We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keiki's great . . . management clueless!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haleiwa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ke Iki Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Keiki's great . . . management clueless!!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2005

After reading a few reviews, as well as Greg's responses to a few negative reviews, I'd like add my experience for others to learn from.

Ke Iki Beach Bungalows is nice little place. You get a pretty realistic North Shore experience. You are right on the beach. The grounds are quiet and fairly private. The Ke Iki website is a fair representation of the location. If you go in the winter be prepared to be surrounded by surfers, which if you are one of them is great. I've gone the past four years to surf the North Shore during the winter and have a great time. I have dealt with Ke Iki twice, no problem the first year, but the second year he lost our reservation.

However, If you take the time to read the reviews, the problem is quite apparent and consistent across the negative reviews. For the price, you're getting what you pay for. The problem is that Greg is pretty sloppy and unreliable. I was shocked when I went into the office to pay; the guy's office was a mess. His organizational skills suck beyond belief, so it's no wonder he blows it when it comes to keeping track of reservations, arrival dates and what room you want.

In speaking with North Shore locals, it’s quite common for places to "conveniently" lose reservations if they can find someone else to commit to a longer stay.

I think if someone a little more competent were at the helm, these situations would be avoided. The North Shore is a laid back place, but the doesn't give businesses up there the excuse to be careless and unprofessional.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
32 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ke Iki Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, November 29, 2005
As an owner of Keiki Beach Bungalows it is nearly always that I read and hear guest comments with a sense of pride. Any negative part of any review however is taken seriously. Any problem a guest may have with reservations is a call to action by management. By the end of January ’06 Greg will be using a computerized reservation system; the system should eliminate double bookings or lost reservations. Meanwhile reservations are being rechecked and verified by Greg to insure 100% accuracy. We do not have a policy of treating any reservation differently. Length of stay or profession is not given preferential treatment.The renovation of the Bungalows taking place over the past several years is complete. Along with improved guest accommodations Greg and Annie now have a roomier home with a separate office for a more efficient work space.
Thank you for your input, we regret any negative experience you may have had at Keiki Beach Bungalows.
Aloha,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    44
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
101
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 21, 2005

My wife and I had no idea what to expect when we booked a stay at the Ke Iki Beach Bungalows except we were getting a room close to the beach. Wow! We ended up in a room ON the beach and the atmosphere was Idyllic. The spectacular natural beauty was overwhelming and the place was clean with an authentic Hawaiian feel. Been all over Hawaii and nothing compares...Thank You!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Al
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2005

My husband and I recently stayed in the Gardenia bungalow at Ke Iki. This bungalow is facing the ocean and has one bedroom with a single bed in the living room. The bungalow had a television with many stations including HBO and a telephone. It did not have a safe, but we didn't have any problems. Ke Iki has a very relaxed atmoshere. Greg and his lovely wife were very kind. I recommend this place to anyone wanting a nice, relaxing place to stay on the north shore of Oahu.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank loves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2005

We made reservations to stay at Keiki Bungalows 7 months in advance (through phone calls and emails to Greg) and were confirmed for the first week of Dec for 8 days. One week before we arrived, we called to confirm and Greg told us he did not have us down (I even forwarded him an email he sent to us confirming the RIGHT dates). It turns out he gave our bungalow to a Pro Surfer who was staying for more than one week. Luckily we had called him first or else we would have been stranded. After a few panicked phone calls, Greg finally gave us a referral to stay somewhere else, but we ended up finding a place on our own. Reading some of these reviews (and talking to locals), it seems it is Management's policy during the Triple Crown Surfing Contest (North Shore's most popular time) to give the bungalows to crew/surfers or anyone able to stay for more than one week (even if that means bumping those of us who had confirmed months in advance). Will not go back and have told otehrs not to go.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank cath71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 3, 2005

Ke Iki is a beautiful place to stay. We are going back soon, and staying longer....

We loved it.

Ke Iki is a very comfortable, nicely furnished "condo" style set of adjoining suites right on a beautiful sandy beach - Ke Iki beach. It's not a Sheraton or a Mauna Kea. No pool, no golf course, no room service, and no A/C. Ke Iki doesn't get fancy, they stick to the basics, one of which happens to be the North Shore of Oahu....

We had our 27th anniversary there, and thoroughly relaxed and enjoyed ourselves for 8 days. We had a sense of complete privacy when we wanted it, and also had the opportunity to make friends in the neighboring rooms when we chose. The units share a large patio where we had communal bbqs a few times.

Our only complaint - our cooking knives were dull (isn't that true in all "suite" style lodging? why is that?) ....and it was only a problem one night when we were slicing through some raw fish skin. Had we mentioned it, I'm sure Greg (the manager) would have gotten us a decent sharpener.

It was absolutely a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 13, 2005

We arrived feeling very low on energy and with sore necks. We scheduled a massage with Maureen who does a beachside therapy on the property. She was awesom and cheap. Maureen really knows how to fix you up. We were ever so appreciative of her services. We highly recommend giving her a call upon arrival.

Thanks Maureen for extending yourself to us...much Aloha Tiffany

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 29, 2005

We had a great time at the cottages. One of the highlights was being able to have a massages with Maureen outside listening to the waves.

We will definately be back

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haleiwa
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,968 reviews
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
#1 of 1 in Sunset Beach
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ke Iki Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ke Iki Beach Bungalows

Property: Ke Iki Beach Bungalows
Address: 59-579 Ke Iki Rd, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712-9628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Haleiwa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Haleiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Bungalows on Oahu's Beautiful North Shore. Guests enjoy romantic sunsets on an acre and a half of palm-fringed beachfront land. All beachfront bungalows have beautiful ocean and sunset views. Ke Iki Beach Bungalows, a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of this Hawaiian paradise. If you've been dreaming about getting away to paradise, Ke Iki Beach is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ke Iki Beach Bungalows Hotel Haleiwa
Ke Iki Beach Bungalows Hawaii/Oahu - Haleiwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing