We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT MY THANG!”

Matsumoto Shave Ice
Ranked #1 of 10 Dessert in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,222 reviews
653 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,045 helpful votes
“NOT MY THANG!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Obviously being in Hawaii and visiting the North Shore, I wanted to go to Matsumoto! But Sorry Shave Ice lovers....I don't think I am a Shave Ice fan!!!! I just don't get the whole shave ice thing, it's ice grinded down and then drenched in 'flavoured' syrups which frankly don't taste of the flavours they are claiming to be! I think this is a personal thing, as the queues at this place were massive, people obviously love shave ice. The only positive I can say is that it cooled me down, but then again so would a nice cold bottle of water.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Saintlysinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    515
    296
    66
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“long lines move quickly”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

the lines are long, but the good ice technicians are fast! if they have an order taker working the line, the wait isn't unbearable. the only thing is that there is a stinky area outside in the back by the dumpster. no pleasant place to pack down the ice before getting in the car

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank c n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get there early”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stopped in here for a shaved ice early one morning while touring the north shore. We were told by the locals that this is "the place". Don't blink or you'll miss it. Matsumoto's is a small little place that blends in with it's surroundings. The shaved ice was awesome - probably the best I've ever eaten. Lots of flavor options and they offer ice cream in the middle of the ice - yum!!! I got a large but the small would have been plenty big. Buy a t-shirt - they are really unique and designed by local artists. I hear it gets REALLY busy later in the day. We stopped in around 0930-1000 and only a few other people were there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ottographwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Shave ice rules!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stopped here while in Haliewa. The line was long but worth the wait. I got just shave ice - tropical trio - but you can add ice cream, azucki beans, and condensed milk. On a hot day this treat was refreshing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiyatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
852 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 669 helpful votes
“Kids love it!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have to admit, I know nothing about shaved ice and there are probably as many options in Hawaii as there beaches. However, my son lives there and my granddaughters insisted this was the best and we all know grandkids know what they are talking about. The long lines are certainly a tale tale sign that they have something going for them. It is excellent. If you doubt me, check out the smiles on my granddaughters faces. So if you find yourself near Matsumoto's grocery, drop in, enjoy the variety and then you too can write a review.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tennessee50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsumoto Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Matsumoto Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing