We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Ranked #7 of 91 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: The Original Shrimp Truck Since 1993
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

At first I wasn't sure about eating out of a graffiti covered old truck but the shrimp were cooked perfectly and we had both the lemon butter and the garlic... We didn't have to wait that long either. Highly recommended!

Thank CasandraAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Looks aren't everything, wouldn't you agree... Thank you for giving us a chance and happy to hear you enjoyed the shrimp at the location... We appreciate your recommendation to other in the future and hope to see you again... Enjoy the island...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 986 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

The shrimp scampi was amazing. The shrimp was fresh and cooked perfectly. We tried two other shrimp trucks later in our trip, but Giovanni's wins!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LilyinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for the great review and very happy to hear you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck... It makes us happy you enjoyed us better then the others on the island and hope to see you back in the future.

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The shrimp was excellent. We had the Lemon Butter and also the Garlic along with a side of the hot and spicy sauce. All were delicious. This place was recommended by a local and they were definitely right is suggesting this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 5WaysfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for the recommendation and to the local for his as well... We are happy you enjoyed the shrimp at the truck and hope to see you again in the future... Enjoy the island...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I include this on our North Shore trip so I hope I am reviewing the correct location. I thoroughly enjoyed the succulent shrimp scampi which was loaded with garlic. I appreciated that it wasnt oily and it was loaded with garlic. The shrimp are jumbo , tender and fresh. I think these trucks need to come together to hire someone to keep the tables clean. I couldnt fight with the flys and ate mine in the Mc Donalds since someone ordered there

Thank trbpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for the great review and for giving us a chance... We are happy to hear you enjoyed the shrimp, but no so much about the dirty tables. I will let the manager know about the tables and hope to see you again in the future... Enjoy the island..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We visited Giovanni's shrimp truck in search of a tasty lunch and we were not disappointed. While the line when we got there freaked us out a bit it moved really quickly. The shrimps/prawns in spicy sauce were very tasty and they come with rice and a wedge of lemon. If you like your food hot and spicy then this is the place for you. Though there is the garlic butter option which looked fantastic. If someone in your party doesn't like seafood there is always the hotdog option.

Thank jo1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for giving us a chance and happy you enjoyed the experience... It can get very busy at the truck at times, but your in Hawaii..... We are working on a larger truck as we speak to speed up the ordering process... Enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing