We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Ranked #6 of 87 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: THE ORIGINAL SHRIMP TRUCK SINCE 1993
California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

It's good, but nothing spectacular. Not hard to make shrimp taste good when smothered in melted butter. If you're in the area, definitely try it, but not something to go out of your way to eat. A little pricey also.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bound4NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the review on the shrimp truck and happy you enjoyed the experience... enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    479
    200
    63
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Do not miss this dining experience!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's easy to miss Giovanni's--it's just a food truck parked by the side of the road--if you are driving along the North Shore with your AC on and your windows closed up. You might spot the graffiti all over the truck and the awning over the picnic tables but blow by too fast and you'll miss it.

But if you are traveling in Hawaii the proper way--in a jeep or convertible with the top down, or at least the windows open, you won't miss Giovanni's. The aroma of the garlic saturated shrimp scampi served there will draw you right into the parking lot.

When you get there you will see several options. If you like HOT get the spicy shrimp; otherwise they'll give you a little container of the spicy sauce for your regular shrimp you can drizzle as much or as little as you like. The shrimp itself is fresh, gigantic, greasy, messy and AMAZING!! The price is absolutely incredible for a big plate of shrimp and rice. The shrimp sauce is so good with the rice. After you have eaten a plate....or two...or three... you can visit the truck next door for a shaved ice or fruit.

You will serve yourself and throw your own plates away...the service is very basic--it's on the side of the road, for goodness' sake. So if you want to be served and pampered, don't expect it. But that's not what Giovanni's is all about.

After coming home from Hawaii I made Kahuku Shrimp--it wasn't quite Giovanni's but I sure got the aroma right--my entire neighborhood smelled like Giovanni's :-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BabsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for the very detailed and informative review for all our future customers... we are happy you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Keep the vampires at bay”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This shrimp truck is part of North Shore folklore and rightly so. Prime position, off road parking, lots of seating, but expect big queues, and also expect a good dose of garlic. Garlic shrimp tastes amazing and you really do need to use the large fresh water sinks to wash your hands (and face) after gorging yourself. A must-visit even if its just to scribble on the truck.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are happy we lived up to the hype and that you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck... Love the head line and vampires are bad customers anyway... LOL Enjoy the island..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I must admit that this is one of the best meals I have EVER eaten! My other memorable meals were garlic chicken and potatoes at a campground restaurant in Spain and tortellinni and pizza at a hole in the wall place in Vicenza, Italy. The shrimp was awesome! Make sure you eat it right, suck the garlic and stuff off the shrimp THEN peel and eat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank av8nautiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Best meals ever.. That is a great compliment that I will share with the staff... Thank you for the kind review and hope to see you again.

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmer, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Shrimp”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Before my trip to Hawaii I searched for shrimp trucks and made it a must see. I was very happy with the food and service at this location. I had the shrimp scampi which was awesome and my wife had lemon butter which was also good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DownsFamily622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for giving us a chance and finding us while on the island... We are happy you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again in the future... Enjoy the island...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing