We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Macky's”

macky's kahuku sweet shrimp truck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love Macky's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Every time we go to Oahu we have to make a visit to Macky's Shrimp Truck, this year was no exception. Wonderful as usual, big juicy shrimp

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeltaBoy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    200
    52
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Garlic Shrimp!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I agree with others the garlic butter shrimp was outstanding. I spilt the meal with a friend for lunch. It was the prefect amount for both of us. Give it a try!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHerron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, Sc, Usa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food - something to experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

These shrimp trucks are just what their names imply - old box trucks parked (mostly permanently) alongside the highway. The truck is the kitchen and picnic tables provide the ambiance. Macky's dinners were $12 when we visited. You can find coupons for $2 off in some of the tourist booklets. Ample food, very tasty. If you want a fairly light lunch two people can share a plate. They ran out of coconut shrimp - one in our party of 7 got the last one. Buttery garlic shrimp was good. Lemon shrimp was too "lemony". The sell canned drinks - don't know how much. They have porta-potties and an open air sink with running water, liquid soap and paper towel dispenser to complete the experience. You might want to wash before you eat but you surely will want to after you eat as you have to pull the shells off the shrimp for many of the dishes. Pretty messy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 21degree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Serendipitous shrimp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Heading for the north shore at lunch time, I came across Macky's shrimp truck. Lots of people were eating there (must be good... wait, they all got off the same bus); so, after a quick glance at these reviews, I stepped up and, with no wait, grabbed an order of lemon pepper shrimp. Nothing fancy, but just perfect for a quick lunch (with rice, small salad, and fresh pineapple from the nearby Dole farm)-- way better than what I might have grabbed at the convenience store next door! Lots of shaded picnic tables, and a wash basin (with soap!) enhanced the comfort level about buying lunch from what seemed to be a slightly off-the-beaten-path truck. Plus, it's outdoor dining and it's Hawai'i! Nice start to a leisurely north shore tour.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJGfromVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, clean, bad service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the food at Macky's. The seating area was clean, but the service was horrible. The woman who helped us was rude and crouchy. When we asked for extra napkins, we were pointed toward the out buildings even though the front seat of the food truck was full of napkins. We were made to feel like we were asking too much. The food was as good as the other trucks we ate at, the only plus was the cleanliness of the area and the presentation of the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maliahsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed macky's kahuku sweet shrimp truck also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing