We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful! Great for families!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waimea Valley

Waimea Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Go Oahu Card
Ranked #5 of 57 things to do in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Hawaiʻiʻs Living Culture in Waimea Valley, deeply rooted in authentic Hawaiian History, Culture, Spirituality and Tradition. Waimea Valley is a world apart from Waikiki, be in the quiet of nature, beautiful flowers, rare plants, cultural sites and a beautiful waterfall for swimming.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Great for families!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We loved this place! Beautiful rainforest with paved walking trails. Great place for picnics, swimming, and lots of educational activities. Wonderful gift shop too.

Helpful?
Thank Shalene222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    323
    99
    29
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stunning gardens, friendly birds, beautiful property, lovely waterfall and friendly staff and volunteers. I liked taking the vehicle upto the top and wandering down to the entrance, lots of photo opportunities. Next time, I would definately take my bathers/swimmers/togs for a swim and a picnic for lunch to have in what I call the 'enchanted garden'.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacqstar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Hey Fauna, Where's Flora?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Waimea Valley is very green. Lots of plant life within this huge botanical garden. But flowers are in short supply at this attraction. The self-guided tour takes you along various paths, and past replicas of ancient Hawaiian dwellings. The 3/4-mile, hike ends at a waterfall that you can swim up to. The water is 30 feet deep in most areas, so make sure you can swim or float. Lifeguards are present and life vests and other floatation devices are also available.

At $15 per adult, the admission to Waimea Valley is high, considering that there's not a whole lot to see. If you don't want to walk to the falls, you can catch a ride on an electric cart for $4 (one way). A gift shop, snack bar and restrooms are all located at the visitor center, before you enter the paid area.

Because swimable waterfalls are hard to find on Oahu, only go to Waimea Falls if you really, really want to swim up to the falls. Otherwise, the $15 is a waste of money. The Foster Botanical Garden in Honolulu is much better, and cheaper at only $5 per person.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jvptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camellia10
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“It's a Botanical Garden-not just a waterfall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you go to the Waimea Valley only to see the waterfall, you will probably be disappointed, depending on when you go. Right now (November 2012) they've had very little rain, so the waterfall is a trickle. To me, this didn't matter. I love going to visit botanical gardens, and this is a good one!

Everything is well marked and labeled, so you can learn what kinds of plants you're looking at and driving by.

There are some highly maintained areas and some areas that need to be weeded (the hibiscus garden comes to mind), but there are lots of beautiful foliage areas and blooming plants to see. I really liked the begonia and fern hill, which I think many people probably miss. It is fun to see a lot of plants that grow as houseplants growing"wild."

The gardens are organized by plant type and geographic area. If you actually read some of the signs instead of sprinting for the waterfall, you'll learn some things.

You will see weeds, but can you imagine tending a park this big and keeping it totally weed-free? I think they do a decent job, and they probably work area by area. By the time they get back to the beginning, there are a lot of weeds to deal with!

Some tips if you're going:

1) Take a bottle of water or buy one. it is hot and humid

2) Wear shoes with a good grip on the bottom--tennis shoes or Keen-types. The path to the right is slippery, but that's where you see the most stuff.

3) Rain showers pop up frequently, so be ok with getting a little wet or take a raincoat or umbrella

4) The bugs were not bad while we were there, but I think they can be.

5) If you can't walk very well you can take the little shuttle. It costs $6 round trip. There are hills to walk. I think it would be worth the drive just to see some of the gardens, albeit quickly!

6) The gift shop actually has a nice collection of books about Hawaii--the only books I've seen since I got here! I bought several.

7) Stop at the snack bar and get one of the locally made popsicles on your way out. SO tasty. I got the pineapple vanilla.

Kids might be bored here. Or they might not. Depends on if they like plants.

When we were there you couldn't swim because of the lack of water. After learning about the bacterial disease that is in the water, I don't think I would have wanted to swim anyway. There is a life guard there. You can also rent or borrow life jackets. (I don't know if you rent or borrow--because we couldn't swim, I didn't investigate.)

It's a really pretty park and a way to actually stroll through the "rainforest" conditions of the north shore.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank camellia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice simple adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nothing bad to report about this place. Like others have said, its an easy hike (mostly paved) and you get a slight glimpse into tribal life. The water fall is subject to mother nature and so we too saw only a smaller water cascade instead of the waterfall we had hoped for. The water was refreshing and we still got to sit under the water that was falling. Nice, peaceful, and relaxing. Half day at most.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waimea Valley also viewed

 

Been to Waimea Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing