We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for local & tourists alike”
Review of Luibueno's

Luibueno's
Ranked #16 of 89 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Amara Rd.
Transit: For Northbound travelers you will need to get off the bus at Kamehameha HWY + Opp Emerson RD (Stop ID # 2241). If you are traveling Southbound you will need to get off at Kamehameha HWY + Haleiwa RD. (Stop ID # 2240). For additional information on holidays or possible detours please refer to www.thebus.org
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice place for local & tourists alike”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Great happy hour specials & Heidi makes the drinks right. Owner very nice & chatty with all.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TIMOTHY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    152
    52
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laie, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
“Extremely tasty food and great service - a wonderful restaurant!”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We ordered the Paella Valenciana (seafood with saffron spiced rice) and ahi enchiladas. Both were extremely tasty. The service was superb - the waiter was very knowledgeable. This was our first visit - we'll be back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MFW96762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I'm not a big fan of Mexican food, but we were starving. This was one of our better meals on the island. I had the ahi bean burrito and the flavors were very good. The sangria was also tasty.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raissae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stuff! Great place!”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We ate here Tuesday, Oct. 18, 2011. The place is beautiful, the service is excellent, the food is delicious! I had the Gobernator tacos and they were great, my wife had the baja beef quisedilla, which was even better! So glad we got to visit there. Two bits of advice--1) drive the windward side of the island to get there, don't just jump on the H3. The views are incredible! 2) the area surrounding Luibueno's is a fabulous artist community. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLYBYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrid Experience”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Family of three on an early Saturday evening, first and last visit, we had the worst restaurant experience, ever! To begin, there was some confusion by the hostess on where to seat us. The restaurant was just getting patrons trickling in for dinner, and there was plenty of wait staff roaming and also goofing around. Once settled, ice water, chips and salsa arrived in a timely manner. Still, we received no introduction of a server, as we looked through the menu and dipped into the chips and salsa. By this time, nearly fifteen minutes passed. Awhile later, the hostess seated two men on the table next to us. Swiftly, they were served up water, chips and salsa, and a waiter was immediately on the spot to take their drink and menu orders. For the duration of our visit to this restaurant, never has my family felt so invisible, disrespected and discriminated upon. In what I began to notice in this predominantly caucasian run and patronized establishment, maybe it was the wrong place to be for an Asian family in Hawaii . Perhaps we must have missed a sign outside that said, "Haoles Only". Needless to say, we picked up and left. On the way out, the hostess obliviously remarked, "come again!" Then again, maybe there are just ignorant people working there, and with a waiter outside with the hostess for no good reason, they lamely tried to apologize to us, after we replied to them what just transpired. First impression is the lasting impression and even if the food were offered free to us, the poor experience with this restaurant was enough toxin to swallow for the evening.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corbin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luibueno's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing