We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back Island Cottage Molokai Style”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaunakakai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio
Ranked #2 of 4 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Our stay last year was so relaxing that we are going back next year. don't expect the Hilton or luxury....that's not the island style on Molokai. The place is kind of isolated and not really fancy, but the view is fantastic! We know folks on the island and find our joy in music, the beaches and just looking across the channel at Maui. Cook your own food at home and eat on the deck. Owners are receptive to you if you have problems. A place to go to be quiet, read, walk on the beach or just sit and rejuvinate.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Mrsbee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

My wife and I spent five wonderful days at the Hilltop Cottage on Moloka'i. The view from the cottage was amazing. The cottage offers privacy and peacefulness you wont find anywhere else. The deck area is spacious and there is always a refreshing ocean breeze.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honolua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We found the Hilltop Cottage by chance after searching endless hours on the internet for accomodation on Molokai. The Cottage instantly stood out and we were not disappointed at all. The Cottage offered everything you could want from a self-catering point of view and had a homely, welcoming feel. There was a well equipped kitchen and very spacious bathroom. The one bedroom was roomy with a very comfortable large bed and lots of drawers and hanging space. The lanai was our favourite part of the house overlooking the reef, Maui and Lanai. The constant breeze was a welcome relief from the heat of the sun. After travelling the island we are confident we picked the best spot to stay on Molokai.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Bunney14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The Hilltop Cottage is the perfect getaway if you REALLY need to get away. My profession calls for me to serve our community and country, therefore, there are times when "rest and relaxation" is imperative.....and I have found the place that exceeds my needs. The property is set perfectly above the ocean on the east side of the island, with the islands of Lana'i and Mau'i just across the way....the view from the bedroom and living room of these islands lures you in appreciating its beauty and splendor. Our hosts really do a fantastic job of sharing the "aloha" spirit while ensuring our privacy was well respected. I wish I had more time to stay, I will definitely try to make it a point to, but then again, this paradise lost was perfect in every way. I shared this experience with my "soulmate" and this property, along with the magical setting allowed us to thoroughly enjoy each others company.....what a beautiful time we had!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hookanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We booked Hilltop Cottage on Molokai through their web site, http://www.islandallure.com. The owner was very helpful and informative.
When we arrived at the cottage, we found it airy, roomy and comfortable. There are many windows throughout, bringing in the tropical light and fresh air.
The living room had a TV and video (which we didn't spend any time watching - not with the wonderful view from the lanai!), as well as a great assortment of books. I especially enjoyed the books on Hawaiian culture.
The bedroom was spacious, and the king sized bed was very comfortable. My husband has a bad back, but he slept well every night. The bathroom was large, with a shower and jetted tub (we didn't try the tub). There were plenty of big, thick towels.
The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare our meals. We fixed several dinners, as well as breakfasts. We were careful to keep our open food in the refrigerator, as tropical environments are prone to bugs. We did see several ants, but kept them under control by keeping the counters free of food. We found the kitchen to be clean and well equipped.
By far, our favorite spot was the lanai. We spent hours out on the huge lanai, watching beautiful sunrises, spotting whales through our binoculars, enjoying dinners under the starry skies.
The cottage is clean, comfortable and private. We spent five nights/days relaxing and soaking up the atmosphere. There is a guest book in the cottage, and it is filled with descriptions of the wonderful experiences people enjoyed while there.
We would definitely stay at the Hilltop Cottage again, and recommend it to anyone looking for a place to relax after exploring this beautiful island.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Nicely appointed kitchenette, plenty of storage for clothes and luggage. Quiet at night, except for the ocean surf - perfect - and close to one of the best swimming and snorkeling beaches on Molokai'.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank grandmatraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Molokai is not for everyone, but if you’re the kind of person that's looking for a getaway from the typical tourist trap and crave a peaceful and relaxing experience this could be the right place for you. If you are looking for shopping, fine dining, luxury resorts, traffic lights, nightlife, and convenience you should look elsewhere.

While there are a few hotels and condo developments on the island, that was not the kind of experience we were looking for. We wanted a quiet and secluded place all to our own that offered amazing ocean views and a large deck that we could use for whale watching, stargazing, and just lying in the sun and listening to the sound of the ocean. Molokai Hilltop Cottage offered us all this and more at a very reasonable price.

The Cottage is located on the eastern end of the island about twenty minutes from the main town of Kaunakakai. Perched high on a hilltop, you access the cottage via a long and winding driveway that passes by two other homes. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the neighbors who were taking care of the place for the owner. They offered us helpful advice on the local scene and brought us tropical flowers from their garden. Shortly after we settled in the owner phoned us to check if everything was satisfactory.

You access the Cottage via the large deck so the first thing that hits you is the stunning view and refreshing ocean breeze. You enter the Cottage via sliding glass doors that are part of the many windows that front the deck area. The place has an open and airy feel with lots of windows for cross breezes and maximum viewing. The living room is a large open space that includes a kitchen area with a small breakfast nook. The living room furniture was clean and comfortable and amenities such as satellite TV, a CD/radio player, DVD player, and a collection of books on Hawaii were all available to us. It was nice to have these available, but not necessary as the view from the deck was all we really needed.

The bedroom is directly off the living room through a set of French doors. Though we could still see the view through the glass, we opted to keep these open so that we could better see the twinkling lights of Maui at night. The king size bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of room for all our stuff (2 dressers, clothes rack). The bathroom was quite spacious with plenty of windows for ventilation, pedestal sink, towel racks, and separate shower and tub. Thus, the cottage fit all our needs and afforded us an excellent retreat after spending the day boating, kayaking, snorkeling, beach combing, hiking, etc.

Now, I should say that if you are the kind of person that’s looking for luxurious furnishings, the latest appliances, fancy curtains, etc. the cottage is not for you. It’s not a modern luxury condo; it’s a comfortable cottage home with spectacular views in a quiet and secluded location. Also, there are a few small things in the Cottage ( bedroom window, some screens, light switch) that need to be adjusted/repaired, but these did not cause us any concern during our stay. Like other tropical islands, Molokai has insects that are always present and difficult to completely control. We did notice ants and other insects during our stay, but keeping all food in the fridge and quick clean up kept them under control.

We had a great week at Hilltop Cottage and will definitely stay again the next time we visit Molokai.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
9.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
494 reviews
19.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
12.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
544 reviews
4.2 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#1 of 3 in Kaunakakai
20 reviews
14.3 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio

Address: 9415 kanehameha, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748
Location: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing