We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got sick”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Banzai Sushi Bar

Banzai Sushi Bar
Ranked #11 of 88 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted one of Oahu's best by Honolulu Star Advertiser four consecutive years, BANZAI Sushi Bar is truly one of Haleiwa's best kept secrets. Tucked away in a back corner of the North Shore Marketplace, casual fine dinning, outdoor covered seating with Japanese-style seating on Zabuton pillows or conventional tables, diners relax all while watching surf videos and enjoy live local musicians on the weekend. BANZAI uses local organic produce when ever possible and has their very own Hawaiian fish buyer who presents himself on a daily basis at the worlds largest Tuna fish auction here in Honolulu allowing them to serve the freshest fish almost immediately. With one of Hawaii's best Sake selections, any sushi lover and sake connoisseur will be in pure nirvana. Dont miss BANZAI Sushi Bar on your next visit to Oahu's North Shore in Historic Haleiwa Town.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Got sick”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were one of the first customers to arrive at Banzai when it opened at noon.  There were about 2 other parties at the restaurant and it still took about 30 minutes to get our food after we ordered.  The drinking water tasted bad.  The restaurant itself looked clean and had decent ambiance.

The food itself taste alright.  Not the best I've had but not the worst either.  However, the portions were extremely tiny given the price.  We ordered a few rolls and decided to leave before we were full because the food just wasn't worth the price.

Worst of all was that 2-4 hours after eating, we got extremely sick.  Our vacation to Hawaii was practically ruined by spending our last 48 hours dealing wih food poisoning.

Do not eat here

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    72
    21
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sushi - Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I had dinner here after spending the day on the North Shore. They have amazing sushi and a great drink menu. I would definitely recommend the Banzai roll and the Gnarly Marley. The Gyoza is a great app! I definitely recommend hitting this spot if you are ever on the North Shore.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PancakeNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I must have high stardards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I hail from Sydney and the sushi at this place while OK was nothing to write home about. It was ok but I have had sushi made with more care and at better pricepoints than this place...the staff were lovely though just not sure I would take the time to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonmak_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
131 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Food was good, not enough staff working though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We ate here during lunch (around noon) on a Saturday. It's a nicely designed restaurant. The food is pricey for what you get, but everything we ordered was pretty good. We ordered the spicy tuna maki which came with 8 pieces for approximately $9. We try spicy tuna at every sushi bar we go to and while this was ok, it wasn't something we would drive to the north shore for. Their salmon sashimi was the best. The salmon was fresh, fatty and it melted in your mouth. 5 slices - $13. We also ordered the kappa or cucumber maki for $6, expensive for a cucumber maki and it was the same as any other cucumber maki you can get. The ahi poke was good for $11. Tasty, probably our second favorite thing we ordered. We also ordered the coconut tempura shrimp which was served over a bowl of greens grown on Oahu. The shrimp and sauce was very good, cost $14 or somewhere around there. The sodas are $3 each...be sure you get your server to refill you as many times as you can to get your money's worth!

The restaurant is clean, it's open air. They have sort of a large desk. Half of the deck had tables with chairs and the other half had tables with zabutons or cushions for you to sit on the floor. There were hightops inside, but they sat everyone outside for lunch.

When we arrived, the restaurant was about 1/3 full. We were seated and greeted by a very nice waitress. She didn't rush us when ordering, she offered suggestions when we asked, etc. We asked for low sodium shoyu, she brought it to us immediately. About 10-15 minutes later the restaurant filled up and there were only 2 servers who also bused their own tables...the service then went downhill to the point we kept looking at each other and as we walked out said we probably wouldn't come here or bring any of our out of town guests here. Our server brought our food, then left our table without asking if we needed anything. I then realized there wasn't any wasabi on our sushi plate. We waited several minutes before we could finally flag down our server, she was so busy taking orders, etc. During our meal our server didn't make it back to our table to check on us, etc. After we finished our food, over 5 minutes went by and the other server in the restaurant realized we were done and sitting there waiting. The other server cleared out table and our server finally came to see if we wanted dessert. We asked for our check, paid and left.

In summary, the food is good, fish is fresh although pricey...meaning you can get more at other places for the same quality. The service started off great, but they could have used one extra person busing tables or something. Two servers to work all of those tables just didn't seem enough. The servers deserve our "hats off" for handling not only all the tables but they also served as hostesses. We had a Groupon (paid $20 to get a $40 certificate) and that's why we tried it. Our total bill came out to $55 not including tax.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithCameraHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Soo Ono!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Love this place! We go everytime we visit the North Shore. Love the live music on the weekends...prices are good, the atmoshere here is great for a romantic nite out or for dinner with friends. The food is always fresh and delicious! We visited with a party of 6, so we had alot of food at our table. I cant remember all the rolls we shared last visit, but I do remember the Banzai Roll, Lemon Drop and a Red Dragon Roll. All very highly reccomended. Dont forget to leave room for dessert....the Banana Tempura is killer! We'll be back in December!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twofromthebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banzai Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Banzai Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing