We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Review”

Paddlers Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Kaunakakai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Molokai is a uniquely wonderful Hawaiian island and Paddlers Restaurant is a part of that beauty. A favorite local hangout and a favorite of those visiting the island. The food is absolutely great, there is a full bar including specialty drinks, a large selection of beer and various wines. Live entertainment is provided with no cover charge most nights. There service is outstanding and every effort is made to make sure our guests are happy and satisfied.
Cazadero, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch Review”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The only restaurant at present on Molokai for business lunches. With the hotel restaurant reopening, that too will be an option.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molokai_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    130
    82
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun place for supper”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

It is a fun place for a casual supper. The night we ate there there was a live band. The food was fine and the setting, typical Hawaiian, a roof and fencing was relaxing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MEBesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In Kaunakakai, Molokai Order Carefully”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We heard Paddlers Inn served up decent food in a fun atmosphere. The restaurant is a large building looking very island style with high ceiling, palm fronds and large timbers support the ceiling. The night we went there was live music- good jazz and covers. The service was friendly and the place obviously gets support from locals. It's apparent early you are expected to order up hearty with food and drink.
We saw a special that looked good- steak, potato, salad. I drank beer and my wife wine (that's a tough choice form a poor selection). The salad came looking a little tired and very basic. Dressings were also low quality. The staeka was supposedly from local beef but seemed a little fatty.
The evening seemed to be going okay until our food was brought out. Our plates were so full because 3 enormous prawns accompanied the steak. The owner manager delivered them with a smile and even checked back with us later to see how we liked them. Only he knew we were paying big time for the prawns we didn't order.
When our bill came it was much higher than the total we calculated based on the menu. Our objection didn't matter the waitress came back indignant at our attitude. Needless to say, we did not tip. Leftovers of steak, potato and prawn were taken with us but ended up going to the chickens that roamed our condos.
There are other eateries in Kaunakakai. We will visit Molokai again; it's a very different laid back island but we'll never go back to Paddler's Inn. A plate of dishonesty leaves a bad taste.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitchenhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onancock, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“GREAT BURGER!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were on a one-day guided tour of the Island, and lunch at Paddler's was included. We could only choose from three sandwich options, so we couldn't experience the full menu (which looked appetizing). We had the burgers and didn't expect much (as this was part of the tour), but they were really very good. Fries were good too. Got decent service as well. If they treat the one-day tour groups this well, I imagine they are pretty good to their walk-in customers.

Also, the open-air dining area is great fun. Felt like being a local in Moloka'i.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddieswain4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So good we ate here twice”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We were only on the island for 3 days and we ate at paddlers 2 of the nights . My wife loved the half rotisserie chicken. I enjoyed both meals I had. The staff was friendly. Seating is on a covered patio. No views from the restaurant and prices were a little steep though we expected it on Moloka'i

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paddlers Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Paddlers Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing