We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island of beauty kindness and appreciation.. unknown by most of the world!!"”
Review of Hotel Molokai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Molokai
Ranked #1 of 4 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were in Molokai for eight glorious days...the friendly people snd most gorgious beaches...met by Kenna at Hotel Mololai with such a warm welcoming smile and amazing service. From the first day the front desk team was helpful with coolers, snorkel stuff..mail..you name it... we met Buddy who will make sure you got to your room when you enjoyed yourself alittle too much and David both from Security...Dave our welcoming bartender with the contagious laugh and our travel entrepreneur... what to see where to eat and where to find a car (thank you Amanda) ...Jamie our tough lil' barmaid..Ricco and William chef and server...the housekeeping team that couldn't do more for us...but mostly Michael Drew! His management is professional, proficient but kind caring and has definitely made our stay better than we could have ever dreamed!! We came as tourists and left as friends !!!! Molokai is one big family...we met muscian Eddie Tennaca.. Lono...John an amazing precessionist...it seemed we ran into someone we met who remembered us no matter where we went...sing playing music so if you want to enjoy the simple true Hawaii.. no bells and whistles just real life with someone you love come to Hotel Molokai!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debcentofanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Aloha Deborah and Connie,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you truly enjoyed your stay. Our goal is simple...we want you to relax, recharge and reconnect and we are glad that it was accomplished.
We look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

Until we meeet again; be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 547 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is the only hotel on Molokai. The location, just outside of the main town, is great. We had an ocean front room that had a great view. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable. The one negative was that the carpet was dirty and worn in several areas. As others have said, there is no air conditioning, but the breeze is great with the slider and a few windows opened.
The bar is good, with a nice selection of options.
This is a good place for a quiet, restful vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2KauaiGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Compared to other hotels we stayed at while on this trip to Hawaii, this hotel was overpriced, and the accommodations were....well.....subpar. However, as far as I know this is the only hotel on Molokai, and when there is only one hotel on the whole island, I guess they can pretty much charge whatever they want and offer as much, or little, in amenities as they would like.

The price, including tax, for one night (2 people) was about $170. For that we got a bed, shower, t.v., dresser, small lanai (ground floor), sink, and a few amenities. The continental breakfast was awful. We would have gone somewhere else for breakfast, but to be honest, restaurant options on Molokai are bleak.

On the plus side, parking was free, and internet was included for a $2.50 "resort" fee (this is NOT a resort). There was a small pool on the premises, as well as a bar. There used to be a restaurant, but it burned down. The hotel is on the ocean, but there really is no beach to speak of. I would not stay here again.....at least not by choice. But as I mentioned previously.....I believe this is the only hotel on Molokai, so the only other option would be to find a condo or something to rent from a private individual, which may be difficult as many of the people on Molokai do not want people visiting their island (ironic.....Molokai is nicknamed the "friendly isle."

Room Tip: My best advice would be to find a condo to rent, or simply make Molokai a day trip so you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surfercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for tyaking the time to post a review. Feedback such as yours can only help us improve at Hotel Molokai. We hope one day we can welcome back to Hotel Molokai.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

But then, it is the only hotel in town--or the entire island for that matter.
The people who work here are truly fantastic, so helpful and friendly. The room had a few drawbacks, though the bed was super comfortable. I left the placard saying I didn't want my sheets changed, so they didn't make the bed. And the bathroom needs painting badly. A/C wouldn't have hurt, but I understand why they only provided fans, which were cool enough to enable sleep at night.
The $2.50 "resort fee" seemed too good to be true, especially since it included wi-fi, phone calls to the mainland and breakfast. But breakfast left a lot to be desired: dry pastry and a slice of fruit--the same thing every day. (Buy your own pastry, fruit, and juice.) But eating it on your own lanai every morning was a real treat.
As for the island of Molokai: GO! It is fantastically relaxing and everybody is simply wonderfully welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter (away from the rooster crowing) and toward the back (away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keelx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We will utlilize your comment by continuing to focus on making every guest expereincethe best it can be.
We hope to be of service to you in the very near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Molokai was absolutely wonderful. Their staff was so sweet and informative of the island and had pamphlets on things to do. Kenna was the first person we met when we arrived and she really set the tone for Hotel Molokai. She told us all about the island and gave us information about restaurants, groceries and gave us a map with directions to the beaches. The grounds keeper was always polite and greeted us when he saw us. The cleaning crew was very sweet, professional and did a wonderful job in a quick timely matter. We were never disturbed by any other customers staying there or the staff. Hotel Molokai really made us feel appreciated and like we were a part of their family. It was the best experience we have ever had with a Hotel. We highly recommend Hotel Molokai as a place to go if you are staying in Molokai.

Room Tip: There are limited rooms that are ocean front. Call ahead of time to check availability. Customer Ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha Jeremy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. We are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit.

Be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife & I spent 4 weeks on this fantastic island. There were things to do if you searched them out. There was cool down time and a place to be alone. The people at the hotel were beautiful and genuine. The manager Michael and his crew with Sumu, Kenna, Pua, Andre, William JR, Lana, and others always had a smile to give with their efficient service. This place is definitely not a high end type of resort but a place to mellow and chill out. Truly a beautiful month of my life. My wife enjoyed watching the whales that show up for there winter stay. We took the hike to kalaupapa, took in a lot of music and ate at several small eateries. This is not like Honolulu or Maui. It's much more original. No four lane highways here. I needed the more old time feel and I got it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rentsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha John And Judith,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you truly enjoyed your month long visit with us. I have shared your review with the entire staff and we all look forward to welcome you back in the very near future. Until then please be well.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I spent several days here with a friend. The buildings appear to be '70s era, but are well-maintained, well-appointed, and the grounds are just beautiful. Hammocks abounds, the pool looks out at Maui, and there is local entertainment on Friday afternoons. Our room had a kitchenette, so with a little shopping in town at the Friendly Market, we were pretty much set. The continental breakfast is pretty much run-of-the-mill, but you do get fresh local fruit, including organic apple bananas.

Everyone on the staff was friendly and very helpful. I would stay here again in a split-second!

Only one small thing I missed -- no guest laundry facilities. That area burnt along with the restaurant kitchen last year. By year-end 2013, there will be a new restaurant and, I assume, laundry.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in a room with kitchenette and garden view. There are also ocean view rooms, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pexster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
22.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
22 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
21.8 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores Resort
10.2 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#1 of 3 in Kaunakakai
21 reviews
24.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molokai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molokai

Address: 1300 Kamehameha V Hwy, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748-4021
Location: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Price Range: $174 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Molokai 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an authentic Hawaiian experience at our resort located on Kamiloloa Beach adjacent to Hawaii's only barrier reef. Our Ocean Front resort offers the ideal setting for your authentic Hawaiian experience. Take in a sunset at our Oceanside restaurant opened for dining experiences during lunch and dinner. Learn about the island while touring a schedule tour with our Activities Desk. Pick-up last minute souvenirs at our gift shop open daily 9 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Molokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Molokai Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing