We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to watch the sunset and surfers”
Review of Sunset Beach Park

Sunset Beach Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.87*
and up
Oahu Circle Island Small Group Tour
More Info
$124.61*
and up
Ultimate Circle Island Adventure with Waimea Waterfall
More Info
$420.00*
and up
Luxury Convertible Tour to Oahu's North Shore
Ranked #3 of 57 things to do in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best place to watch the sunset and surfers”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Sunset is a great beach and well known to anyone in Oahu but its on a nice strech of beach so it never felt crowded. Make it part of your plan to sit there one day and watch the sunset and the surfers. It is Hawaii,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeremy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    219
    24
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visited Sunset Beach in November 2013. We went early to avoid the crowd and easily got a parking space. We stopped at the Coffee Bean in the Sunset Beach Foodland grocery store and enjoyed sipping it on the beach while watching the big waves roll in. Clean restroom facilities across the street.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kilgore_Trout_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed 8 nights in a treehouse overlooking Sunset and it was as an amazing spot to spend time at. The power in the ocean with the big swell is amazing, and when the surf is clean, it is an awesome place to be. Great sand, blue waters and easy to spend an afternoon at. It'd be my pick in terms of beaches on the North Shore as far as picturesque beaches go, and is probably only beaten on Oahu with a couple of the Windward Coast beaches.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieAssault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“we spent an afternoon on this beach”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

drive north on past sunset beach and take your first right - drive past a homes on a winding road to find an area where you find tons of parking and a secret not sl well known entrance way to this awesome beach!
lots of greenery shade and watch out because the waves break very close to the ocean where we were. the perfect trade wind you keep you cool on a hut sunny day. The beach is more of a ribbon of sand and I hear that on stormy days the waves come right up to the million dollar houses we lodged ourselves n front of. probably our best beach experience in the past few years

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank canadian175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
1 review
“Can't beat the view...”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

One of the best places on Oahu to watch a sunset (though there are many). Easy to park and not crowded at all.

Sharks Cove is nearby so you can get in a day of snorkeling, then grab some food at the Shrimp truck's before the sunsets...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing