We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay on Molokai”
Review of Ke Nani Kai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ke Nani Kai
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We stayed in Ke Nani Kai 115 for a week in January 2008. It was certainly a delightful stay in this well equipped and well cared for unit. Rose Hartman, the unit's owner, has done a great job setting up a "home away from home" for visitors like us. I was particularly surprised and pleased at the personal interest she took in knowing that we were happy and all was well. She sent so much information ahead of time that was very useful even for people like us that had been to Molokai three times before. The views out of the unit are great both of the ocean and the golf course. Kaluakoi Golf Course right on the grounds is a true gem. An ocean front golf course that is reasonable in cost and easily availble to play.The unit has all the tv channels you could want, internet access that was fast and consistent, and all the gear for outdoor activities you could want. My wife and I stay in condo style lodging in a lot of places and usually have a routine of stopping at a grocery to stock up before we ever go to the resort, so we can settle in when we get there. That proved to be a bad routine this time as the unit was so well stocked that we purchased several things that were already present. I encourage anyone to check in and check out the supplies then head down to Friendly Market (and the Kanemitsu Bakery) for the persishable food and the few things not already present in 115. I almost hate to put this review in as I want the unit to be available to us but truly, Rose deserves all the business she gets. It's a great place to stay and we'll certainly try to do so again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BaRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 74 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2007

We just returned from a timeshare exchange in Unit 104, had a completely different experience from the previous reviewer. We loved the gecko (we only got one). They are considered good luck and also eat insects.
The kitchen must have been completely remodeled in the few months since his stay, because everything but the dishwasher was brand new.
Of course the manager's unit was beautiful,:she lived there, treated it as her home, she had an upstairs unit with a vaulted ceiling, and it was a 2-bedroom with a loft, so it is quite unrealistic to compare a downstairs one-bedroom timeshare unit with a larger unit that reflects pride of ownership.

In 104,the screen door was still broken, (didn't really bother us); the bathroom could have been cleaner (and harked back to the 70's, desperately needed remodeling); the German lady upstairs entertained guests every night the entire week we were there (we knew her life story and what they were having for dinner etc, etc, because the sound traveled down through the floor and through our ceiling so piercingly). I would say that the poor or entirely lacking sound insulation, and the bathroom, were the main drawbacks of this unit. I think an upstairs unit would have been quieter.
We've done a lot of timeshare trades in the past 8 years, with varying quality and satisfaction...this was not the best, but we've certainly had much, much worse!
The previous reviewer will never want to visit a timeshare in the south of France , or probably anywhere in Europe, as well as probably 50-60% of available timeshares anywhere, if he was that dissatisfied with Ke Nani Kai.
At any rate, we only spent evenings and nights in the unit as we spent the days touring the island, enjoying the beautiful beaches, snorkeling, swimming, trying various restaurants, and in general enjoying the peace and tranquility of beautiful Molokai.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

# 115 Ke Nani Kai Condo on the Island of Molokai, Hawaii, has to be the best treasured Condo to stay. My husband and I were there for one week in September, celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversary.. Getting out of Chicago and escaping the this Condo on this Island, was one of the best getaways , we have ever experienced. The beautiful Island of Molokai and Condo #115, go hand in hand for the utmost experience. The price was very reasonable for what you get. The Condo, was well stocked, Tropical Furniture and appliances that are well taken care of, very comfortable bed, Lanai views and trade winds are just unforgetable! If you like to golf and swim, it is just steps away. This unit is so immaculate! Best of all, dealing with the owner made the whole stay so memorable. She is so very good at details and goes the extra effort to insure you have tje best stay. We loved our experience with Roses, her beautiful Condo and the beautiful Island of Molokai. My husband and I would highly recommend this unit to everyone! We are making plans to go back next year again in 2008!!

Thank RedRosieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We rented directly from the owner. The unit was adequate - and fairly described on the website. There was nothing special about the unit itself - however it was clean, with a good location and really everything you needed... we didn't go to molokai to hang out in a condo anyway!!!
the locataion is great - close to some of the best beaches i have ever been too!!! either a walk across the golf course or a short drive away and you are in paradise.
the pool at the complex is fabulous too - as is the jacuzzi spa... both are HUGE and never crowded (actually nicer than many "resort" pools!!)
will def plan on staying here again when visiting molokai!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SBH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Another week at #212 which i booked direct from the owner. Had a great time. The condition of the condo was as perfect as my first stay. Close to great beaches and hikes. If my travel plans permit, i will surely be back for more !!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank EDatEdsDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

There was a previous traveler who gave this resort a score of 1...and i think what we have in common is the fact that we were timeshare residents. When my wife and I first checked in, the manager's office had nice hardwood flooring, and the place just looked great in general. Imagine my huge disappointment when we got to the unit we were staying at! The first thing i noticed was that the screen door had a piece that was loose...it just gave an immediate bad impression (for me at least). The first thing that hit us upon entering was the smell. it was a combination of dust, old age and just a general funk that mixed with the smell of various cleaners. we had to spray constantly for ants, and we were also greeted with about 3 geckos during our stay =|. the ceiling fan in the bedroom area didn't work...it didn't even have the chain! our fridge didn't work well either, and i didn't feel comfortable walking barefoot on the carpet either. the screen by the bathroom was broken, and i had to mess with it a few times to get it to it's original rectangular shape. I even went so far as to ask the manager to move me, but there were no available units. This was our first time using our timeshare trade, as we had just bought ours around April. So far i'm very disappointed in how it turned out. maybe i'm being naive, but it doesn't seem right that we fork out this money every month to pay for a timeshare when all we get in return is a beat-up unit that looks like it's stuck in the 70's. hopefully the next we unit we trade into on our next vacation will be better...but i'm never going to stay at this 'resort' again. by the way we were at unit 104, i don't what other units were the time share ones but i believe there are 7 total at ke nani kai. I will also be calling the company we used to trade (Interval) into this unit...it may not do much but who knows?

Stayed: September 2007
5  Thank filiperuvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2007

This 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo is very clean, gorgeously decorated, and has a large lanai that we miss terribly. It's so quiet and peaceful. We will back back for sure! The host, Diane, is wonderful. One note; bring extra t.p. and laundry soap.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AKGRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maunaloa
17.6 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
552 reviews
27.6 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#1 of 3 in Kaunakakai
21 reviews
17.1 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ke Nani Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ke Nani Kai

Address: 50 Kepuhi Place, Kaluakoi Resort, Maunaloa, Molokai, HI 96770
Location: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Maunaloa
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Maunaloa
Price Range: $243 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ke Nani Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ke Nani Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ke Nani Kai Hotel Maunaloa
Ke Nani Kai Molokai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing