We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Waimea Valley

Waimea Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Go Oahu Card
Ranked #5 of 57 things to do in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Hawaiʻiʻs Living Culture in Waimea Valley, deeply rooted in authentic Hawaiian History, Culture, Spirituality and Tradition. Waimea Valley is a world apart from Waikiki, be in the quiet of nature, beautiful flowers, rare plants, cultural sites and a beautiful waterfall for swimming.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The eight of us spent $128 to walk up to an unimpressive water fall. Way too much money for what you get. Poor value. Choose something else to do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DiggidyD0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    322
    99
    29
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
269 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great for family, kids, and physically challenged”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

For $14 you get a paved road, a restaurant at the entrance, a snack bar by the fall, water coolers throughout the park, nicely groomed garden and paved road. If you are lazy, tired, have stroller/kids or can't walk there is a shuttle to take you to and from the fall for $6. Nothing to complain about. Just know what you are going to get when you arrive. Don't expect a real hiking experience. When you get to the fall, you will be provided a life vest and you can swim there. Short 15-20 min each way.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bacong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pretty place. Nice swim in the Falls.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went here for a break from snorkeling. We got here about 9;30am and it was just past "Turtle Beach" where we were a few days earlier. We took the 1 hr hike to the falls ( you can do it in 30mins if you wanted) We stopped a lot along the way to take pictures. My daughter and wife loved the exotic flowers they got to see. We saw the traditional huts that people use to live in. There are also native people there to tell you what life was like in Hawaii. When we got to the falls , there were people in the water and lifeguards watching out and making you put on flotation devices. The water was a refreshing 65 degrees. It was cold at first but was great after that. We swam for a while and that it started getting crowded so we left. Outside of coming across some very rude people and some low class individuals this was a very nice day. After walking back to the beginning, we had lunch at the stand there. Food was good but a little expensive but that is Hawaii. I suggest to go early before the crowds get there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice, but not worth the fee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The credit card machine was not working to buy tickets, but the lady working the booth was nice and worked with us. We were under a time crunch, so took a tram to the waterfall, getting a quick tour spiel on the way. The waterfall was pretty, but average in size...Hawaii has some that are much bigger. My daughter and wife got into the waterfall pool and I have a couple of good waterfall pics. They did not last long in the water and to get out shortly thereafter...recommend water socks/shoes for the rocky bottom.

On the walk back, there are many places to go off and see various plants and flowers. Also saw quite a few interesting birds. The path is paved, but overall, the place didn't impress us too much. Next time, we will bring good shoes to hike to some of the other waterfalls on the island.

I did find in research that Waimea Falls is one of the few waterfalls on Oahu that is accessible by a paved trail (or shuttle), so keep that in mind if you have small children or need an accessibility-friendly waterfall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens and Easy Walking Paths”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a lovely spot with a great collection of flora from all over the tropics. If you are a birder, then there were some interesting songbirds and the uncommon, native 'Alae'ula (Hawaiian Moorhen) in a pond near the visitor center.

The arboretum collection is very impressive. This is a great place to get pictures of tropical plants and trees. Most of the walkways are shaded and follow along a small, rocky stream. I really recommend taking the Helliconia and Ginger garden walk to see some really spectacular flowers, but bring some bug spray because the skeeters are voracious!

In a picnic shelter along the path, a Hawaiian lady sat pounding kapa - which is a soft, linen like fabric made from the inner bark of local trees. She talked about her native heritage and beliefs as she worked sprinkling water and pounding the material with a wooded mallet-like utensil. Making kapa is a long, arduous process. We sat and listened to her talk about teaching her grandchildren native traditions and about their heritage. It was magical. She let us touch a finished piece of cloth and I was surprised how silky it was.

At the end of the trail, there was a lovely tall waterfall and deep lagoon. You could swim there, but everyone had to have on a life preserver. Earlier, when we looked down at the stream from a bridge, we had noticed it was a bit cloudy, which we thought was unusual since it flowed through a huge natural watershed. When we saw all the bodies bobbing in the pool, it was obvious where the murkiness was coming from. We didn't bring bathing suits, but I'm not sure I would've gone in anyway, but that's just me.

At the base of the falls, there was a rock you could sit on as the falls poured on your head. THAT looked pretty cool! People took turns sitting in that spot. One thing to know is that there isn't a "beach" - it's all rocks surrounding the pool, so be sure to bring water shoes.

The admission cost to the gardens and waterfall is $15, but you can walk around the eateries and shops and picnic grounds without paying. That in itself is nice. Parking is tough - you may have to walk a bit to get to the visitor center.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waimea Valley also viewed

 

Been to Waimea Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing