Cash only, be prepared for that if you are a "plastic user" like we were the first time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinSchuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    84
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tenafly, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food good, but owner nasty”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I recently stopped by based on good tripadvisor reviews. I placed my order, then realized I was getting many orders of french fries to my table. My bill *was* a little high and all the while I was trying to figure out why, so I thought to ask if there was a mistake. Boy, did I get an earful. When I told the guy who took my order (who was in fact the owner) that I only ordered one order of fries and I would like a refund, I felt like I was in Mexico. Meaning that once they got your money they ain't gonna give it back. The owner and his wife were arguing that I ordered 3 fries. He was quoting me wrong and he said it was my tough luck and threw up his arms in disgust. Of course his wife backed him up. My kids backed me up. I know it was his wife because when I ordered, I overheard him say how he and his wife (pointing to the woman) were both from Philadelphia. Their food may be good but I wouldn't patronize an establishment that treats customers this way. The owners were just plain rude. I mean, if he just refunded me for one of the orders of fries I would have been happy! It's the principal of the thing. I told him I'd write him up on tripadvisor.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank luvmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Worth a special trip !”
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We came to Haleiwa for Matsumoto's shave ice and stayed for dinner. We saw the Grass Skirt Grill as we were leaving town. We were amazed at the quality of the food. We had the Teri chicken , shrimp scampi and coconut shrimp. All 3 dinners were outstanding.

One note: they only accept cash. They also close at 6:00.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ro953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Yes, this is as special and great as everyone says!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Seemingly just a tiny over memorabilia decorated room, the servings are generous, the delivery quick, the prices very reasonable, and above all the food delicious. We both had the teriyaki chicken with brown rice and aside salad after hiking the 7miles out and back to the point. YUM

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank canter2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Teriyaki chicken with the spirit of Aloha without sticker shock.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Food can be expensive but finding local places like the Grass Skirt Grill is so rewarding. The teriyaki chicken is worth the drive to the north shore or be adventurous and take the bus.
After the best chicken in oahu drive down the highway to the matsumoto store for shave ice which is about a minute away.
The meal and shaved ice costs about $15 per person. Oahu means the "gathering place" and gather on the north shore for an afternoon of great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thththth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grass Skirt Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing