We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleepless nights”
Review of Hotel Molokai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Molokai
Ranked #1 of 4 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel was fine, service was good, but rooster next door kept us awake every night, from 3 a.m. And you could hear all the outside noise through the open air screened area close to the ceiling. Not much to do in Molokai, don't think we'll return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twin2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out to post a review. Please know that your feeback is very important to us. We hope to be of service to you in the near future.

Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 552 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

We recently spent 6 nights at Hotel Molokai and really enjoyed our stay. We had unit 220 which is one of only four waterfront rooms and is a second floor unit without air conditioning. The setting is absolutely gorgeous. We could have spent the week just sitting on the large balcony looking out over the water (which is only a few feet away) with a lovely view of the island of Lanai off in the distance, but there were too many other things to go see.

The room was nice, very clean and smelled fresh, and had a small refrigerator and microwave. It was not really large (king bed, desk with chair and some storage) and the bathroom is pretty basic (no vanity area). Don't expect the Ritz, but it was nicer than I expected to find on Molokai. I would strongly suggest spending the extra money for the waterfront room. We were perfectly comfortable without air conditioning since there was a fan and windows are set up to let the wind flow through.

The staff was very good. The restaurant is still closed due to the fire last year, and it seems there is no firm date to reopen. They do now offer a grill service in the late afternoon/evening for burgers, sandwiches, fish, etc, so at least you can get an evening meal. The food was good. The continental breakfast that the hotel puts out (since the restaurant is closed) was a disappointment. It was mainly coffee, packaged muffins, and a little fruit (local apple bananas and papaya which were in season).

I had read other reviews about noise. This was not a big problem for us. You will find earplugs in your room. We always travel with them anyway. We did hear some roosters crowing in the distance and some traffic from the road. The rooms up toward the road probably get more noise. Our biggest source of noise was from the bar area in the evening as the locals congregate, but they shut down by 10 or so.

I took ukelele lessons that the hotel set up, and Joshua, the instructor, was great. It was great fun. The highlight of the week was Friday night, when the local Hawaiian elders gather and play music and hula in the bar area by the pool. You won't find anything quite like this anywhere else. A wonderful experience.

We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StevefromKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback and for posting a review. Our greatest asset is the service we rendered and we are delighted that you experienced it. We look forward to welcome you back in the very near future. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the Aqua Hotel Molokai for 1 night in February 2013. It is one of only a few hotels available on Molokai. We stayed in a deluxe unit with a kitchenette. We loved the room...it was upstairs with a balcony, 1 king bed and 2 twins. It also had a small refrigerator, cook top, and a microwave. There is no air conditioning, but we never needed it....you get a lot of air flow from the windows and there is a ceiling fan which keeps the room very comfortable. As others have said it is located right by the main highway so you do get traffic noise, and of course there are the roosters. They do however provide earplugs in the room which were nice. There are hammocks located throughout the property, and the pool was in good condition and was never crowded. The staff was all friendly and very helpful. They do charge a $2.50 per day "resort fee" which we found to be very reasonable compared to the typical $20+/day resort fees that you find in Vegas. The resort fee provided access to WiFi, local and long distance phone calls, and a continental breakfast. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and will stay here again when on Molokai.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BankerBoy414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for posting a review. Although your visit was short, we are happy that you enjoyed your visit to Molokai and Hotel Molokai. We look forward to your next visit.

Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

There is not a lot to choose from on Molokai, but Hotel Molokai is good for those used to better places and unable to do better than this on this smaller, less touristy island. Our room was ocean view on ground level and we especially enjoyed breakfast carried from lobby to our own outdoor terrace. The bed was comfortable and room adequate in size. It is too bad that the restaurant is not fully operational. We did eat there the first night, more of a grill than restaurant. The menu is limited and they are not open Tues and Wed, so we had to go to just about only other place to eat--Pizza Cafe. Food is definitely not the reason to go to Molokai. The continental breakfast is muffins (packaged) and fruit (packaged) and coffee...nothing to get excited about and boring after the second day.

Room Tip: I would pay extra for beach front for noise and ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oliviaGalveston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to welcome you on your next visit to this beautiful island of Molokai.

Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a funky place in Molokai, but just about the only place to stay and everything in Molokai is kind of funky! We had one of only 4 rooms with an ocean view, and it was wonderful. At the time of our stay, the restaurant was being remodeled due to a fire, but the hotel provided a light breakfast and would arrange for a box lunch if you wanted one. The hotel staff was very helpful. In fact, we were having a problem with a local tour provider and the manager very graciously intervened for us. When we checked into our room, there were ear plugs on the pillows...a little ominous. It turns out when the restaurant is open, the patio bar becomes an open air nightclub. We were sorry to miss the local music experience, but grateful for the quiet evenings.

Room Tip: There are only 4 ocean front rooms; make sure to book one of the upstairs rooms for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1occasional_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed you visit. We hope to see you inthe future.

Be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

During my recent stay there was no hot water, but to the hotel's credit they did change my room rather quickly. But if you came to Molokai fo peace and relaxation, especially at night-think again. My room was not only close to the bar, but to the main road on Molokai. So I was kept awake until 11:00 PM with the bar noise. At about 2:00 AM I was awoken to the noise of vehicles going down the main road every 5-10 minutes. So in all intensive purposes I had about 3 hours of sleep that night. The room as previously noted by other guests has paper thin walls so you hear everything outside. So if you like paying alot of money for a noisy, bust up room, go ahead and stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dacruster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We will utlize your review by continuing to focus on making all of our guest experience the best it can be.
We hope to be of service to you in the near future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Let me start by saying that if you are high maintenance and are used to staying in Ritz Carlton's or Four Seasons- Molokai is not the place for you. But if you like rustic, charming, friendly, and comfortable, then Hotel Molokai is perfect. Plus its the only hotel on Molokai.

My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay of 5 nights. The staff was great and the accommodations comfortable. We had a king bed in an oceanfront room, so we had a great breeze (no A/C in the room- we never felt we needed it), a ceiling fan, and the sound of the waves all night. The hotel provides ear plugs due to local roosters, but they never woke us up. The bathroom is small, but clean, and they provide Bath & Body Works products that smelled great. Coffee (no decaf) and ice water are available in the lobby all day, and every morning in the lobby there is fruit & packaged muffins/cakes provided to guests. Free wi-fi is available, and there is a computer in the lobby with a printer if you need it. The property is not new or modern, but nothing on Molokai is, and that's the way it should be.

They have a small pool and a bar that serves a small grill menu right now (burger, veggie burger, chicken sandwich, etc), as the restaurant is being rebuilt. We left on a Thursday, so we missed the live entertainment on Saturday, but we heard it was great.

Michael (manager) had a meet & greet (free) cocktail hour on Monday and he was a very gracious host. We had a great time and learned what it was like to really relax.

Room Tip: There are only 4 oceanfront rooms so book early if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Aloha Lynn,

Thank you so much for posting a review. We are truly happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our only goal is to make sure all of our guests have the same experience like you. We hope to see you in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
22.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,285 reviews
22 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
465 reviews
10.2 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#1 of 3 in Kaunakakai
21 reviews
22.1 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molokai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molokai

Address: 1300 Kamehameha V Hwy, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748-4021
Location: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Price Range: $205 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Molokai 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an authentic Hawaiian experience at our resort located on Kamiloloa Beach adjacent to Hawaii's only barrier reef. Our Ocean Front resort offers the ideal setting for your authentic Hawaiian experience. Take in a sunset at our Oceanside restaurant opened for dining experiences during lunch and dinner. Learn about the island while touring a schedule tour with our Activities Desk. Pick-up last minute souvenirs at our gift shop open daily 9 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Molokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Molokai Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing