We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find, best shrimp we had on the island”

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Ranked #7 of 91 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: The Original Shrimp Truck Since 1993
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We came across this place randomly one day and decided to come back for lunch the following day as well! The prices are very reasonable and you get a pretty good bang for your buck. The staff are very friendly and funny, and they work quickly to get your food out. Just make sure you choose the right truck as there are about 4 or 5 all in the same parking lot.

Thank JVerse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We are a hole in the wall and happy that you found us... Thank you for the great review and I'm happy you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck... Enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future.

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,070 - 1,074 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were on a day trip when we met a couple on Sunset beach. They recommended Giovanni's as being a well known place to sample the best shrimp. Given the name we expected a pricey restaurant instead it was an old truck it's entrance propped up by a rock. Fine dining it was not but the shrimp was excellent. A great experience a must for any traveler.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Panos113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Make sure to thank that couple for me... Over priced fine dining is over-rated and most of the time not filling... We are happy you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stopped here as part of our island tour and was not disappointed. The shrimp were to die for. My wife had the garlic shrimp and I had the spicy shrimp. I highly recommend stopping off if you are in the area. Best shrimp truck we had ate at in a while.

Thank Kirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Happy to hear you found us and thank you for giving us a chance... It makes us happy that you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck and hope to see you again in the future... Take care

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

OK, so here is the deal, Giovani' shrimp truck in Haleiwa is not to be missed. It has a long tradition on Oahu and offers very consistent quality. We like the garlic scampi the best but the lemon butter shrimp is also good. We don't eat hot food so we cannot comment on the hot & spicy. You get 12 shrimp and 2 scoops of rice for $13 - a good deal. This is an easy 30 min drive from Ko'Olina and a nice break from the sun, beach and pool. Also, it is located 2 mins from Matsumoto shave ice so do both.

Thank Rvstraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for the great review and the recommendation to future customers... We are happy you enjoyed the experience and hope that others will as well.. See you soon.

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

If you head to The North Shore of Oahu you MUST check out the "Shrimp trucks" of Haleiwa. I particularly liked the grove of trucks (several in a row vs. the random one here, one there) off the main road in Haleiwa.

It wasn't cheap- $13 a plate for about 10 big tiger shrimp, a small scoop of rice and a small serving of cabbage salad, but the taste is YUM, YUM! You get your choice of garlic shrimp or just plain butter shrimp, Cajun shrimp.... I think there is a Bubba Gump joke in here somewhere... Soda is a buck.

Atmosphere is... Uh.... Trippy... You are under a canopy of trees, there are chickens "The National Bird of Hawaii" running around your feet and it's family style seating - you sit with strangers (which I LIKE, but us mainlanders often are weird about).

It's really a must do - all your friends are going to ask "Did you go to the shrimp trucks?!"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Popekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

I love the way you use your words and the vibe of your review... I'm sure it will be a hit with our future customers.... Happy you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again.

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing