We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to try Opal!!!”
Review of Opal Thai - MOVED

Opal Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Full service BYOB
Spreckels, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You have to try Opal!!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have traveled to the North Shore several times on vacation, but this was our first time at Opal. The place was packed! We were told we'd have about a 30 minute wait for a table. 45 to 50 minutes later, we were about to leave. Opal appeared outside and greeted each group of guests to let us know how long till we would be seated. About 5 minutes later, he escorted us inside to our table and gave us menus. The young couple seated next to us assured us although we had menus, Opal would decide what we were going to eat. Opal ran through a list of ingredients (cilantro, onion, garlic, shrimp, chicken, duck, etc.) asked for our likes, dislikes and any food allergies and made sure the beer we brought with us was kept cold until we were ready to enjoy it with our meal. Our food arrived and it was delicious! The service was great, too! We concluded it was worth the wait, but next time we would order to go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVFarmGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    59
    15
    6
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommend - yummy food, great experience”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's not a food truck, for starters - it's a sort of little strip mall across from a grocery store and next to a sports bar.

It's not the absolute single best Thai I've ever had in my life (I married a Thai-food-obsessive, so my experience is far more extensive than I'd ever wanted it to be), but it's in the top 5. The environment is what makes the experience, though. There's a wait, because it's a small place. So you're standing outside on the covered porch, breathing the delicious north shore air and Thai food scent, and everyone starts chatting with each other. You'll meet people with great stories, tourists, military, locals. If the wait gets a little long, you can pop into the little sports bar next door and grab a beer to sip while you wait.

Then, once you're seated, the owner comes up, finds out what you've liked and not liked in the past, and - if you're open to it - "prescribes" the dish of his that he thinks you'll like the most. It's fun and he's pretty accurate.

They do use fingerbowls as water cups, which threw us at first, but just added to the overall fun, irreverent, extroverted ambiance.

Stop off at Matsumoto for some shaved ice on the way out. Great place to make an evening of it. Definite thumbs up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R. D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolute bummer!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Planned our trip to the North Shore with a stop here for dinner. First mistake... do not look for a food truck and address is incorrect. Try calling the phone...nothing. Stopped and asked and we were directed to a unit only to find it closed for the holidays with no indication of when they will open again. Suggest owner updates profile of business...perhaps Yelp had better info

Helpful?
3 Thank MaryAnnS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
302 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Worth the drive to the North Shore!!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Saw this restaurant on Triple D and had to try it out! Drove to the North Shore from Waikiki on Monday only to find out it's closed Mondays. Went back Tuesday and were not disappointed! The owner took away our menus and proceeded to bring us an amazing surprise meal! So good; lettuce wraps, drunken noodles and curry. Great food, fun atmosphere, lots of locals. Overall this was one of the meal-highlights of our trip. While there stop in at the Clark Little gallery.

Helpful?
1 Thank BoomChickaCUBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
257 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great food, fun experience!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMAZING!!!!!!! This was our second meal after arriving and was picked because of the great yelp reviews. I won't bore you with minute details, the bottom line is: if you want good, fresh Thai food with the cool experience of owner Opal helping you choose by asking you a few questions, then THIS IS THE PLACE. The wait is totally worth it and the BYOB (which you can buy next door) is great. One if the BEST Thai restaurants we've had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niloofar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing