We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West End Studio is comfortable and relaxing for one to two people.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaunakakai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio
Ranked #2 of 4 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Homer, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“West End Studio is comfortable and relaxing for one to two people.”
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Nicely appointed kitchenette, plenty of storage for clothes and luggage. Quiet at night, except for the ocean surf - perfect - and close to one of the best swimming and snorkeling beaches on Molokai'.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmatraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Molokai is not for everyone, but if you’re the kind of person that's looking for a getaway from the typical tourist trap and crave a peaceful and relaxing experience this could be the right place for you. If you are looking for shopping, fine dining, luxury resorts, traffic lights, nightlife, and convenience you should look elsewhere.

While there are a few hotels and condo developments on the island, that was not the kind of experience we were looking for. We wanted a quiet and secluded place all to our own that offered amazing ocean views and a large deck that we could use for whale watching, stargazing, and just lying in the sun and listening to the sound of the ocean. Molokai Hilltop Cottage offered us all this and more at a very reasonable price.

The Cottage is located on the eastern end of the island about twenty minutes from the main town of Kaunakakai. Perched high on a hilltop, you access the cottage via a long and winding driveway that passes by two other homes. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the neighbors who were taking care of the place for the owner. They offered us helpful advice on the local scene and brought us tropical flowers from their garden. Shortly after we settled in the owner phoned us to check if everything was satisfactory.

You access the Cottage via the large deck so the first thing that hits you is the stunning view and refreshing ocean breeze. You enter the Cottage via sliding glass doors that are part of the many windows that front the deck area. The place has an open and airy feel with lots of windows for cross breezes and maximum viewing. The living room is a large open space that includes a kitchen area with a small breakfast nook. The living room furniture was clean and comfortable and amenities such as satellite TV, a CD/radio player, DVD player, and a collection of books on Hawaii were all available to us. It was nice to have these available, but not necessary as the view from the deck was all we really needed.

The bedroom is directly off the living room through a set of French doors. Though we could still see the view through the glass, we opted to keep these open so that we could better see the twinkling lights of Maui at night. The king size bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of room for all our stuff (2 dressers, clothes rack). The bathroom was quite spacious with plenty of windows for ventilation, pedestal sink, towel racks, and separate shower and tub. Thus, the cottage fit all our needs and afforded us an excellent retreat after spending the day boating, kayaking, snorkeling, beach combing, hiking, etc.

Now, I should say that if you are the kind of person that’s looking for luxurious furnishings, the latest appliances, fancy curtains, etc. the cottage is not for you. It’s not a modern luxury condo; it’s a comfortable cottage home with spectacular views in a quiet and secluded location. Also, there are a few small things in the Cottage ( bedroom window, some screens, light switch) that need to be adjusted/repaired, but these did not cause us any concern during our stay. Like other tropical islands, Molokai has insects that are always present and difficult to completely control. We did notice ants and other insects during our stay, but keeping all food in the fridge and quick clean up kept them under control.

We had a great week at Hilltop Cottage and will definitely stay again the next time we visit Molokai.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I write this review after spending a week at the Hilltop Cottage in Molokai.

Feel: What we valued most was that at the end of a day taking in the island, we were able to relax and let down at the cottage. We immediately felt at home. The view is unmatched. It's spectacular. There is a wrap around porch providing panoramic views of the south shore. Each morning you wake up to the sun rising in the east.

Cleanliness: Overall, the cleanliness was excellent. The kitchen and bathroom were clean and well stocked. There were a few ants in the bathroom, but this was to be expected with the location.

Location: For us, the location was perfect. It's situated about 25 minutes east of the main town, Kaunakakai. This allowed us to have easy access to both ends of the island depending on what we were feeling like that day. It also provided the seclusion we were looking for with very few houses around.

Value: The cottage is reasonably priced and we felt we got good value for our money.

Sleeping: The bed is big and comfortable. There is plenty of bedding for two. The only concern I will raise is about the master bedroom. On the week we were there, there were a few cool, windy nights and it was unsettling to sleep in. The window above the bed wouldn't close completely, and there was a draft on our heads. With this said, the owner said that she is fixing that and I suspect it is already repaired.

Overall, I would recommend this to anyone. It was a big part of why we enjoyed ourselves so much through the week. we would return in a heartbeat. For anyone looking for a quiet, secluded break, molokai and the hilltop cottage should a part.

Thanks Kehau for an amazing week.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snides16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby B.C.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

I'm writing this review of a recent (Feb. 17-20) stay at Molokai Hilltop Cottage (on the east end of the “friendly isle”) to warn other travelers that what you see on the website is definitely not what you get. (At least it wasn’t in our case.). The property looked delightful in the photo gallery, and a recommendation on the blog: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/ prompted me to make a reservation. Let me stress at the outset, that there are a number of positive things to say about this place. First of all, the view is absolutely stunning. Further, the queen-size bed was very comfortable. There were plenty of sheets and towels, and they were fresh and clean. Some of the furnishings were definitely attractive, and these included a few unusual art pieces. Finally, the kitchen was well-equipped in most respects.

However, some of the furniture that appears in the selective and adeptly composed photos on the site (www.islandallure.com) are no longer in the house (notably a sofa and what appears to be a fold-down futon). What has taken the place of these latter pieces is a larger sofa with badly stained cushions and a davenport that makes down into a very hard, uneven surface which is impossible to sleep on. This wouldn’t have been an issue if we hadn’t been led to believe that three adults could stay here comfortably. THEY CAN’T! On top of that, there are hygiene and maintenance issues throughout. When we folded the thing down, we discovered a used tissue in the central crevice filled with sand. Looking for an alternative, we found a foam mattress stored in the bedroom and placed it on the floor in the living room (taking turns because we’d shared the expense evenly). Another problem, though, was that the only extra bedding was a single cotton blanket. So we were forced to use beach towels to try and keep warm. Too few window coverings prevented darkening either space. In addition, many items were in poor repair such as louvered windows without handles, others that didn’t close properly, torn curtains and ripped and/or punctured screens. Insects also got in through the front door because the screen doors didn’t meet. Two light bulbs were burnt out, a switch plate was cracked in half, and the four-burner stove (one of the listed “amenities”) had only three functioning burners. Molokai Hilltop Cottage reminded me of a property that had been “staged”. Ambience was definitely given priority over basics and upkeep.

What bothered us most, though, was the lack of cleanliness. A bit of tidying up may have been done for our arrival, but deep cleaning had obviously been neglected for some time. Every dish or glass we took down had to be rewashed; counter tops were grungy and covered with crumbs; the garbage container and the corner where it sat were both filthy; window sills and the toilet lid were soiled. It’s not surprising, then, that pests proved to be a problem. An army of ants could be seen traveling along the ceiling and arrived in droves whenever food was prepared. We also discovered a cockroach in the underside of a dish drainer that looked like it had never been washed. (And you know those critters aren’t solitary. Every one you see attests to dozens you don’t.)

A further (albeit minor) irritation was the absence of paper towels or napkins. Who wants to sit down to a candlelit dinner and set the table with toilet paper? You get the picture, and for us—it was a decidedly unpleasant one: the nadir of our trip. This little house has plenty of unrealized potential. Money needs to be spent and work done to fulfill it. I hope the owners rise to the occasion, but I won’t be going back to find out.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DocHoliday62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
9.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
19.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
13.8 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
312 reviews
14.3 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores
Castle Molokai Shores
#4 of 4 in Kaunakakai
119 reviews
4.2 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#2 of 4 in Kaunakakai
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio

Property: Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio
Address: 9415 kanehameha, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748
Location: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing