We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast burritos”
Review of Kono's Restaurant

Kono's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Kono's is a family owned restaurant on the North Shore of Oahu serving breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Kono's is a gathering place for locals, surfers, and tourists, a genuine North Shore experience. Our Kalua Pork is cooked daily for over 12 hours and is served in a variety of breakfast and lunch dishes.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great breakfast burritos”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Convenient location on North Shore of Hawaii in Haleiwa. Opens early (7:00 am) and offers made-to-order takeout. Breakfast burritos were decent size but not cheap. Kalua pig burrito was excellent, with plenty of tender pork and eggs and not overstuffed with potatoes. Regular salsa was fresh but bland. Try the pineapple-jalapeno version which was outstanding.
Great first stop on way to beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ozone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    116
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Maybe the best pork sandwich ever”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We just happened to stop at Kono's, in Haleiwa on the North Shore of Oahu, for lunch. It's a little spot, a few inside tables and a few outside, and a service counter. The staff were friendly, especially the young lady who was excited to see fellow Coloradans. The pork sandwich on a fresh roll was absolutely wonderful. I can't really say anything about how it was prepared, since I ate it too quickly and didn't ask, but it was perfectly cooked and wonderfully flavored. An unexpected treat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike_in_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best breakfast burrito ever!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place is awesome to go to for breakfast while you are in the North shore. This place had almost like a tex-mex take on breakfast, to were they had burritos and salsa for breakfast. I forgot the name but I had a bacon and egg burrito. The bacon was crispy and plentiful! They packed SO much food into one burrito! As well as the eggs the burrito also had potatoes (home fries if you will). I was truly amazed about how much was packed in that burrito, definitely filling and definitely delicious! I can say this was in the top breakfasts I have ever had. My only regret is that I wish I was able to go again before I left.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
covington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cool place to stop”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Driving through we stopped at Konos. They have a cool little spot in Haleiwa. I got a bagel sandwich and my husband had a burrito. They were both very good with generous helpings of avocado, which I love! I also thought it was cool that they give discounts for different things like if your coming/going that day with an airline boarding pass, law enforcement, a Kono pig tattoo lol, etc. They also offer merchandise. They also had a hilarious picture of Ice Cube (the rapper) on the ice machine on their soda station, hey its the little things! Will go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alyssa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Always on our places to stop while visiting. Best breakfast to get and go out adventure. Locol burrito and special sauce is a must.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kono's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing