We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly peaceful and tranquil but don't expect...”
other travelers have booked this property
Molokai Shores #308
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molokai Shores #308
living area into hallway Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Molokai Shores #308
living area into hallway
Bedroom
kitchen
loft bedroom
view from loft into living room
View of grounds from 308
Ocean view with Island of Lanai in distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kaunakakai, Molokai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DelilahDu...
British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly peaceful and tranquil but don't expect the Hilton”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to Molokai and our first using a vacation rental. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here but noted upon our arrival that the place could use a really good clean out and some relatively minor repairs. 'Clean to the corners' it is not. However, if you can overlook some minor issues and just chill out, this is a great spot to be. The view from the lanai alone makes up for a lot. The long term renters and owners at Molokai Shores are a very congenial group of people and made us very welcome. We were very happy to find a variety of spices and things that we could use as needed and replace or leave something different when we left. However, the fridge could use a really good clean out. The bathroom also could use a new plastic shower curtain and some general repairs and paint. It was a treat to be able to look at Margaret's large variety of books about Molokai as well as books about plants, animals, fish and birds that we might see. The island itself is a wonderful place out of time and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Do not go to this island if you want shopping, night life and many organized activities! This is a place of peace and quiet with the most spectacular beaches with very few people on them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the lanai. Being able to use the gas grills in the garden and eat on the lanai watching the whales.
Liked least: Dirty old shower curtain and stained bedspread.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“quiet weekend getaway to Molokai”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at 308 Molokai shores for a couple of days from Oahu. It was our first time in Molokai and what an experience! The condo was wonderful, just as described and shown in the pictures-perhaps even better. A fascinating collection of curiosities to explore and the condo was very comfortable and clean. The Molokai shores resort was lovely with beautiful views and a great sunset. Will definitely be recommending both Molokai and this condo to anyone headed to Hawaii.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Margaret...
Plover, WI
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay on Molokai”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The property was perfectly located for easy travel to restaurants and shopping. It was quiet, comfortable, friendly and lovely. We had a wonderful time at the condo property talking to other owners of the condos at Molokai shores. Everyone was congenial and make us feel very welcome. Can't imagine a better place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and deck on condo
Liked least: Really not a swimming beach on property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigC
hnl
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exactly as Described”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Molokai Shores #308 is a beautiful condo with a great view and every single solitary thing you could need to cook, relax, and enjoy your stay like a local. Margaret gave us some helpful advice and then left us to our exploration.
This condo looks exactly like the pictures and is very homey and comfortable.
The people on Molokai are the friendliest of all the islands. The island is not developed at all and that is how they like it. Do not expect what you see on the other islands. Totally different. It is all peace, quiet, and just Molokai.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joebbb
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great for First Time Visitors to Molokai”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were met by the caretaker as arranged, as this is a condo/hotel development, and the hotel management does not take care of this unit. It was as described. The owner's collection of artwork, shells and ocean-themed tchotchkes is matched only by her very well-equipped kitchen, both in terms of implements and food items (including cooking oil, spices, tea, rice, flour, vinegar, and many other items you would probably not buy for a few days' stay). This made it easier for us to cook simple meals, as there are limited choices for dining out (Molokai has other strong points; dining out may not be one of them). As stated in the house rules: Feel free to use anything and replace as necessary. Wonderful way to handle the food situation.

The loft is really a second bedroom, but the stairs are a little steep, so be careful for kids and seniors. That said, it is a cozy place to rest after a hard day's exploration. There are ceiling fans and a portable fan, so while it did get hot in the afternoons, the fans were effective until the breeze came back. The unit does not have air conditioning, and does not need it.

Cable TVs and internet worked well without any problem. There are books to read if you choose. The view is pretty good - the island of Lanai is clearly visible from the, well, lanai where we had our meals when we were there. Very pleasant. There is a swimming pool and laundry on the premises. I'm guessing the owner spends some time there herself.

Minor quibbles: We noticed a few ants in the kitchen, and mentioned it to the caretaker, who said she would address it. The neighbors were a bit noisy, but when quiet time came at 10:00 PM, they observed the rule and it did get quiet. The roosters who roam around, however, do not feel a need to abide by this rule, and so if you are an early riser, as we are, then it should not be a problem.

Overall, it met our expectations, allowing that this is Molokai. A local told us, if you are in a hurry, you are on the wrong island. We would add to that, if you are expecting the luxury of Kauai's North Shore, you may be disappointed. However, if you would like to explore a rugged place that probably has not changed much for many, many years, and has it's own charms and delights, and very few people, then you might consider a visit here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living in a museum
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joerussin
Glendale, California
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very nice home away from home”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This unit apparently is Margeret's home, and it feels like someone's home--very well equipped with about anything you might want. In fact, there is so much stuff there isn't much room for your stuff! The view is great, the swimming pool inviting, the beach one of the few you can swim in, the location very convenient. The only drawback for us was the fact beds were quite soft. And you should know this is a third floor walk up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the fully stocked kitchen, the swimming pool
Liked least: soft beds. the linens were first rate.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing