We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very accomodating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Haleiwa

Cafe Haleiwa
Ranked #24 of 88 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
seattle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very accomodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good food. Beer and wine available 2 doors down to bring back to cafe. Good food. Very accomodating of us and fussy grandchild. We will be back next visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vinoturistico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    95
    27
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service was friendly and timely, but the lunch was just average. The atmosphere was grungy. The four of us wondered why we had been told not to miss this place. Maybe it's better for breakfast. I wouldn't make an effort to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank macsback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
“Great breakfast/brunch joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very friendly service, and the breakfast burrito with home fries is a must try. Wish I found it before my last day in Oahu - there were quite a few menu items I wanted to try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Whenever I am on the North Shore I have to stop at the Cafe Haleiwa! Breakfast is fantastic and they keep the coffee cup filled. Not your 4-star resturant in Waikiki, but better food and at much better prices. Parking can be a bit of a problem, but it is well worth the wait and I look forward to eating there again in less than a week!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lasvegasretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the amazing dinners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I tried Cafe Haleiwa's dinner for the first time on Valentine's day and were amazed at the sophistication of their menu. . We both had the soup which was reminiscent of a hot Vichyssoise with truffles, something you would find in a fine dining venue. My monchong fish with light miso sauce was cooked to perfection and melted in my mouth,very tasty. My valentine tried the braised short ribs which was less stellar and more like mother's pot roast in flavor. We shared the desert of strawberries and some sort of delicate pastry to dip in dark chocolate fondue, yummy! Service was friendly and attentive, Our wine came from the wine shop next door,all wines priced under $20. No corkage fee,probably the gift/wine store is family-owned. Beer available also.
Only open for dinner Wed. - Sun. Be sure to call for reservations and ask for a table outdoors for maximum rustic ambience. This is our new favorite North Shore restaurant!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunset808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Haleiwa also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Haleiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing