We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, fabulous --- with every amenity provided” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Molokai Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Molokai Shores
Moraga, CA
1 review
“Clean, comfortable, fabulous --- with every amenity provided”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

This was my first-time visit with my daughter, who lives/teaches high school on the island. The condo was absolutely spotless with every imaginable amenity thoughtfully provided by the owners: Internet access (if you have to); flat-screen TV and video selection (if you have to); boogie boards; snorkle equipment; beach chairs; condiments you forgot to pickup at the tiny grocery stores on the island; dishes/silverware/cookware you would be pleased to use at home; soap/shampoo/sun tan lotion..... In short, a great place to center your entire visit on, or a great place to use as a base for exploring the island.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r2d1-moraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    19
    21
    17
See reviews for
23
62
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Wa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed in unit A215 which we rented directly from owners Tom & Chaya after finding it on Vacation Rentals by Owner (Listing 103966.) Communication with them was very effortless and the care they provide their guests is exemplary.

We arrived to find the condo absolutely spotless - a real tribute to their cleaning lady, Vicki. The unit has been renovated using only the highest quality of materials, equipment, amenities and workmanship. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could possibly need, including a supply of nonperishable food left by previous guests. To us, this was a welcome feature since food is expensive here, and purchasing condiments and sundries can add considerable cost to a vacation.

The location of Molokai Shores is ideal and provides easy access to all attractions on Molokai. The orientation of the condo unit is perfect for using the lanai in the evening as the sun sets behind building A, and the lanai is not sunny in the afternoon & evening.

One consideration for some is the fact that there is no air conditioning. In fact, there is little air conditioning on Molokai in general. The ceiling fans are helpful, but during our stay it was unseasonably hot and humid, and air conditioning would have been welcome.

I think it is unlikely that you will find a finer condo on Molokai than Tom & Chaya's unit A215. And their hospitality is special. After much e-mail correspondence with Chaya, she feels like family.

My opinion does not necessarily generalize to other units in this complex. Since it is an older building, I suspect that many of the other units are in need of renovation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank karenj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

My late husband's family is from Hawaii and I have been visiting the Islands, in particular Molokai for the past 38 years. I have to say, I have NEVER stayed in a nicer condo than unit 308 at Molokai Shores. I found the website www.molokai-hi.com. It took me directly to unit 308. Not all units at Molokai Shores are created equal but trust me, unit 308 is stunning.There are lots of pictures on the website but they don't do it justice. The owner Margaret is a local artist and it shows! This unit is a townhouse so there is 1 bedroom and upstairs loft. It has a full kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, toaster, rice cooker, blender..you name it, Margaret has it. There is cable TV in both the living room and bedroom and internet access. The unit has ceiling fans in both the bedroom and loft and stayed very cool even in the heat of the day. It also has a large ocean facing lanai - perfect for whale watching or enjoying the beautiful sunsets.I saw other units while visiting Molokai Shores and I couldn't believe they were charging the same price as Margaret! They were very basic, boring and depressing. Walking into unit 308 was like walking into a fantasy of Hawaii.It was very easy to book from the website and checking in was a breeze.Molokai Shores is well situated just outside the main town of Kaunakakai. Molokai is a relaxing, fun place to visit so when you come make sure you book unit 308!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne_Sharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at "Ke Hale Kealoha." Property is centrally located near the charming town of Kaunakakai, Maunaloa on the west, and the rugged east side. The immaculate interior was tastefully upgraded with: marble countertops, stylish cabinets, ceramic tile and contemporary decor. Unit is situated close to parking w/ beautiful ocean views from the open lanai, cool breezes , and all the comforts of home. We couldn't have asked for more and would definitely return next time we are on Moloka'i. The stars at night are truly amazing! Unit is professionally managed by Chaya Friedman, who provided lots of information about the property and had excellent follow up.

Our last trip was spent in the tentalos at the beach (Moloka'i Ranch) and we were very sad to hear it shut down. The Lodge, which was beautiful, is now boarded up w/ overgrown landscaping. Make sure you stop in at "Kualapuu Cookhouse" and the "Pizza Cafe." For a memorable treat, get the hot bread at Kanimitsu Bakery at 9:30 pm. Loved the cinnamon and cream cheese bread!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean84920384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela HI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

This is a hotel/condo property with leased or rented units as well as hotel units.
We stayed one night in unit A205. This is a very basic, 1 BR (twin beds) unit with kitchen and no air conditioning. Singles and families live there full time so it seems like you're staying in a residential apartment. There is a hotel office manager during the day. The Resident Manager and Security staff cannot provide items like sheets or extra towels if you find you need them, as we did, so do try to arrive before 4 p.m.

What we liked best: (1) Location. Our primary purpose was the Mule Ride and this is one of two hotels located in Kaunakai from which to easily make the 8 a.m. check-in at the stables. (2) Experience of checking in and out. (3) The lovely ocean views unique ot Molokai...BTW, the property layout is such that all units have these gorgeous ocean views. We requested ocean front which is the top tier price and got this unit.

What we liked least: (1) The sofabed mattress is lumpy, dips down at the head area and has a terrible odor. (2) No air conditioning for the $$.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaunakakai hotels

West Jefferson, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Not all units at Molokai Shores are equal. Ka Hale Kealoha has to be at the top of the list!!! The owners, Chaya and Tom, have absolutely everything you need for your wonderful Molokai adventure in this condo. Comfortable seating, inside and on the lanai, big screen tv, cds and videos, binoculars, beach towels, fully equiped kitchen, laptop with internet acess, books, maps, top quality sheets, lotions, bath salts, this list goes on and on. Chaya and Tom's hospitality and willingness to share their piece of paradise is a gift to everyone who stays here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2luv2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

I am guessing you take your chances getting a good unit. 229 is not a good one. When we made our reservation we stated that it appeared there was a difference in units and asked if we could be put in a nicer one. They said yes. They did not. I think this unit was used to film The Brady Bunch. Dated,worn,not clean everywhere. The worst part was the bed. Similar to scuba diving,we sat on the edge and fell backwards into it. Need a chiropractor now! No a/c. No housekeeping. You are on your own.
Staff somewhat indifferent. Never asked if we enjoyed stay.
Molokai is fun and interesting. Good food is available and typically wonderful Hawaiian hospitality is plentiful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vsardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
22.6 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
22.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
22.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
10.7 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#2 of 4 in Kaunakakai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Molokai Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Molokai Shores

Property: Castle Molokai Shores
Address: Kamehameha Hwy, Star Route, PO Box 1887, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748 (Formerly Molokai Shores Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kaunakakai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Molokai Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Molokai's largest town, this property offers one- and two-bedroom oceanfront condominiums with full kitchens and a wide array of amenities, including a swimming pool, shuffleboard, and barbecue station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle Molokai Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marc Molokai Shores Hotel Kaunakakai
Castle Molokai Shores Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing