We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
28
19
7
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
19
7
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssharks coveacross the roadgrocery storethe kitchennorth shoresmall beachmy favorite placerental carliving roomtwo nightslaid backsunset beachjohnfoodlandhouseoahuproperty
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 66 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have to write a bad review. I am still waiting on being refunded for a day and a half by the owner. I also feel I was duped into staying here by the wonderful review I got of North Shore, bicycling, hiking, snorkeling. Nope. The waves were so high at this point of the season and yes I should probably have done my homework but still, don't lie to me to get me to stay here. The place itself was ok, mostly full of surfers, the bus is right outside the door and is pretty reliable. Apart from that there's nothing to do. Not the same North Shore I was told about (Understand it's my FIRST time to Hawaii coming from Europe). A day trip here is all you need, unless you surf, which I do not. Still upset at the owner and the owners son reaction to me when I asked for a refund. I won't recommend nor will I be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

After reading the reviews of this and other places in the north shore we decided to go there and see for ourselves before booking a room. We’ve been backpacking for 7 months and we are used to check the places where we stay before booking a night.

There are not many places to stay (budget places) around Sharks cove, waymea bay, sunset beach, pipeline beach, three tables beach.

We checked several and Sarks cove rentals was by far the cleanest, most comfortable, best located and quieter.

We end up staying there 7 nights and it was like staying at home. The staff and John the manager are very friendly and they are always around if you need anything. They are very helpful and friendly.

The room and the house was clean, spotless and nicely decorated, these guys have a good taste!

We cooked everyday and saw amazing sunsets from kitchen and the porch!

Our room was in the main house at the front but we saw all the rooms and they are all clean and have the same standard.

I don't have anything negative to say about the place or our stay. Yes, we saw a cockroach one day but even palaces have them.

I forgot the location, the house is right opposite the best snorkelling place in the north shore. Swim with colourful fishes and turtles.

I hope to one day go back and stay there again, I give them a 10/10

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidboleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at Sharks Cove Rentals for 3 nights in mid-May. After driving around trying to find accommodation for over an hour, we called into Sharks Cove and immediately felt we had found a great place to stay. The location is amazing, right across the road from a great snorkeling beach, and a few minutes walk to Foodland. Sharks Cove Grill is nearby, which has great food at a very good price. Free snorkeling gear was great as we didn't have our own.

We first looked at the Backpackers which was horrible, really limited amenities, full of odd characters and seemed very dodgy and unsafe. Turtle Bay is lovely but not in our budget. Sharks Cove fitted nicely in the middle and we were really happy with the facilities. There were no bugs in our room or anywhere for that matter (like other people have said in their reviews).

The owner wasn't there but gave us full instructions over the phone and directed us as to where to find our room key. Our room was huge and very comfortable. The free washer/dryer came in handy and the BBQs were an added bonus too. The prices are quite high, considering you're not in Waikiki, but due to the limited range of accommodation on the North Shore, we were happy to pay. The kitchen is fully stocked with crockery, pots and pans etc. We had everything we needed to cook a meal.

I would definitely recommend this property, more so for couples. We had no problems with payment and simply used our credit card. We will definitely go back on our next visit to the North Shore.

Room Tip: Room 101 is huge, has a lounge/TV area as well as a dining table, bar fridge, toaster, coffee maker and electric kettle.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosynMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Let face it . If you don't mind the fear of local drug users/losers then stay here. Don't mined you car been gone through.
Bugs, bugs, bugs.
There are better condos down the road you can stay if you plan ahead.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelerAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days we stayed in 2 different rooms first was the private suite room it was clean comfortable nice breezes older amenties but you find thats the way hawaii is in most places unless you fork out the big bucks but it was fine none the less the kitchen area was spacious good facilities there was a few bbq's around the place so that was handy if you wanted to use them its right across the road from shark cove great views of the sunset close to haleiwa town and pipeline and waimea bay

The second room we got was just a single room and very pricey for something that size and standard didnt feel there was any value in it but hey Hawaii is an expensive place so be prepared to dish it out but it did have a nice communal verandah there were however allot of ants and bug in our room but its only as bigger deal as you want it to be just keep smelly soaps etc in your bag think the scent was attracting them

Pros
Close to supermarket
biking distance to pipeline
free snorkel gear big plus
free spear fishing poles
very close to the seaside

Cons
Quite limited parking there sometimes isnt enought for all the people staying there which can be very annoying when you want to relax and not search for parking

The hotel is not always attended which can be annoying when you need things the groundsman has special needs which is fantastic they give someone employment oppurtunity but he can be snappy and rude and not easy to ask questions to there generally arent any straight answers

All in all if your looking for the hotel experience this is not it if your lookin to be a bit self reliant figure things out as you go do it hawaii is an expensive place so generally the value for the price can be hard to see but in comparison to waikiki and other locations the north shore trumps it all in price and its not an overcrowded touristy ses pool a much better way to see the island

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews