We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Shave Ice with many flavors”
Review of Aoki's Shave Ice - CLOSED

Aoki's Shave Ice
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Shave Ice with many flavors”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This was our first taste of Shave Ice on the Island and it was delicious! I chose the preselected "blue Hawaii" combination of flavors and got the option with beans and ice cream at the bottom, which was a tasty addition to the flavored ice. My wife chose a three flavored option with blueberry, cherry, and the local passion fruit flavor (lilikoi), with the passion fruit being her favorite. Just be patient when visiting Aoki's, as the wait on a hot afternoon was about 30 min. It was Memorial Day, though so that cold have contributed to the crowd. But after the wait the Shave Ice tasted so good and was very refreshing. I would certainly go here again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    38
    20
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“BEST”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is where the locals go and less of a line. This is a mom and pop shop, so we like to give our business there and they have the best shaved ice with ice cream in town

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jarnzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place was just as good as Matsumoto's. Take off your tourist goggles and try something different. They had great selection and didn't up-charge me for the extra cup holder. shorter lines, open later. get it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ho-hum”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

After all to do about how great shave ice is, all I can say is, it's ok. Refreshing on a hot day, but certainly not the ethereal experience others compare it to. We tried it several places, and this one was good, but nothing to write home about.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Transplant_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Most Delicious & Refreshing”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Thanks to TA we knew to skip the long line at Matsomotos and stop at Aoki's. We are so glad we did - we were hot and it was so refreshing. You can order up to 3 favors per cone. Hubby thought to order a POG cone and loved it. We both got the cone guard which helped hold in the ice and made it not messy. We also ordered the vanilla ice cream in the bottom - a yummy way to end this treat. Nice to find something on Oahu that's not overpriced. V

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdatex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing