We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a destination to try”

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Ranked #9 of 89 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: The Original Shrimp Truck Since 1993
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definitely a destination to try”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stopped after an afternoon of off-roading at Kaena Point. The truck is similar to the one in Kahuku - covered with signatures and in a dusty pull-off along the highway. The food was amazing and, even though we pulled in 15 minutes before close, they got us 7 regulars, 2 spicy and 2 garlic hotdogs out before closing. The shrimp were huge and amazing - though they can get a little messy, so take some extra napkins. My partner got the spicy and said they were super hot, but he loved them - kept asking if we could go back, even if it was an hour plus drive from our hotel. They only have outside seating (I mean it's a shrimp truck...) and no bathroom (but we snuck off to McD's across the street to get drinks and use theirs.) Really an amazing place that shouldn't be missed (and sign the truck if you can!!!)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jana2915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Nothing better after hiking then some garlic shrimp… Happy you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck and hope to see you again in the future..
Jorge Amorim
Giovanni’s Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    497
    209
    67
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mather, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“shimp, shrimp and more shrimp!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Best shrimp from a food truck I have ever ate! World famous Giovanni's shrimp truck is a must if you are in the area! The shrimp arrived steaming hot and fresh! I ordered the steamed shrimp with butter and lemon which also came with rice. There are several other food trucks near i.e. tacos and shaved ice just to name a few. If you want, you can even write your name on the truck, that is if you can find space!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaime306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
WOW... That makes us feel really good about being the best ever... We are happy you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again in the future... Take care..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A "must do" on a trip to the North Shore”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

They have locations on each side heading to the North Shore, so no matter what direction you come- you should be able to find them! I had been to Oahu once before and didn't know anything about the shrimp trucks. Well now that I do, my trip to the North Shore will not be complete until stopping here. We had the garlic shrimp- which were great. One of my friends tried the spicy shrimp. She was showing us how you suck all the juices off before peeling, well she stopped doing that after about three! Her lips were on fire. They were good also- I just may suggest trying the sauce first or just getting a half order. The garlic rice was one of the greatest things I have ever eaten. It's probably not that difficult to make- perhaps just sautéed garlic on top of rice- but it's amazing! I can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank atravelingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for the recommendation and happy you found us this time while on the island... The shrimp truck has been improving the facility over the years and will continue to do so in the future... Thank you for the great review and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good shrimp scampi, don't have to peel!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Okay food truck...gross...the outside...gross. I was trying not to be grossed out as I ordered my food (it was the end of the day). I got the food and it was cooked perfectly and was yummy.

I then noticed they started to "clean" the truck for the night and was thoroughly impressed. There were 4 girls scrubbing the walls, the doors, putting foil over everything. So I was less grossed out after seeing that.

I give it 4 stars. Would I go out of my way to eat here? No, plenty of places to get a similar experience but still very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasGingerbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for giving us a chance and happy you enjoyed the experience... It also makes me happy that the staff was doing a good job cleaning which is very important to ownership... Enjoy the island...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Finger Lickin' Good”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our local Hawaiian friends took us to this wildly popular food truck. Passed a few other shrimp places and Giovanni's was by far the most busy. Limited choices and every meal seemed to be made, once ordered. The Shrimp Scampi was really, really good. I am a fan of spicy food and was tempted to go with the spicy shrimp but instead asked for a side of spicy sauce with the Shrimp Scampi. Good move, since the spicy sauce was really spicy and not the type of heat that I enjoy.

PS:
Remember - cash only and when busy, the wait for food can be a bit long but definitely worth the wait. Also, when busy, best to split up, so one can finding seating and the other can order.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Make sure to thank your friend from us... Thank you for giving us a chance and we are happy you enjoyed the shrimp... Getting the hot sauce on the side was a smart idea for it can be to much for most people... Enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing