We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid pizza spot, right near the wharf”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Molokai Pizza Cafe

Molokai Pizza Cafe
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Kaunakakai
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
218 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Solid pizza spot, right near the wharf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Right next to Molokai Burger (who says there isn't choice on this tiny island?!), this is a popular place for locals to pick up a pie or three and go just up the road to enjoy it during sunset luaus on the wharf. I was offered a slice by some ukele-playing locals who were practicing songs while I was busy doing photography. Only tried one (regular, tomato/cheese) version but they have several. Compared very well to what I'm used to on the mainland.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank drmikenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    135
    54
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Decent option close to town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I think that the Pizza Café is the same as the Pizza Garden, at least I hope so! If so, we ate dinner here on a recent rip to Molokai. The service was fast and friendly and the pizza was fresh tasting, if basic. No ambience to speak of. More of a take out place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“excellent prime rib”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went to get some pizza but, we decided on the prime-rib dinner which was fantastic. A huge portion cooked exactly the way we asked for. Great price 16 incl veggie, potato etc. Restaurant is not licensed. Would have been nice to have a glass of wine. Nice waitress. Honestly, the only one so far on molokai that seemed to be welcoming. Will go back and try the pizza. Locals say it's good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently made a day trip from Maui to visit Molokai. For lunch we stopped into this little restaurant. The pizza dough is hand made each day and was yummy! The waitress and other staff lived up to the Molokai slogan of the "friendly Island". Mahalo to the pizza cafe!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goonliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
205 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Pizza Inconsistent, Quality Swings between Excellent and Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Unfortunately this visit the pizza was terrible; very dry, thick crust, little flavour, even with the double cheese I ordered. I've eaten there previously where the same pizza was excellent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Captain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molokai Pizza Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Molokai Pizza Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing