We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. Meal. EVER.”
Review of Opal Thai - MOVED

Opal Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Full service BYOB
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best. Meal. EVER.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were recently on vacation in Oahu and we were not leaving the island without stopping at Opal Thai. We saw it featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives and read the reviews and knew we'd have to stop by for dinner. I've never seen better reviews for a place to eat. Opal Thai did not disappoint and it was seriously the best meal we've ever had. My oldest daughter has eaten Thai food many times, I've had it once and my husband and other daughter had never had it. As many of you already know, the owner will come out, take your menus and ask where you're from, what kinds of proteins you like, your preference of spiciness in foods, etc. Everything he brought to us was so amazing. He was so nice and humble and explained how we should eat the dishes. My oldest daughter said it was the best Thai food ever and for her and the rest of us it was the best meal we've ever had. Period. The prices were very reasonable. Wish we'd brought some of our own wine in but next time we will and there will be a next time! We went back to our hotel and told the others traveling with us about Opal Thai so they had to go to. They all agreed it was the best meal they'd ever had also. We are already planning our next visit to Oahu and you know we will be stopping by to eat here several times on our trip...don't care that it's 40 minutes from our hotel! It's worth the trip. By the way, stop at Matsumoto's down the street for a sweet treat of shaved ice after dinner...another yummy place on the North Shore. Look for Opal Thai in the Longs store parking lot...very easy to find. So, if you're in Oahu, no matter which part, you have to plan a trip here. You won't regret it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsWolfcry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    59
    15
    6
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best, most unique meal we had during our 13 days in Hawaii!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Opal Thai is the kind of place you have to comment on because it was soooo good and such a unique experience, but you hate to let everyone in on the secret because you don't want it to change next time you go. Opal certainly could be destined for GREAT things though. Not only is he a fantastic chef who is obviously so knowledgeable about food, and flavors, he knows people and figures out what the perfect blend of spice, temperature, types of food, etc will be for each table. Truly amazing and delicious! We had a group of 6 people ranging in age from 74-15, Opal came and talked with us, asked lots of questions about our likes and dislikes and ended up sending out about 8-9 different dishes (family style, appetizers and main courses) and honestly we all loved (and almost licked the plate) of every single one of them! Even 2 of them of which we had originally told him we'd like to probably "stay away from" eating!
He wanted to prove to us (and he sure did) that even food you don't think you would like, if prepared properly, is delicious. Opal couldn't have been a nicer guy, and the meal couldn't have been anymore delicious or enjoyable. Despite the fact that I don't think there is even 1 picture on the wall and it is located in a "strip mall" type location, Opal and his team get our vote for best meal experience while in Hawaii (oh, best value too. We brought our own wine because they don't server it there, but for 6 of us our meal was under $140!) can't beat it! Thanks Opal. Cheers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Opal Thai is a must stop if you are on the North Shore”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Opal Thai was everything its cracked up to be. Sit back and let Opal entertain you and your table to a fantastic meal based on his determination of what you like (Protein, spice, sauce, prior Thai Food experience, etc). I stopped by twice in one week and loved it all. Drunken Noodles were good, green curry, tofu, duck dish was tasty, spinach salad with peanut dressing was yummy and the lychee iced tea was great too! Definitely would return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDfrmCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Opal is a magnificent chef!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Opal's is a MUST! I have only eaten Thai food a few times, so I wasn't sure what to order from the menu.......Opal comes to the table takes away the menu and begins asking us what type of spices we liked. It was like he wrote a prescription for food and then created a wonderful meal! The very best meal we had in Hawaii! This is a must for everyone....he will create a meal you will LOVE!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOVETOTRAVELFROMBAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Thai”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely some of the best Thai food I have ever eaten! Opal will custom build your order according to your likes and dislikes and create a memorable meal. You MUST eat here. It is BYOB.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ahoeprich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opal Thai also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing