We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giovanni's Shrimp Truck

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Ranked #9 of 88 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: THE ORIGINAL SHRIMP TRUCK SINCE 1993
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had heard and read that this was a great place to eat so of course I had to try it. Honestly, I was not impressed at all. It was okay and not cheap for what you got but that is just my opinion.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the experience at the shrimp truck.. Do you have any ideas on how to make us better? Look forward to speaking to you..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    450
    188
    58
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrible: eat here with caution”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We are fans of Mackys but after three years we decided to try Giovanni's. Bad idea. We ate at the one in town by many other trucks. Flies every where. Spicy was un-edible. Not only was it crazy hot (fine-it's sold that way) but it tastes terrible like vinegary sirracha. Truly it was in edible.

More expensive than Mackys and fewer shrimp (and no salad or pineapple).

I have nothing good to say. And my mom felt sick.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the experience at the shrimp truck and will forward your review to the owner.. Hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitland Park, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Shrimp lovers must stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

If you like garlic with your shrimp, then this is a must! Shrimps were huge and so flavorful!! The staff up beat and happy guys! The stop was our first visit to a local food truck, boy were we pleased! Since we never ate from a food truck on the side of the road, but we are now hooked on food trucks while in Hawaii! Priced right and worth the trip from anywhere!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Soapster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
I'm happy you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck and that the staff was good to you... Enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very tasty treat. Pleasantly surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Look for the ORIGINAL GIOVANNI shrimp truck. There are other copy cats shrimp truck, but keep driving until you see the one with the MOST cars in the parking lot. Then you know you've arrived at the original. The food here is the best and the tastiest. Its worth the drive, but its not too bad to drive through paradise.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelynlongbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation to our future customers and to look out for our shrimp truck... We are happy you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again in the future...


Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We drove to North Shore based on recommendations of others...and, it was well worth the trip! The garlic shrimp is AMAZING and I would definitely visit again - ask to sign your name on the truck (they will even give a marker to write with). Make sure to look for the WHITE truck (looks like it is grafitti'd due to all the signatures/comments) - don't stop at other trucks along the road, Giovanni's is the one to visit!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RS_Kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank the people who recommended us to you next time you see them... Happy to hear you enjoyed the shrimp truck and loved your picture... Enjoy the island and hope to see you aagin in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing